Customer Reviews for

A Death in the Family

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

He knows what he is talking about

I lost my father when I was 7. Reading this book, I felt the author could not have written it without losing a parent as a child. I did a little research and found out this is the story of James Rufus Agee losing his father at the age of 6. For anyone wanting a perse...
I lost my father when I was 7. Reading this book, I felt the author could not have written it without losing a parent as a child. I did a little research and found out this is the story of James Rufus Agee losing his father at the age of 6. For anyone wanting a persective of death in the age before pop psychology and counselors on every corner,this story is right on the money.

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Death In The Family

' A Death In The Family' is a profoundly moving book, that will captivate the heart of anyone who has ever lost someone dear.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Death in the Family

    Unfortunately, the old mean librarian wouldn't let me renew this book, so I didn't finish the last 100 pages. But I did enjoy what I read.

    A Death in the Family, first of all, is very well written. The prose is very beautiful and complex. The story is somewhat slow-moving, and the plot was more of a character study than anything else. It did take me a few chapters though, to get all the characters straight, especially Ralph and Rufus, whom I would often confuse. I didn't really have a particular problem with this book, but I wasn't compelled by it. Given the option of reading this and watching TV, I chose TV most of the time. This book was not bad, and I did enjoy what I read, but I was never excited or caught up in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    great book!

    I would have to say that I enjoyed this book! It was sad, but it will also make you think and appreciate your family more. I think James Agee is a great author and his writing style is very easy to follow and understand. I want to read more books by him later on and i would read this book again in a couple of years because I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2005

    A good tear jerker

    This was a good book,but in the beginning it is kind of hard to get interested in it. I liked the book because it showed me that I take my family members for granted. You should read this book if you if you do not feel that your family is important to you or if you have lost someone close to you. You will be glad that you took the time to read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    Not a bad book to read

    I enjoyed reading the book A Death in the Family. If you like a good book then this is the one for you. It seems like a lot to read at first,but it really goes by pretty quick. I would definitely read another book by James Agee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    Very emotional

    I would give this book four stars because it was a very interesting book but there were just a few dragged out spots. I still recommend every one to read this book because it was eye catching and it was very emotional. I would most definitly read this book again. It was a small paged book but it was extremely interesting. If you read this book you will probably read another book like this or by the same author, because I know I will. I also liked the writing style of this story. It was easy to follow along with. So to everyone who reads this, I recommend you read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Book turned out to be O.K.

    This book turned out to be an O.K. book. At first, while reading I thougth I would have a couple of difficulties. When the author jumped from character to character, he kind of lost me because I had no clue of which character was speaking. As the story begins, the author talks a boy named Rufus and and his parents. The author did not tell the names of the parents until you read on in the book. While spending more time reading and less playing I started to comprehend more. But don't get me wrong, the book was... O.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    How TO Survive A Death In The Family

    I believe that this book 'A Death In The Family' would be very interesting to anyone who would like to see how life was in Knoxville, TN in 1915. You may be surprised to know how different races were treated in 1915. Times were different than today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    A Beautiful Account of Family in Mourning

    This novel is not action-packed, nor does it have sophisticated plot. Instead of those superficial attention-grabbers,Agree gives us a deep and tender account of the Follet family. I thought this book was descripitive and modesty enjoyable, but not its plot did not seem to go far. A good read it you having nothing else to do, but not for those in search of a timeless classics or an adventurous suspenseful thriller. A Death in the Family allows us to more fully understand something of the human condition. Agee's novel is the stuff our lives are made of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1