Customer Reviews for

Death of a Witch (Hamish Macbeth Series #24)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First Beaton book for me

    This was the first book by this author for me. I loved it It is a wonderful cozy mystery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Series Does Not Disappoint!

    I've been reading this series about murder and mayhem in the Scottish Highlands for years, and I always look forward to the newest one. It's comforting to return to all the familiar characters and settings - not to mention the apparent propensity for murder in and around Lochdubh, the village where Constable Hamish Macbeth resides. This time Hamish is hot on the trail of someone who has murdered several women, including a "witch" who'd created quite a stir in the area. And once again the red-haired sleuth is fending off both promotion (which would require him to leave Lochdubh) and the wiles of several ladies determined to end his bachelorhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    "Take a trip to Lochdubh"

    Hamish Macbeth comes back from vacation to find that there is a "witch" in town. The men flock to her. What is the witch doing to attract the men? Then, she and another woman are murdered. Are the murders connected?
    This is the first M.C. Beaton book I have read. It took me a few pages to get connect to Hamish. The characters are full of quirks, and the dialogue is in Highland Brogue. I have to admit that the author made me long to go to Scotland to the point that I googled the country.
    My overall description of this book is that it is a one-of-a-kind mystery. It is a fast read. It does not get bogged down in the details like so many other mysteries do. If you want a light mystery, this is a great book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific whodunit

    Death of a Witch<BR/>M.C. Beaton<BR/>Grand Central, Feb 2009, $24.99<BR/>ISBN: 0446196134<BR/><BR/>After heeding the advice of his friend to go abroad on his vacation, police constable Hamish Macbeth returns from a cheap off season holiday in Spain to his home village Lochdubhof in the Scottish Highlands. All he can think of is breathing Scotland¿s air after a boring disappointing trip to the southern part of the Iberian Peninsular.<BR/><BR/>However, in his short time as a stranger in a strange land, Macbeth finds the village males acting even stupider than normal, which in the cop¿s mind would have been impossible as stupid male is an oxymoron. Newcomer Catriona Beldame seems to own the men as if she cast a bewitching spell on them. She sells them elixirs that she claims cure all sorts of sexual malfunctions. Macbeth learns of her dishonest past and warns her if she is peddling illegal concoctions he will get her. Just after Macbeth foolishly in public proclaims he wants to kill the flimflam con artist someone takes his threat to heart killing Beldame and burning down her residence. Knowing Inspector Blair will gleefully make him a prime suspect, Macbeth investigates, but is taken aback by the murders of three more women and a female not under investigation who has him distracted with thoughts of a kiss.<BR/><BR/>The latest Macbeth police procedural (see DEATH OF A GENTLE LADY) is a terrific whodunit as the hero will shock his fans with the key relationship question to ask or not to ask as Hamish meets women who are not suspects. Filled with the usual humor, DEATH OF A WITCH is a delightful Scottish charmer that works on the investigative level as much as on the personal level. M.C. Beaton provides her usual superior tale with the king of obstinacy Macbeth diligently working a homicide while pondering the foreign concept of romantic thoughts.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Recommended

    M. C. Beaton always puts out a good read. I love the way the small backwoods policeman can always outthink the superiors and solve the case. The superiors always get the credit for solving the case when they know that Hamish Mcbeth and his animals have figured it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute

    The backdrop for the story is quaint, but the story itself was a disappointment. Character development, especially the main character, was spotty.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Another Beaton success

    MC Beaton just never disappoints the reader! Death of a Witch keeps you reading well into the night. Worth every minute (and every penney).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Hamish Macbeth strikes again.

    This was a very fast read. Once I started I couldn't hardly put it down! I'm really hooked on the Hamish Macbeth series of books by M.C. Beaton. I'm glad I didn't wait for it to come out in paperback!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2