Customer Reviews for

Death of a Valentine (Hamish Macbeth Series #25)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    Hamish Macbeth escapes a trap

    Hamish Macbeth, promoted to sergeant, gets a new constable to assist him with his duties in the Scottish Highlands. SHE had asked for this job because she has her sights set on marrying Hamish. She tries every way she can to convince him that they were meant to be; but the more she chases him the more he wants her out of there. So in addition to his police duties, Hamish has to try to avoid his amourous assistant, who tries every dirty trick in the book to catch him, and almost does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Anonymous

    A bit too much focus on Josie, the boozy, horny partner inherited by Hamish. Nevertheless, I stayed with the book, finding it funny and not without tension.

    I wish Blair would be paid back big-time. Just once!

    My wife read a hardcover version from our library. Oddly, there were two instances where a Josie's name was mistakenly written in for Annie's (pp.78-79, chapter four).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    a Hershey bar and a Coke for the brain

    M. C. Beaton books are pure unadulterated pleasure. They are funny, cozy, exciting, and, believe it or not, there is always a lesson on morality tucked away in there somewhere. Hamish and Agatha are two of my best friends, and I love every minute I get to spend in the highlands of Scotland or the lovely Cotswalds of England with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Has anybody seen M C Beaton lately?

    Over the years I've read dozens of Ms Beaton's books, both the Hamish Macbeth series and the Agatha Raisin series. I used to enjoy them as a little bit of light reading, usually with some situation humor, maybe a little irony. The past few books of hers that I've read, however, have made me wonder what I ever saw in them. Her recent Agatha Raisin books have more closely resembled an outline than a full-flesh book, and her obviously dim opinion of all women as stupid, vain, needy, pathetic creatures who can't possibly get by in the world without a man, any man, no matter how unsuitable or sorry, makes me wonder if M C Beaton might really be a man. I can't imagine what could have happened in a successful woman's life to make her detest other females so thoroughly and overtly. This book is a testament to her negative feelings about women, as a weak, sniveling, conniving, alcoholic police woman sets her sights on confirmed bachelor Hamish Macbeth and proceeds to chase him, trick him, drug him, lie to him, and fake a pregnancy to get him to the altar. The woman makes bad decision after bad decision, moves from the brink of stalking to all-out no holds barred obsession; loses her job, her friends, her mother's support, and her reputation, all for lowly police sergeant Hamish Macbeth, a man whose cheapness and self-centered ways are known throughout the Highlands. Hamish has nothing of his own; even his house is the local police station. He's known for mooching and poaching and taking advantage of his friends' good nature; yeah, what a catch! The book would be funny if not so insulting; maybe that's what Beaton is going for, but she missed it by a wide margin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Silly and Fun

    Once again Hamish gets in over his head. This Beaton work is silly, fast reading, fast moving and most of all fun. For those of us who read heavy works and need a break, M.C. Beaton is just the thing. It's not a classic, it's fun. It's not a book with great thought, it's fun. It's not something you can't put down, it's just fun. Read it for fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Engaging Village Mystery

    I never tire of the Hamish Macbeth mysteries, and always enjoy a return visit to northern Scotland when a new one comes out. This was no exception. In the latest story, a beautiful Highland festival queen is murdered by a homemade bomb. Investigation reveals that the lady was no better than she ought to be, and had a string of resentful ex-lovers. The secondary plot involves Hamish's new subordinate, a cute but extremely alcoholic policewoman named Josie. Modern women will view with a curled lip Josie's devious (and often dangerous) machinations to become Hamish's bride. Nonetheless, a very enjoyable tale that Hamish Macbeth fans will not want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Another Hamish MacBeth

    I have always like this series, but this one was weak. Josie's adoration and subsequent downfall lacked the humor I am accustomed to from this series, and I have already forgotten who was murdered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining reading

    I have read all of the Hamish Macbeth books and enjoyed every one of them. M.C. Beaton has a sly sense of humour which she imparts to her characters. I suggest beginning with the first book to build up a familiarity with the characters. As long as she keeps writing, I will read her works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    I have always enjoyed this series. I was introduced to Hamish McBeth on the BBC series. I enjoyed it so much that I wanted to read the books. Now I am trying to complete the whole series. He is by far one of my favorite characters. I love the writing and enjoy the story lines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    HAMISH MACBETH TO MARRY?

