Customer Reviews for

A Death in Vienna (Gabriel Allon Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2004

    A STELLAR VOICE PERFORMANCE

    Although a scion of Hollywood's famed Goldwyn family, Tony Goldwyn has very much made it on his own as producer, director, and actor. As producer he brought us 'A Walk On The Moon' (1999); as director he gave us 'Someone Like You' (2001). His acting credits are extensive with TV appearances running the gamut from 'Frasier' to 'L.A. Law.' He voiced the title character for Disney's 'Tarzan.' All who heard know he is a voice performer par excellence, and this is evidenced once again in his reading of Silva's latest. International suspense is Daniel Silva's milieu, and strongly imagined characters only one of his strengths. He has been compared to the masterful John le Carre, and rightly so. 'A Death In Vienna' is related to two of his earlier works, 'The English Assassin' and 'The Confessor.' For pure pleasure and a greater appreciation read or listen to all three. This time out an art restorer who doubles as a spy, Gabriel Allon, is summoned to Vienna where an old friend has died in a bombing. His task is to ferret out the truth behind this death. As clues lead to a man now living in Vienna, the search takes on new meaning for Allon as he reads his mother's account of her days in a concentration camp: 'I will not tell all the things I saw. I cannot. I owe this much to the dead.' - Testimony of Irene Allon, March 19, 1957. Not only may this man be responsible for his friend's death, but may also have tried to kill Allon's mother. Shadows of the Holocaust fall on this elegantly wrought tale of suspense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Multilayered

    Historical and entertaining thriller that opens up your mind to question your knowledge and understanding of thew world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Very well written

    The beuty of Silva's stories is that they don't have a warm, fuzzy ending. The conclusions reflect real life and are more of a compromise. They are eye opening. I did not realize the extent of the atrocities committed during the holocaust and the blind eye the rest of the world turned to the Jews even after he war. Well worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    This book to me was one of the most confusing books that I have

    This book to me was one of the most confusing books that I have ever read, somehow even more confusing to me then Don Quixote. The long descriptive vocabulary and also the constant location change could make anyone lose interest in the book as they read further into it. Another thing that can make one lose interest is the constant introduction of characters, which can make the reader wonder who is who. But I will admit that it is a good book. All I have to say is that it takes a lot of focus in order to understand this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    enjoyed most of it.....

    Alittle hard to get going......but enjoyed it as it progressed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    The Gabriel Allon series is excellently written. Despite disclaimer that events are fictional, unfortunately they are close to the truth, and reflect in many aspects exactly what the "Islamic" world thinks and believes about the west.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Interesting story with great historical details

    I really enjoy Silva's novels. I like the historical details he weaves into the plot. His books are good leisure / summer reading. Check them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Intoxicating read

    Great writing style, love the twists and turns that keep you interested in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Very exiciting hard to put down

    Like all his books & Lee Child's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Terrific read, maybe my favorite Silva

    Have told several people they need to read this book! An absolutely gut-wrenching, visceral story. Stays with you for a long time. Silva is maybe my favorite thriller writer and this is possibly his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Gabriel Allon Unraveling

    Mystery and intrigue find this man - and when they do he follows his head and his heart until the solution is resolved. His band of faithful characters are tried and true to him and their country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    "A Death In Vienna"

    Very Decriptive about everything that happened to Irene, and her parents. It had to be so hard to survive in those conditions. I wished mengele would have been caught, and tortured like the prisoners or been stuffed in the crematorium.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Well worth purchasing and reading.

    Love the action and read Silva's books for the fast moving and not boring situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I love Daniel Silva's novels about Gabriel Allon - waiting to start the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!!!!!

    One of the best spy novels written. This book cannot be put down until you finish. Amazing!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    Great Book

    This book is amazing and has everything you could possibly want and more. Very action packed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Exceptional

    Not since Robert Ludlum have I found a writer that has kept my interest as Daniel Silva has...I could not put this one down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    BETTER THAN A FIVE STAR**********************

    I have always loved the books by Daniel Silva but he outdid himself with A DEATH IN VIENNA. I love the characters and they did not let me down. It is so hard to find a good 'spy thriller' and this author never lets you down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2003

    Great action thriller

    When he is not restoring art, Israeli Gabriel Allon works as an espionage agent for his country. He is sent to Vienna to investigate the bombing of the Wartime Claims and Inquiries Bureau run by Eli Lavon. Gabriel learns that Eli was trying to prove that wealthy businessman Ludwig Vogel was an SS officer at Auschwitz. Vogel is spending millions to get the Austrian National Party candidate elected as chancellor.............................. When Gabriel is kicked out of Austria, he travels to Israel and with the information he accumulated. People working on the Holocaust believe that Vogel is actually Erich Radek, a monster responsible for the killings of thousands of Jews. Gabriel recognizes a picture of Radek because he is in one of his mother¿s paintings. He did something terrible to her as they were evacuating Auschwitz in 1945 and for Gabriel this case has become very personal. An organization that has international tentacles wants Gabriel to stop investigating and they hire the infamous hitman the Clockmaker to kill him before he exposes secrets that the group wants to stay buried........................... A DEATH TO VIENNA is an exciting espionage thriller that will appeal to fans of John de Carre, Tom Clancy and Clive Cussler. The action is non-stop but the author does not neglect his characters that have a depth rarely seen in a work of this type. Drawing on facts, Daniel Silva portrays a world that would rather forget about the Holocaust or just as bad, believe it never happened. Readers will adore the troubled and vulnerable protagonist who fights in an invisible war against his country¿s enemies......................................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6