Customer Reviews for

Death on the Nile: A Hercule Poirot Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Avoid the NOOK book...

    While the story of Death on the Nile is a fanstastic murder mystery and offers us characters worth studying, the NOOK book version is positively littered with spelling and formatting errors. For example, the word "little" appears as "lithe" more times than can be counted. Someone needs to work harder on their transfer process; this is unacceptable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing as always

    Agatha Christie never disappoints. This is probably my favorite book from her. It is well written and enjoyable. It has a great twist and an amazing ending. I would recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Recommend

    What I love about Agatha Christie is the fine development of so many interesting CHARACTERS. Get a bit tired, sometimes, of Poirot's preening, but the story hangs together well. Not sure that ALL the clues were there in the story, but it's a worthwhie and entertaining read, for escapist literature of the period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Slow but good

    The beginning drags on; the exciting part takes a while to get to. This was my first Christie novel and I had just finished it today because of a school reading assignment. This book's victim and murderer are interesting as well as the side crimes. Overall this is a good read excluding the dragging start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good plot, but slow pacing

    This was my first Hercule Poirot mystery, so I wasn't sure what to expect. The first half of the book was setup and seemed to drag a bit, but once the murder actually occurred the investigation and piecing together the evidence was very well-written and had enough twists and turns to keep me guessing until the end. I probably would have given this 4 stars if the setup hadn't taken so long...I much preferred Christie's "And Then there Were None."

    As far as genius detectives go, Hercule Poirot was okay, but I much prefer Sherlock Holmes or Dupin at this point. Poirot is much more kind and personable than either of them, but I find their arrogance or lack of social skills more entertaining. Poirot also frequently uses French phrases which are never translated (I could figure out about 3/4 of them without resorting to a French-English dictionary) and I found this obnoxious rather than endearing.

    Overall: Great plot, mildly interesting main character, overly slow pacing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Agatha Christie, Death on the Nile

    Wealthy, beautiful, and much envied Linnet Doyle travels to Egypt with her husband Simon for their honeymoon. They are mercilessly stalked by the woman Simon jilted to be with Linnet, Jacqueline De Bellefort, who was also Linnet's dear friend. Jacqueline's seething anger towards Linnet and her persistent adoration of Simon quickly set the stage for potential violence. But as one might expect, Christie has peopled the ship they are sailing down the Nile on with many other colorful - and suspicious - characters. Including the famed detective Hercule Poirot.



    My introduction to mysteries long ago came with Arthur Conan Doyle and the tales of Sherlock Holmes, a character who evolved into such a hero of mine that I deliberately avoided the works of other writers of detective fiction and mysteries, including Agatha Christie. In my mid-40s, and I have finally read a Poirot mystery. Regrettable that I waited so long. Not just so because of the pleasure I could have had reading Christie's works years ago, but because at this point in my life, having read and seen so many mysteries inspired by Dame Agatha, I can't help but feel that Death on the Nile was very formulaic. I would likely have enjoyed it much more some 20 years ago, before this approach to mysteries became so overdone and trite. Yet on that account - seeing this as an innovative and even ingenious work for its time - I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2