    DEATH OF A VALENTINE
    A Hamish Macbeth Mystery
    M.C. Beaton
    Grand Central Publishing
    $23.99 - Hardcover
    ISBN: 978-0-446-54738-3
    256 pages
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    The twenty-fifth book in the Hamish Macbeth series, M.C. Beaton's latest, DEATH OF A VALENTINE finds Hamish Macbeth standing at the alter waiting for his bride to be Josie McSween. Unlike most grooms who look at their new bride with lust and wonder, Hamish is hoping for a miracle that will stop this event.

    Josie McSween is Hamish's new constable. Her sweetness is appreciated by most of the townfolk but for Hamish, she is annoying and an interruption of his well established lifestyle. Josie, a romantic, falls for Hamish and puts into place a plan to be his wife.

    While Josie proceeds with her plans to win over Hamish, they investigate the murder of the town's beauty queen. The investigation takes them into neighboring villages, into the lives of people they consider good townspeople and a revelation that all is not what it seems to be.

    While Hamish performs the miracles his townspeople are used to, Josie's plans are unfolding before the eyes of one of Hamish's friends, a local celebrity.

    The characters in this story are strong, believable and interesting. Beaton has again worked her magic and the fans of the Hamish Macbeth series will not be disappointed with this addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    M.C. Beaton scores again!

    In Death of a Valentine, the 25th Hamish Macbeth mystery, M.C. Beaton gives us a detective cozy with a romantic comedic subplot set in Lochdubh, a picturesque Scottish village. The tone, pace, and setting take you to a fictional village where everyone knows each other and each other's business quite well. Even if you're new to M.C. Beaton's Hamish Macbeth series as I am, you'll easily figure out Lochdubh's characters, from Angela Brody, the doctor's wife and good friend of Hamish Macbeth, to crotchety Mrs. Wellington, who rents out rooms to the new constable Josie McSween, to Sir Andrew Etherington who lends out the diamond tiara for the annual fair day parade.

    Hamish Macbeth, our lead character and a perpetual bachelor, is clearly set in his ways. Hamish wants to keep his pets, his police station/home, his village and his personal life just the way it is. But the sudden murder of a young beauty queen, Annie Fleming, disrupts Hamish's routine. The murder draws Hamish and Josie into a complex investigation, full of twists and turns, and unexpected discoveries. Things are never as they seem, even in this small Scottish village.

    A mystery cozy of the best sort, M.C. Beaton's Death of a Valentine, is a fun, entertaining read. If you're looking for a mystery of the Agatha Christie sort with the quirks of Scotland, I recommend Death of a Valentine!

    ISBN-10: 0446547387
    Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (January 12, 2010), 256 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    strong police procedural

    In the Highlands on Valentine's Day, Lammas festival queen, Annie Fleming received a gift that exploded when she opened it; she died instantly. police sergeant Hamish Macbeth leads the investigation with his new sidekick constable Josie McSween at his side; something he detests. They soon find out that the victim had plenty of rejected lovers who loathed Annie for spurning their advances.

    Meanwhile working together draws the two cops closer even as Hamish uses the murder as proof that love is lethal to more than just the heart. However the villagers of Lochdubh are euphoric that the bachelor police Sergeant Hamish Macbeth and popular constable Josie McSween are engaged. Unlike seemingly the entire Highlands, Hamish is miserable and grumpy when he should be elated.

    With a strong police procedural combined with a comedic romantic subplot, fans of the long running series will relish the latest Macbeth thriller. Ironically, the investigation is super vs. the romance which is amusing yet it is the latter that keeps the audience reading in one sitting (or cheating) with a need to know whether the long time (24 previous titles) bachelor says I do.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3