Customer Reviews for

Death of a Salesman

Average Rating 3.5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Keeps you thinking

I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it s...
I read this book for an AP English Summer Reading assignment and quite enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to follow at first but once you get started you start to understand more. It's a sad but interesting story. Warning: It's not for light readers there is depth to it so it requires a bit of thinking on the readers part.

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Death of the American Dream

Though to many the play can seem dull and dreary, it cannot leave you untouched. It makes you internally search, wondering if you too are like Willy, reaching for something that will never be grasped. Willy was always searching for his own diamond, yet only in death cou...
Though to many the play can seem dull and dreary, it cannot leave you untouched. It makes you internally search, wondering if you too are like Willy, reaching for something that will never be grasped. Willy was always searching for his own diamond, yet only in death could he find it. The play is simplistic at times, but one would have to take some serious thought in order to understand all of its aspects. You must mull over it for awhile and turn it over in your mind a few times before being able to truely understand and appreciate it.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read, but not if you're already depressed

    Valuable literary experience, but so profoundly depressing. Definitely not something to read while you're trying to enjoy a vacation. Don't read it until our current economic depression is over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Some people are just dumb

    I have seen some really bad reviews here. Some said that Death of a Salesman was the worst book ever. Now I can imagine that some may not think as highly as I do of the book, but it can never be considered the worst ever. Those people obviously do not understand the true meaning and messages of the book, the things that maake Death of a Salesman a timeless masterpiece. For you dumb shmucks out there, some thing the book was really about: communism; capitalism- in the cold and callous business world, personal connections and compassion and comprimised for profit and performace; trying to fulfill one's dreams with his children; escape from an undesirable life; sacrifice; -- just to name a few. So, before you rip on a book, or anything, make sure you fully understand it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    And yet he lives on

    Arthur Miller describes a families desperate attempt to cling to the American dream while simultaneously bringing the utopian fantasy life crashing down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Quick read

    I had read this short play and I found myself amazed at how I actually liked the plotline. It is easy to connect with the main character. Overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Anyone that does not appreciate the story of the Loman family (i

    Anyone that does not appreciate the story of the Loman family (its about the entire family, not just Willy), complain about how "boring" the story is, or fails to find any meaning in the story, is a stupid person. Plain and simple. Go read the Hunger Games or some ish. In short, everyone who rated Death of a Salesmen 1 Star was basically ranking their intelligence the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Sam.p.ou

    How the frik are you posting from 2001

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Song

    Hey honey.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Hi want to play

    Ashkit is at home

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Death of a Salesman

    Death of a Salesman is a classic for a reason. It pulls the reader into the life and stress of Willy Loman. People can empathize with him, because people can see him in themselves; it is a frightening experience. It may be hard for some young students to understand - they should read it again when they turn fifty and are working in a corporate environment.

    He had a good relationship with his old boss. But now that the boss' son has taken over, things have changed significantly. He stands alone, middle aged and vunerable.

    When he assesses his life, he realizes that he always felt trapped in a marriage and a job he hates. He was on the road most of the time, trying to escape. But when the boss' son told him not to go back on the road, he knew he was going to be fired. He was too old to find another job. His only option was suicide.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Revolutionary Classic

    Death of a Salesman, by Arthur Miller, is a superbly written play that typifies common misconceptions of the American Dream. Set in the 1940's in idealized suburbia, Miller ingeniously reveals that as an overriding theme as well as lessons on abandonment and betrayal. Readers witness the insecure Willy Loman slowly deteriorate mentally as his career as a traveling salesman progressively fails. His digression is seen through the interactions of his family in the house that he views as a major symbol of success, as well as in and around New York City and Boston. Linda Loman, his loyal wife, suffers through his constant disillusions and failed dreams. As Willy turns slips more and more from reality into a fantasy world created around his hopes and wishes, Linda continues to encourage his support from their sons Biff and Happy in the only way that she knows is right. Willy's retirement into the world in his mind is due mainly to his reliance on material wealth for fulfillment and the despair he feels when he can no longer provide it for his family. Therefore, Miller leads readers to reevaluate what things are most important to place value in. With the modern world increasingly leaning towards material wealth as a way to find happiness, this play is invaluable to keep readers from straying down the same path of decay as Willy Loman. Miller also offers a great deal of appeal to readers through Willy's relationships with his sons. The battle between desire to see his kin succeed and the necessity to be understanding of different desires is an epic story held together by the love of family. All readers can relate to a tale so engrossing in nature. Arthur Miller created an outstanding literary work that's universal themes earn it a status among the timeless classics.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Very depressing--in a good way

