BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Death without Company (Walt Longmire Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Another Winner

    Like Craig Johnson's first magnificent book -- The Cold Dish -- Death Without Copmany also takes place in scenic Absaroka County and includes the memorable, regular characters of Sheriff Walt Longmire, his friend Henry Standing Bear, his deputy Victoria Moretti, and the standing cast of fascinating Durant residents. But there the resemblance ends. Death Without Company begins with the death in a nursing home of the mysterious Mari Baroja and, from there, the plot goes back 50 years to examine other deaths, brutality, and lots of heartbreak. The contemporary mystery of Mari's death and the 50 year old mystery of her life merge in Walt's mind and in his investigation. As the mystery unfolds -- scene after beautiful scene -- the reader enters a world of abuse, greed, and lifelong love. But the mystery stories are just the beginning for Craig Johnson's perfectly crafted novels. In Death Without Company, he encourages us to think deeply about the issues of aging, family, and friendship. And yet as horrific and profound as many of the scenes in the book are, Johnson also manages to enliven the pages with his characteristic humor thanks, in large part, to the great cast of regular characters (and a few new ones). For those of you who have read The Cold Dish, Death Without Company will not disappoint. And for those of you new to Craig Johnson's books, you're in for a real treat. Written with the skill of a great novelist but without ever sounding pedantic, Johnson manages to combine profound insights into the human condition with a great murder mystery. It is the intelligence of his story-telling that sets Craig Johnson apart from his contemporaries and raises his fiction to the level of fine literature. Always a great read, Death Without Company is a novel that stays with you, heart and soul, for a very long time. And, once again, we are left waiting with anticipation for the next Johnson novel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Fantastic read as usual with a Craig Johnson book!

    Before I finished the first book in the series, I ordered the second. And before I finished the second book, I ordered the third. Now I'm ordering the fourth book. I'm going to hate it when I'm caught up because then I'll have that long wait while Mr. Johnson writes each new book.

    I love these books. The characters are great. The mystery keeps you guessing until the very end. There are lots of twists and turns. And if something happened to someone I love, I'd want Walt Longmire in charge of the case. He's got integrity, he cares and he doesn't give up. I'd want Henry Standing Bear on it too.

    If you haven't read any of Craig Johnson's books, run right out and get one. You'll be really glad you did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Excellent read!

    New characters to go with Walt and his crew. Definitely not a series following a formula. Keeps you wanting to find out what happens. Can't wait to read the next in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    highly recommend

    I am currently reading all of this authors works. Very interesting character in Sherrif Longmire. the author blends the flashbacks into Vietnam into current events in the sherrifs life with great fluidity. I will recommend this series to my friends.

    Paulyboy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    good one

    great as always

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    Death Without Company

    Another great book by this author. Each of his books has a unique story while using the same main characters. You can place yourself in the story as you read along. I have purchased this book for family members and they all love the book. It is particularly representative of a sheriff in Wyoming. Great western theme that people can relate to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    I Love Walt & Henry & Dog...

    This wonderful series, which began with The Cold Dish, has everything. The characters are wonderful and the dialogue is witty, the story line takes unexpected turns and the solutions are never obvious plus there is the desert setting, Indian lore...this is a terrific series and I envy you if you haven't read them yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like Tony Hillerman - You will enjoy Craig Johnson

    Walt Longmire, sheriff in a small county in Wyoming, is proving to be a great character to follow. Both his long time friends and deputies play an integral part in his stories. A questionable death at a small nursing home sets off an unusual chain of happenings that keep you hooked. Another great story from Craig Johnson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Craig Johnson Novel

    Craig Johnson has one of the best voices writing today. Strong, three-dimensional characters, great wit and dry humor, excellent plots and crisp dialog.
    If you're a fan of detective or crime fiction, this is a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Time for some "Binge-Reading" with Longmire!!

    I don't know why it took me three seasons of Longmire on TV before I started reading the novels! People "binge watch" TV series now, and I find myself "binge reading" Craig Johnson's novels. I have read the first three, and am now starting number four. I find them very difficult to put down! An avid mystery reader, I find that many authors have great plots. Craig Johnson has great "place" as well. When he has Walt trampling through the snow, I wind up reaching for an afghan. I feel that I am alongside the characters as they work their way through the crime. What the characters THINK comes through in the novels better than in the series, so I am happily enjoying getting to know them better. These are excellent books! Mr. Johnson, please keep these stories coming!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Love this series.

    I like this book even better than the first one I read in this series. I will certainly try to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Deathshadow

    Im just here to see who you all are

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Fireclaw

    I need a mate

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    To fireclaw

    Im smokseer. Ill be your mate. Do you want kits?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Bronzestar

    Is handsome, caring, kind, wants kits, and wants a mate.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    To bronzestar

    Hi im dawngleam can i be your mate?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    To Coalfire

    It looks like your match, Lynxfire of ThunderClan, is in the second result. Go meet her!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Fireheart

    Gender male personality spunky wants a mate that is caring and wants kits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Another Great Mystery!

    I really enjoyed the second book in the Walt Longmire Mystery series. I watch the show and I always picture the TV characters when I read these books (although the book version of Moretti is MUCH saltier!) This installment brings Longmire to the Durant Home for Assisted Living and his friend, and former sheriff Lucian Connally. Lucian's friend at the home has mysteriously died and what ensues is the opening of a can of worms filled with family ties, and long buried secrets. Walt with help from Moretti, the Ferg, his daughter Cady, and his best friend Cheyenne Henry Standing Bear, must put the pieces of the puzzle together before another murder takes place. Great read and I look forward to reading the next installment in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating Mystery

    Catching up past installments of a series can be fun, especially when it’s written by New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson and it’s the Walt Longmire Mystery Series. In the second book, DEATH WITHOUT COMPANY, readers return to the rugged landscape of Absaroka County, Wyoming. Sheriff Walt Longmire is investigating the death of Mari Baroja, who was found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living. As the story unfolds, Longmire looks into the mysterious woman’s past that goes back 50 years. Connecting the past to the present is the only way Longmire can find the killer. He has the help of his Deputy Victoria Moretti, his best friend Henry Standing Bear, and a new Deputy Santiago Saizarbitoria to search for clues. Johnson has a way of placing the reader in the middle of the action with his vivid descriptions of the landscape. His characters are well-developed but continue to evolve with each installment. They are realistic and likable. The story moves at a steady pace with suspense, mystery and just enough humor sprinkled throughout for a smooth read. In addition, Johnson incorporates the history of Basque sheepherders who settled in Wyoming into the story and how their culture interacted with those residing there. DEATH WITHOUT COMPANY will pull you further into the Longmire series and hold you spellbound as you learn more about the fascinating sheriff and his trusty group of friends. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3