Customer Reviews for

Death of a Salesman: Certain Private Conversations in Two Acts and a Requiem

Average Rating 3.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Keeps you thinking

I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it s...
I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it so it requires a bit of thinking on the readers part.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Death of the American Dream

Though to many the play can seem dull and dreary, it cannot leave you untouched. It makes you internally search, wondering if you too are like Willy, reaching for something that will never be grasped. Willy was always searching for his own diamond, yet only in death cou...
Though to many the play can seem dull and dreary, it cannot leave you untouched. It makes you internally search, wondering if you too are like Willy, reaching for something that will never be grasped. Willy was always searching for his own diamond, yet only in death could he find it. The play is simplistic at times, but one would have to take some serious thought in order to understand all of its aspects. You must mull over it for awhile and turn it over in your mind a few times before being able to truely understand and appreciate it.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Song

    Hey honey.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Hi want to play

    Ashkit is at home

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Death of a Salesman

    Death of a Salesman is a classic for a reason. It pulls the reader into the life and stress of Willy Loman. People can empathize with him, because people can see him in themselves; it is a frightening experience. It may be hard for some young students to understand - they should read it again when they turn fifty and are working in a corporate environment.

    He had a good relationship with his old boss. But now that the boss' son has taken over, things have changed significantly. He stands alone, middle aged and vunerable.

    When he assesses his life, he realizes that he always felt trapped in a marriage and a job he hates. He was on the road most of the time, trying to escape. But when the boss' son told him not to go back on the road, he knew he was going to be fired. He was too old to find another job. His only option was suicide.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    School Assignment

    I HAD to read this book for school. It was sad and depressing with a horrible ending. I don't understand why anyone would think it is a "classic". Unless you HAVE to read it, choose another book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    ok

    i just got the book today i like it...its very interesting..you just have to get into the spirit..because when i started reading it i was like what the hecc to my teacher have me reading...it keeps you guessing all the people who left ignorant reviews need to stop maybe you guys brains cant malfunction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Revolutionary Classic

    Death of a Salesman, by Arthur Miller, is a superbly written play that typifies common misconceptions of the American Dream. Set in the 1940's in idealized suburbia, Miller ingeniously reveals that as an overriding theme as well as lessons on abandonment and betrayal. Readers witness the insecure Willy Loman slowly deteriorate mentally as his career as a traveling salesman progressively fails. His digression is seen through the interactions of his family in the house that he views as a major symbol of success, as well as in and around New York City and Boston. Linda Loman, his loyal wife, suffers through his constant disillusions and failed dreams. As Willy turns slips more and more from reality into a fantasy world created around his hopes and wishes, Linda continues to encourage his support from their sons Biff and Happy in the only way that she knows is right. Willy's retirement into the world in his mind is due mainly to his reliance on material wealth for fulfillment and the despair he feels when he can no longer provide it for his family. Therefore, Miller leads readers to reevaluate what things are most important to place value in. With the modern world increasingly leaning towards material wealth as a way to find happiness, this play is invaluable to keep readers from straying down the same path of decay as Willy Loman. Miller also offers a great deal of appeal to readers through Willy's relationships with his sons. The battle between desire to see his kin succeed and the necessity to be understanding of different desires is an epic story held together by the love of family. All readers can relate to a tale so engrossing in nature. Arthur Miller created an outstanding literary work that's universal themes earn it a status among the timeless classics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    For someone who has no sense of time

    This book was alright. It starts out slow, not building up till the very end, when everything starts to come together and become slightly shocking, if it wasn't already forshadowed. The whole time concept of the book though was quite interesting, going back and forth through the present and the past. You had to pay real close attention to the story, you could not get through the book by just skimming through it. <BR/><BR/>So, for someone who has no sense of time, I do not recomend reading this book because you will get lost.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Very depressing--in a good way

    Death of a Salesman is depressing, yes. However, it's depressing in a way that is good. I can't really explain it, unless you read it. Still, this is the greatest play ever written, and one of the greatest pieces of literature! Hooray!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Arguably the greatest American drama

    It's astonishing that any reviewer would say this play is boring, or give it less than five stars. 'Salesman' is the finest play by one of the theatre's great playwrights. The characters are unforgettable, the story is compelling, the dialog is brilliant. This is a play worth seeing -- and reading -- again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Well written, dramatic, and heartfelt.

