Customer Reviews for

Death of a Cozy Writer (St. Just Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is one of the most amusing novels you'll read this decade. It may be the funniest mystery novel of all time. It's a can't-miss for Agatha Christie fans who like a tightly plotted whodunnit laced with laugh-out-loud humor.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good characters, but several drawbacks!

    The characters were strong and highly believable. The plot was just all right though. As there weren't quite enough clues to ponder over you had to solve the mystery by the characters of the people themselves.

    Another large drawback was the language. Numerous times it took God's name in vain. "piss", "ass" and the f word were used numerous times.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    Superb debut

    If you like your mysteries complex, funny, engaging, well-written, and impossible to put down, you will LOVE this bestselling book.<BR/><BR/>It's received rave reviews in the blogs and mainstream review outlets, with comparisons to Agatha Christie. I can see where the reviewers are coming from (the plot twists and turns with the best of Christie), but this book has a thoroughly modern feel to it.<BR/><BR/>Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    The first St. Just

    Followed by Death and the Lit Chick in 2009, and Death at the Alma Mater in 2010.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Death of a Cozy Writer won numerous mystery book awards when it

    Death of a Cozy Writer won numerous mystery book awards when it came out in 2008.  I could tell way before I had gotten very far into the story that the awards were most justified!!




    The English countryside and home of mystery writer and millionaire, Sir Adrian Beauclerk-Fisk is the center for this character driven , police procedural murder mystery.  Everyone seems to have motive and no one seems particularly honest with their answers.  But worst of all, murder seems more of an inconvenience for the family and staff, non of whom are particularly saddened by the deaths of family members.




    The mystery had the necessary turns and twists, with building clues.  The descriptions and metaphors were terrific and sometimes quit funny too!!  This is the first book in Malliet's DCI St. Just series.  I decided to read it because I fell in love with her newest Father Max Tutor series.  Now I can't decide which one I enjoyed more.  G M Malliet if definitely a modern day Agatha Christie,---or perhaps I'd say that Christie's books ALMOST live up to Ms Malliet's writing----yes, Malliet is that great!! It you like classic mysteries with a modern day twist, this book is definitely for you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    The best

    Malliet's first is my favorite in the series, though all are good. In this book, many cliches happen in the plot and in the writing... but they are tongue and cheek. Malliet is having a little fun with the genre, and I laughed out loud many times. However, it's a genuine mystery.
    If you have ever seen the Disney movie, "Enchanted", you will have experienced a movie that both made light fun at its own genre (Disney romance), yet was true to the style. Malliet does the same for mysteries here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    This book won the 2008 Agatha Christie Award for Best First Nove

    This book won the 2008 Agatha Christie Award for Best First Novel and a silver medal for the IPPY awards in the category of Mystery/Suspense/Thriller.

    I was really excited to read it. The setting was perfect for me.... an English mansion, a wealthy mystery writer, a family gathering and of course a murder or two.

    I did like the book but I wish the author had developed the character of St. Just a little bit more. I also think that St. Just should have been more prominent in the storyline. The plot could have used a few more red herrings and twists and turns. I was kept guessing until the end but I think that was because so much was revealed at the end instead of being craftily fed to us throughout the book.

    I read some reviews that said this was a very humorous book. There were a few humorous lines but I would not describe this book as laugh out loud funny. In fact after I read those reviews I had to really think about which lines or characters provided humor. Everyone has their own idea of humor.... for instance I think the Agatha Raisin series by M.C. Beaton is hilarious. All in all however, I did like this book... maybe I set myself up for a fall after reading all of the great critic reviews.

    I will give this series one more try and read the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2