Customer Reviews for

Death of a Kitchen Diva (Hayley Powell Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great new series

Loved the start to this new series. Hayley is a fun character and someone I could see myself being friends with...she also writes a column with recipes...and cocktails...yum!

posted by OurBookAddiction on July 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

fair

the story kept hopping around from one scenario to another that you lost interest and it wasn't a page turner type book. I was actually glad to be done reading it.

posted by SCHATZE on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    fair

    the story kept hopping around from one scenario to another that you lost interest and it wasn't a page turner type book. I was actually glad to be done reading it.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    This book was okay. I don't really know why Hayley Powell's chil

    This book was okay. I don't really know why Hayley Powell's children were even included in this book cause they seemed to be totally ignored by her throughout the story. Kept hoping it would get better but always seemed to fall short. Have to admit I am glad I am done reading it.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Rather odd

    I liked the premise of this 250 page book. There was no sex cursing or extreme violence. The editing was so-so for a nook book, better then most but still leaving quite a few mistakes. It jumped around a lot. Yet the author kept repeating some actions and the same dialog over and over, which annoys me no end. The main character would rather spend time with her bffs then her family, leaving her children to eat pizza and left overs. I was hoping for another series of books like Diana Mott Davidson's and her caterer Goldie. I did not find it here. This book could have a lot better, hopefully the author reads these reviews, edits, pumps it up a bit, includes some good mothering and child involvement, for a much better story. Recommended for readers 13 and up.

    AD

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Yes

    I agree to the comments of the post. Just say whether ot not you liked reading the book.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great new series

    Loved the start to this new series. Hayley is a fun character and someone I could see myself being friends with...she also writes a column with recipes...and cocktails...yum!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is a fun excursion through a murder mystery and cooking all together. The recipes look wonderful and I will be preparing some of them

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Exactly what i thought it would be...

    This book wascexactly what I thought it would be. Cute, humorous and had me engaged in the characters and plot line. Good weekend read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Dawn

    Light and fun!! Nice read after working all week! I enjoyed it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Fun read!

    This is a fun quarky novel with some twists and turns that will leave you guessing. I bought this book because it was cheap and i wanted to try something new. I love murder mysteries, and this book didnt scare you. I really liked the charecters and was happy to see more boojs with the same charecters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    A cozy but food column would not pass a real editor

    Food shows have recently been show casing sweet hard liquore drinks and now this book has featured them first our cozy woman drinks not one but more to unwind at home along with every thing else think of the calories notice that in jsil she wanted a drink her diet for a good cook is terrible and a good cook can and does make perfectly good pizza at home and kids too

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a new series that starts Hayley Powell. Hayley while w

    This is a new series that starts Hayley Powell. Hayley while working at the newspaper office is looking for more money to supplement raising two teenagers, her boss hands her a new type of series to write about food and wine which Hayley turns into food and spirits. Mixing good dishes in with good alcoholic drinks. When Hayley's new rival winds up dead and Hayley is the prime suspect Hayley has to figure out who did it. The problem is everyone guilty about hating Karen the rival has solid alibis for the time in question, which puts Hayley right back in the hot seat.

    I enjoyed how we got to meet Hayley's kids and her brother and his boyfriend who is the chief of police. Also her two girlfriends are great. Definitely a great series for those cozy foodie lovers out there!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Book Lover

    I adored this book, and I am looking forward to the next one, which I pre-ordered, and will have tomorrow. Hayley is a great character, and the book is funny, but also has murder and mayhem, and ties it all together perfectly. I would highly recommend this book, and I was able to lend it to my sister, so that she could read it and enjoy it....Lee Hollis is a wonderful author, and now, one of my favorites...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Will not engage your brain.

    This is a fun read for when you need a break from real reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really slow

    Not a very interesting book. Very slow and VERY predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Entertaining!

    I found this first in a series to be quite entertaining! A decent story, really good main and minor characters and a decent ending. Conversations between characters is playful which I find to be a lot of fun. It was good!!

    I look forward to the next in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Characters flat

    I had low expectations yet managed to be disappointed. Who speaks like these characters? They come across like someone was trying too hard to create a stable of local yokle hicks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Mbdct

    Bcto

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    The first housewife murder myster I have read & really enjoyed it!

    And since i am a "foodie" i liked that the story line included recipes & meal planning. Its an easy fun read which i find is important to add to any book collection for variety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Small town newspaper office manager, Hayley Powell,  finds a lit

    Small town newspaper office manager, Hayley Powell,  finds a little extra income by taking over her newspaper's food recipe column.  She's in competition with the town's larger newspaper's foodie columnist.  When they both come out with the same recipe for clam chowder tongues  wag.  Worse still, when Hayley goes to confront her competitor, she finds her dead on the floor with her spilled chowder.  Being the main murder suspect sends Hayley on a dangerous path to prove her innocence.




    This start to a new cozy series has potential, but needs to improve to win me over.  Hayley's parenting skills have a lot to be desired.  Though my biggest issue was that the murderer really wasn't discussed enough in the book to give the reader a chance to discover who they were. The recipe columns were perhaps the best part of the book.  Will give the next in the series a try before deciding to continue with this series or not. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    G

    To be honest the book was stupid & dull. It took me some time to finish this tiresome read. And the characters were not even likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5