    I loved this book. Although, I am a sensitive person, and some of the scenes upset me enough to not want to continue- the book was realistic. It has personality, and keeps you wondering. I completely reccomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    A thoughtful read

    the book was average but required deep inner personal though tto fully comprehend the tragedy of willys life and death

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    amazing

    i started reading this book in school, and like all the other reviewers who read it in school, i was at first bored to tears. however, as the play progressed, i came to see what a timeless, well-written, and unbelievably important play it is. the tale of willy loman is one we can all relate to ourselves in some way, and that is one of the signs of a truly great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    I Barely got into it

    Were reading it in my theatre arts class and were only on page 22, I am already bored with it. I've seen the movie and it bored me to tears. I do not recomend this book to anyone, unless you like books you can't get into.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Here I am Rock You Like a Hurrican

    This book is like the scorpions rock balled. Forcefull and chilling

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    So BORING and CONFUSING

    Oh my God!!! We read this book in English Class, and I slept the whole way through. Not only is it boring and dull, it is so confusing. I was constantly asking whether he was dreaming or if it was reality. Its a pointless book, which isn't based on anything interesting. NOT for leisure reading!! Avoid at all costs!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    One of the best American plays

    If you find your way to this page because you're interested in the best of American drama, buy this book. You won't regret it. Willie Loman is an American icon; you owe it to yourself to make his acquaintance. I don't think anyone has written more eloquently than Arthur Miller of American dreams and dreamers, and how, for some, it's better to sleep forever than to face the daylight. In today's world of self-confidence completely unfettered by self-knowledge, this play offers a tart, bracing, completely relevant commentary. While some high school students may be a little young to appreciate it, they should still read it. After doing so, they might look at their fathers and grandfathers a little differently. I know I did. I hope this play survives forever. America is, after all, the country of the self-created man. This is his requiem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    If I hadn't read the whole book , I would have guessed he died from boredom!

    I know this is a classic American novel but it was a big let down to me. It was one of the most boring books I have ever read. If it wasn't a class assignment, I wouldn't have even bothered to finish the first chapter. For like two pages they talk about cheese, boring! I think I am a pretty sensitive person but I could not feel sorry for Willy. I thougt he was pathetic and a burden to his family. I did however felt bad for his family esp. his wife. Although this was incredibly dull, I do praise Miller for using this book to express important issues about society, like hardwork doesn't always bring success or how society is flawed, lack of loyalty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    About the Idiots who have reviewed this

    Death of a Salesman is an excellent play. i just finished writing a paper on it, and have had a chance to review it from other angles. the more i read it, the more i like it, the more i think some of the other people who have already posted reviews need to stop speaking publicly. clearly if the lack of action bothers u, or u can only relate to the 'family issues' uve already missed the boat. i highly recommend this to anyone capable of reading on a more-than-literal level of understanding. i hope this review negates some of the ill-founded reviews already posted in the eyes of someone unsure about reading this play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Death of a Salesman: Certain Private Conversations in Two Acts and a Requiem

    I read this novel in school it is a very nice novel that students of this time can comunicate with. The reason for that is that it tells of a man with lots of problems, problems that real life people can experience and so for that kids with this type of life can relate. Some teenagers believe in 'Death Of A Salesman' as a relevant novel. Arthur Miller gives the main character Willy, a tough role because if I was in his position than I would have freek out since the begining of the play. In conclusion I believe this novel to be a good novel for the fact that many kids today can relate to this book even if it is more than 50 years old.That way they can maybe learn something once they read the book. I would recomend this book to any reader out there who likes to read good novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    Death of a Salesman: Certain Private Conversations in Two Acts and a Requiem

    I'm a person who doesn't enjoy reading books much but in some situations when dealing with a good book that captures my attention, I read it and let others know of its greatnes and let me tell you this book is an incredible book. From the begining to the end it kept my attention long enough so that I could get through it. I believe that one word can discribe this book and that's 'WOW'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7