Customer Reviews for

Death of a Darklord

Average Rating 3
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hello people! This isn't Anita Blake

I don't understand people and how they expect every book from an author to be the same genre. This book is actually very good. It's a total turn around from Anita Blake and merry gentry but it's interesting. It is part of another type of series where all the books are s...
I don't understand people and how they expect every book from an author to be the same genre. This book is actually very good. It's a total turn around from Anita Blake and merry gentry but it's interesting. It is part of another type of series where all the books are sad and have upsetting endings. Romantics should NOT read this.

posted by ReaderBee14 on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievably Bad

Wow. I expected anything Laurell K. Hamilton wrote to be a hit, or at least an enjoyable read. But this... this was pure garbage! It started out rather well, but towards the middle you start to realize that something's missing, and by the end, you're reading to ...
Wow. I expected anything Laurell K. Hamilton wrote to be a hit, or at least an enjoyable read. But this... this was pure garbage! It started out rather well, but towards the middle you start to realize that something's missing, and by the end, you're reading to burn the thing. The main character has magic, but she barely uses it, even in life or death situations, it makes no sense. Not to mention the ending which lacked EVERYTHING a good ending should have. It was like she started out with a good idea, but 20 pages in decided she just didn't care, and just worked towards ending the thing. Please, save yourself some heartache, do NOT buy this book. Especially fans of LKH and The Forgotten Realms.

posted by Anonymous on September 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Unbelievably Bad

    Wow. I expected anything Laurell K. Hamilton wrote to be a hit, or at least an enjoyable read. But this... this was pure garbage! It started out rather well, but towards the middle you start to realize that something's missing, and by the end, you're reading to burn the thing. The main character has magic, but she barely uses it, even in life or death situations, it makes no sense. Not to mention the ending which lacked EVERYTHING a good ending should have. It was like she started out with a good idea, but 20 pages in decided she just didn't care, and just worked towards ending the thing. Please, save yourself some heartache, do NOT buy this book. Especially fans of LKH and The Forgotten Realms.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Disappointing

    Completely chaotic and full of nonsenical twists and turns. Unfufilling to say the least. No substance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love Laurell K. Hamilton and was really excited to see a book by her that I hadn't read...this book was terrible! The plot was alright but she tended to lose her way throughout the book. The ending was not a happy one for any of the characters whether they were good or evil. Everyone had a severely depressing conclusion and I found myself incredibly angry that LKH would publish this. My reccomendation is NOT to buy it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    Not worth the money to buy it.

    Hamilton has truly disapointed fans everywhere with this work. Forget that it isn't one of her regular storylines This book doesn't have any of Hamilton's usual flavor. This book is depressing and horrifying and is missing the underlying hope that fills the rest of her books. I finished this book in two days and was left feeling unsatisfied. It has one main plot with too many subplots that are not explained, characters that go nowhere, and an ending that left me throwing the book at the wall because it doesn't explain the reason behind ANYTHING. It just ends. I would say this book rates right up with her first book published 'Nightseer' both well written, but ultimately giving you a book that leaves major gaps in the time 'before the book' and leaves you with an ending that is incomplete. My recommendation is to NOT BUY THE BOOK.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2015

    I shouldn't have expected better

    The book begins with one set of characters, then for the next 200 pages, you are introduced to who you think are the main characters and the main plot. It's only in the last few pages are the first and second plots related, and only with the thinnest of threads. It's frustrating, to say the least.

    The ending is also abrupt and brings barely any resolution to the main plot, much less the 'secondary' characters you spent the last few hours with.

    A bad novel, amd a worse Ravenloft novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Sadly disappointing..

    I have read a great deal of Laurell's work and it saddens me to say that this is by far one ofthe worst books I have ever read. Good descriptions but a scattered odd plot. Just not well written. Read her other works but if you are a fan of hers save yourself the heartache of trudging through this poorly written tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Terrible

    This book starts out with great potential however, with each turn of the page it becomes more and more disappointing. By the end I was left feeling completely unsatisfied without any hope for redemption. I have been a fan of LKH for years and was looking forward to something different from her. Parts of the plot are left without explaination leaving behind a feeling that there is a lack of developed substance, like LKH's heart and imagination just wasn't there. Overall this particular potential series has left behind a bad taste that is disappointing to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Deeply disappointing and unsatisfying

    This book through me for a loop. I have read and Love all the Anita Blake Series and Meredith Gentry Series, but this book was totally different, it was very dark and disturbing. Though it was well worded written, the characters lacked the vitality of her other books, it was just to mortifying to be enjoyed. If you love Anita Blake and Meredith Gentry I wouldn¿t suggest reading this book, it takes away from the spirit and Vitality of her other books, and characters. It has neither happy endings nor any happiness in between, it¿s depressing and sad. It also ended with finality, leaving far too many loss ends and questions about other characters and surroundings. It is almost as if she got tired of writing it and ended it halfway through the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1