Customer Reviews for

Death of a Schoolgirl (Jane Eyre Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    I am so glad I read this book. If you liked Jane Eyre, you will

    I am so glad I read this book. If you liked Jane Eyre, you will love this book. It is cleverly and elegantly written. I was transported to a bygone era and wrapped in a cashmere cloak of mystery. I met characters I loved and felt compassion for their circumstances. This book flows beautifully with the well known and much loved character that is Jane. I enjoyed this book so much that I want to read more about the Rochesters. I hope this series continues so we can see Jane's son growing up. I love this book so much that I will be reading it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The depth of the book and the characters are amazing. Jane Eyre┬┐

    The depth of the book and the characters are amazing. Jane Eyre’s character is exactly like the Jane I would have imagined. Jane’s intelligence and determination to do right even though it drastically cuts into her new home life.  She is totally happy and living a fulfilled life, yet she gives it all up for a time to help others. A  totally unselfish act.  She uses her mind and all of her senses to figure out a solution. Fortunately, she has help. Her husbands friends wife has taken her into her home as a relative. This is astounding to Jane but as situations develop she finds the need for that kind of friendship.  



    Ms. Slan has the foresight and intellect to perceive just how Jane Eyre would be and the outcome is adventurous with a bit of a surprise conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Ever since I was in high school, "Jane Eyre" has been

    Ever since I was in high school, "Jane Eyre" has been a favorite book for me. I read it on my accord when I was about 14. In fact, I was taking French at the time, and it was a challenge to try to translate the French that was spoken in the book. This was one of those classics that truly resonated with me, and the mystery in the book completely baffled and floored me. When I heard about this modern-day sequel, I knew this was a book I wanted to read, and I am grateful to be sharing my review of this amazing book.

    From the beginning of the book, I was enraptured. I felt as though I was reading Bronte all over again. I marvel at the fact that a modern-day author could write so much like one of my favorite novelists, and I believe even Charlotte Bronte herself would approve of this sequel. There were things I had forgotten about from the original story, but I have since reviewed the story, and Joanna Slan is right on! She got every detail right, and I felt as though I was reading a long-lost classic.

    The enigmatic story captured my attention, and I honestly didn't have everything figured out. Even after all these years, I remember my concept of how Mr. Rochester should have looked, and Joanna novel brought back the very image I had of him when I was a teenager. I appreciated the wonderful way the author incorporated history into the book, and I can hardly wait to read more from her. How I have gone this long without reading anything by this author is baffling! She has quickly become one of my favorite authors, and I will recommend her novels to anyone!

    By the way, there are really no potential issues in the book. No profanity, no sex scenes, and a positive Christian message. I like all of that because there are not enough of those kinds of stories out there. Well done, Joanna Campbell Slan!

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    A well thought out mystery with a despicable victim. Death of

    A well thought out mystery with a despicable victim.

    Death of a Schoolgirl By Joanna Campbell Slan
    The First of the Jane Eyre Chronicles

    Way back when I first read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte I rooted for Jane to get her Mr. Rochester. Well, she got him and in Death of a Schoolgirl by Joanna Campbell Slan we see what happens after the original novel ends.

    Jane and Edward Rochester have married and are living quietly in Yorkshire away from society. Edward is recovering from the injuries received in the fire and Jane has recently given birth to a son. A worrisome letter arrives from Adele, Rochester’s young ward, who is at boarding school. Has she really been threatened, or are these just the histrionics of a young girl looking for attention? Determined to find out Jane must leave her husband, whose injuries prevent travel at the moment, her 6 month old son, and set off for London alone.

    After a trying journey, Jane reaches the school only to find authorities removing the body of a dead school girl. With help from friends new and old Jane goes undercover as the German teacher to protect the children and root out the killer.

    Death of a Schoolgirl is a well thought out mystery with a despicable victim. The plot seamlessly adds social commentary to the mystery and deepens the characterization. The book also adds a touch of humor. In this respect I’m especially fond of Adele. I loved what she wrote about the victim in an assignment. I laughed out loud when I first read it and giggle still when I think about it.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this trip back to 1820’s England. Author Joanna Campbell Slan manages to keep the integrity of these classic characters while bringing them new life and new adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    If you are a fan of Jane Eyre, mysteries or Joanna's books then

    If you are a fan of Jane Eyre, mysteries or Joanna's books then this is the perfect book for you. I wanted to read this book first of all because I have been a fan of Joanna's since the days of her writing journaling tips for scrapbooks, then I saw it was a mystery book and set in Victorian London and I was hooked. Joanna did such a good job with the characters in this book that you can't help but think they are real. The mystery part of this book was done in such a way that you don't want to put this book down. I have to confess I have not read Jane Eyre but after reading this book it makes me want to go back and pick it up. Jane was such a helpful caring person that she is a person I would love to meet if she really existed. I am looking forward to continuing on with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Minnie

    Hallie plz talk to me!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Jess

    K...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Minnie

    Hello?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. A very engaging

    I couldn't wait to find out what happened next. A very engaging book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    This was a good mystery that kept me turning the pages as I had

    This was a good mystery that kept me turning the pages as I had to know who was doing what to whom in this charming whodunit. The author did an excellent job in maintaining the essence and writing style of Ms. Bronte. If you are a fan of Bronte's Jane Eyre, then you'll enjoy this foray into Jane's new life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Being a fan of Joanna Campbell Slan’s Kiki Lowenstein myst

    Being a fan of Joanna Campbell Slan’s Kiki Lowenstein mysteries, I was thrilled to be given the opportunity to review Death of a Schoolgirl before it is released.

    I wasn’t sure what to expect, since this book was from a different time then the Kiki Lowenstein mysteries. I was drawn in to the book immediately. As I read the book, I began to feel I knew the characters and could relate to them. The lengths Jane Eyre Rochester went to, in order to help not only her husband’s ward Adele, but the other girls at the boarding school was quite impressive. Jane was quite the determined detective. Along the way she also discovered that good friends could be found in unlikely places. I found myself not wanting the book to end and when it did, hoping another would be in the works.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1