BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Death of a Salesman

Average Rating 3.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Keeps you thinking

I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it s...
I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it so it requires a bit of thinking on the readers part.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oh my God.

This book was probably the most agitating book I have ever had to read. I hated it. The main character, Willy, is a delusional, egotistical coward who cannot grasp the true reality of situations. He lies to himself as well as others to make himself appear better. He dri...
This book was probably the most agitating book I have ever had to read. I hated it. The main character, Willy, is a delusional, egotistical coward who cannot grasp the true reality of situations. He lies to himself as well as others to make himself appear better. He drives his son, Biff, away and completely ignores his loyal son, Happy. He is the man you love to hate.

posted by zjmaxon on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    Keeps you thinking

    I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it so it requires a bit of thinking on the readers part.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    I read this for class

    Death of a Saleman is an excellent play which everyone should read. I read it for my AP English and Composition class. There are many hidden facts and information which make the play more interesting and more complex then you may not see the first time you read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2002

    Tragic Portrayal of the American Dream

    Miller's play is an intimate study of the tragedy one family faces and their singular reaction to it. The characters are so rich in their depiction of disillusionment, and they vividly exemplify the intense desire for an easier life. I thoroughly enjoyed this play.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Death of a Salesman: Book Review

    This novel dramatically reveals the struggles of capitalism compared to the communist society. The characters in the play convey strong emotions as Willy, the father of the family, starts losing his sanity because of the harshness of the capitalistic system. It seems that as hard as Willy tries he can never get to be a part of the Bourgeoisie society like he dreams. His loving wife supports him throughout the play always joining in on his dreams of wealth. He has two sons, Biff and Happy, which serve as foil characters to each other since Happy supports the system while Biff does not. This play was generally easy to read and serves as an excellent novel to teach in middle schools and high schools because it helps teach about capitalism v. Marxism. Willy's passionate attitude about finding wealth keeps you interested since it causes drama all throughout the play. It is recommended to read this book especially if economic-related novels are well-favored. Either way it is interesting to see the downfalls of the capitalistic society and what it causes people to do just so they can be happy.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read, but not if you're already depressed

    Valuable literary experience, but so profoundly depressing. Definitely not something to read while you're trying to enjoy a vacation. Don't read it until our current economic depression is over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Oh my God.

    This book was probably the most agitating book I have ever had to read. I hated it. The main character, Willy, is a delusional, egotistical coward who cannot grasp the true reality of situations. He lies to himself as well as others to make himself appear better. He drives his son, Biff, away and completely ignores his loyal son, Happy. He is the man you love to hate.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    i read it for school

    Death of a salesman wow what can I say about it? It was good but very depressing and it had a lot of deep meaning and you really need to be able to read between the lines to understand it well. It was hard to fallow because it switch between memories so often. I only recommend this book if you feel like being deep, you¿re a good reader, and you really have nothing else to read. I liked but if you¿re a normal thinker and don¿t really think about what your reading then you really won¿t like this book and you shouldn¿t read it because you won¿t give it enough respect

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Some people are just dumb

    I have seen some really bad reviews here. Some said that Death of a Salesman was the worst book ever. Now I can imagine that some may not think as highly as I do of the book, but it can never be considered the worst ever. Those people obviously do not understand the true meaning and messages of the book, the things that maake Death of a Salesman a timeless masterpiece. For you dumb shmucks out there, some thing the book was really about: communism; capitalism- in the cold and callous business world, personal connections and compassion and comprimised for profit and performace; trying to fulfill one's dreams with his children; escape from an undesirable life; sacrifice; -- just to name a few. So, before you rip on a book, or anything, make sure you fully understand it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2002

    Death of the American Dream

    Though to many the play can seem dull and dreary, it cannot leave you untouched. It makes you internally search, wondering if you too are like Willy, reaching for something that will never be grasped. Willy was always searching for his own diamond, yet only in death could he find it. The play is simplistic at times, but one would have to take some serious thought in order to understand all of its aspects. You must mull over it for awhile and turn it over in your mind a few times before being able to truely understand and appreciate it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2001

    Excellent Drama

    Miller's view on the American Dream symbolizes the culture of Willy Loman and how he reacts toward the different situations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    "Death of a Salesman" by Arthur Miller is an eye openi

    "Death of a Salesman" by Arthur Miller is an eye opening collision of idealism and the "American Dream" with the harsh realities of everyday life. This dramatic play gives Arthur's strong opinions on success in America. Miller's own family was successful in business and was very wealthy up until the Wall Street Crash of 1929, which left them nearly broke. This personal connection to the plot makes the emotional appeals to the audience very effective. Amidst the delusion of Willy's success as a businessman, Biff as a well-liked and respected worker, and Linda and Willy's marriage as being immaculate, the message that not everything is perfect contrasts quite sharply as we begin to discover what is wrong with Willy.

    When we get introduced to Willy and his family, everything appears to be very idealistic: a husband that has no problem providing for the family, two sons with a great amount of potential, and a caring wife. But as the blinds come off of the household, the vision of perfection becomes unraveled, and for the most part, what seems true proves to be the opposite. I found many of the feelings of chaos and uncertainty very relatable but also kind of terrifying. The suggestion that success can be but an illusion is a convicting one for someone who is about to go to college and begin to try succeeding in life. It is a powerful reminder that a multi-perceptive view of the world is so crucial, as Biff learns later in the play as he copes with all that has happened. Before reading this play, I had considered probably my whole life that success does not look the same to each person, but this play presented me with the possibility that failure could still be masked as success, which has made me more cautious (or knowingly daring) with the decisions I make in the future. Overall, the play was one I would love to see done onstage sometime, but also a very powerful script that will stay with me for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    The book is excellent, but the Nook rendering is very disappoint

    The book is excellent, but the Nook rendering is very disappointing. No matter what text size I select, the formatting  is off: 1-word lines abound, the indents are off, and the reading experience is considerably compromised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    And yet he lives on

    Arthur Miller describes a families desperate attempt to cling to the American dream while simultaneously bringing the utopian fantasy life crashing down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    TL;DR

    Too long; Didn't read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Quick read

    I had read this short play and I found myself amazed at how I actually liked the plotline. It is easy to connect with the main character. Overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Pretty good

    I love arthur miller and love reading plays. Don't read if you're looking for something uplifting, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Anyone that does not appreciate the story of the Loman family (i

    Anyone that does not appreciate the story of the Loman family (its about the entire family, not just Willy), complain about how "boring" the story is, or fails to find any meaning in the story, is a stupid person. Plain and simple. Go read the Hunger Games or some ish. In short, everyone who rated Death of a Salesmen 1 Star was basically ranking their intelligence the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Sam.p.ou

    How the frik are you posting from 2001

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Very Good and Emotional

    Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller is the story of an old and increasingly unsuccessful salesman named Willie. Willie grows crazier and crazier and has more and more flashbacks to different moments in his life that he realized could have changed his entire life, if he had done one thing different. When his two sons, Biff and Happy, come to visit for a while, he becomes more depressed after seeing how much of a failure Biff is, and how seeing that no matter how many different women Happy can get, he will never be able to get a wife, or impress his father the way that Biff used to. With an emotional ending that leaves you satisfied and impressed, Death of a Salesman was a very good play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Its ook Its ok.....

    The book didnt really get my attention in the beginning, but i like that its a play

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7