    Death of a Salesman is depressing, yes. However, it's depressing in a way that is good. I can't really explain it, unless you read it. Still, this is the greatest play ever written, and one of the greatest pieces of literature! Hooray!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Arguably the greatest American drama

    It's astonishing that any reviewer would say this play is boring, or give it less than five stars. 'Salesman' is the finest play by one of the theatre's great playwrights. The characters are unforgettable, the story is compelling, the dialog is brilliant. This is a play worth seeing -- and reading -- again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Well written, dramatic, and heartfelt.

    I loved this book. Although, I am a sensitive person, and some of the scenes upset me enough to not want to continue- the book was realistic. It has personality, and keeps you wondering. I completely reccomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    amazing

    i started reading this book in school, and like all the other reviewers who read it in school, i was at first bored to tears. however, as the play progressed, i came to see what a timeless, well-written, and unbelievably important play it is. the tale of willy loman is one we can all relate to ourselves in some way, and that is one of the signs of a truly great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Here I am Rock You Like a Hurrican

    This book is like the scorpions rock balled. Forcefull and chilling

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    One of the best American plays

    If you find your way to this page because you're interested in the best of American drama, buy this book. You won't regret it. Willie Loman is an American icon; you owe it to yourself to make his acquaintance. I don't think anyone has written more eloquently than Arthur Miller of American dreams and dreamers, and how, for some, it's better to sleep forever than to face the daylight. In today's world of self-confidence completely unfettered by self-knowledge, this play offers a tart, bracing, completely relevant commentary. While some high school students may be a little young to appreciate it, they should still read it. After doing so, they might look at their fathers and grandfathers a little differently. I know I did. I hope this play survives forever. America is, after all, the country of the self-created man. This is his requiem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    About the Idiots who have reviewed this

    Death of a Salesman is an excellent play. i just finished writing a paper on it, and have had a chance to review it from other angles. the more i read it, the more i like it, the more i think some of the other people who have already posted reviews need to stop speaking publicly. clearly if the lack of action bothers u, or u can only relate to the 'family issues' uve already missed the boat. i highly recommend this to anyone capable of reading on a more-than-literal level of understanding. i hope this review negates some of the ill-founded reviews already posted in the eyes of someone unsure about reading this play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Human nature

    It is amazing how Arthur Miller can put emotions into words...like no other. As we mature, we get to understand and relate to ALL those emotions at one point or other. It's like: geez, Willy, I know exactly how you feel! (I'm not a salesman). I get chills each time I read it, see the play or the movie, which Dustin Hoffman portrayed so perfectly. Thank you Mr. Miller for your legacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    Attention must be paid - the great American play

    This is for me the great American play .Its language is a precise colloquial, a poetic rendering of everyday speech.The family drama is a story of the American dream,in all its pathetic power and broken ambition. Willy Loman is a giant of pain, and someone to whom ' attention truly must be paid ' He is a dreamer who breaks his bond of loyalty with his wife, and sets himself on his own path of destruction.His failure is too the failure he transmits to his children. The story of father and sons , and how dreams which are broken promises are the true connection between them moves deeply . So too its connection with that whole American idea ( A man's got to dream it comes with the territory) of somehow getting on and getting ahead , out there ahead of the rest which from Huckleberry Finn to Willy Loman through Ahab and including Gatsby leads to a failure at the end which nonetheless bears within it great poignance and beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2001

    A Great book

    I can relate my family with this book and it has changed my own life many ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3