Customer Reviews for

Death's Acre: Inside the Legendary Forensic Lab the Body Farm Where the Dead Do Tell Tales

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Good Read!

    I really enjoyed all the stories of cases and how the body farm came to be. The only thing that I found that I did not like is that I felt that he was repeating himself by stating the same details from previous cases which you already read. I just found that a little annoying and that is the only reason I give it four stars instead of five. Otherwise, I quite enjoyed it. I will check out some other of Dr. Bass's books too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely Interesting

    I've read information on the Body Farm before, but nothing from the man who created and runs the facility. It was interesting to hear the ideas that helped him get things started, and incredibly interesting to read about some of the cases he's worked on and helped to solve. He manages to keep things light hearted, even though the subject matter is anything but. I didn't realize how much work he'd done prior to starting the facility, and all of that was very cool as well. All in all, an engrossing read (no pun intended!) and one I'll definitely recommend to my friends with stronger stomachs :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Good but Repetitive

    Great book and easy gor the laperson to understand. I especially appreciate that it is written as a story rather than a textbook. It is a very entertaining way to learn about forensic criminology. This gives the teader a much more realistic picture of forensics than the popular CSI-type shows today. S. Clanahan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great read

    I loved this book. Great read for someone who wants to go into forensics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    I loved this book!

    I love how they write as if they are talking to you,it's detailed and not stuffed full of terms you don't know! This was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Death's Acre by Dr. Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson The history of t

    Death's Acre by Dr. Bill Bass and Jon Jefferson
    The history of the “Body Farm”. A forensic laboratory that studies human decomposition in various locations and under various conditions. A fascinating look at the events that led up to the creation of the Body Farm. Learn how Patricia Cornwell was instrumental in making that existence public with her Book “The Body Farm”! Remarkable amounts of what we now know about how the human body decomposes have come from this small plot of land. A fascinating read, if maybe not for the faint of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Great Book!

    This is a great book on how anthropologist and criminologist go about their work and daily lives. The cases discussed are very interesting and I would recommend this book for anthropologist majors or anyone interested in physical and forensic anthropology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True Crime/Autobiography/History, it's all here...

    I did not want to put this book down. This is an autobiography of Dr. Bass, a history of the Body Farm and its humble beginnings, and also a chance to see the evolution of forensic anthrolopology. It's interesting to see how these three things fit together.

    The book offers a chance to get inside of the head of a forensic anthropologist and solve, or figure out you just can't solve, some of his cases.

    This book is most definitely not for the squeamish. There are graphic descriptions; however, I didn't think they were too awful graphic. Of course, I've worked in law enforcement for over 10 years, and there isn't much at this point that makes me cringe. Though the descriptions are graphic, you can tell Dr. Bass has great passion for his work, and realizes and respects the importance of his work for humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fascinating and Informative

    I initially became interested in this book after reading The American Way of Death Revisited and Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers. In addition, I watched a television documentary on the Body Farm so naturally I had to have this book.

    I was pleasantly surprised at the quick-paced writing along with the witty style. While some may not view decomposing human bodies as witty (it's not) the balance of humor and seriousness is fine-tuned and works extremely well. It is quite clear through-out the book that Dr. Bill Bass has great respect for the dead coupled with a love of life. Together with journalist Jon Jefferson, Dr. Bass has written a fascinating and informative book that never becomes morbid or trivial.

    The book is not solely focused on the Body Farm, that is, Death's Acre but a wide array of different yet related subjects. Weaved together, it makes an authoritive and compelling journey into a world that most of us will never see except from behind closed lids.

    I hope you find my opinion helpful.

    Michael L. Gooch
    Author of Wingtips with Spurs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    More than you ever wanted to know about blow flies and maggots!

    Many readers might believe that this title would headline a book focused solely on Tennessee's ARF (or Anthropological Research Facility). I certainly hope that they weren't disappointed to discover otherwise. I certainly wasn't.

    In fact, it is much, much more - a poignant autobiography, both professional and personal, of Bill Bass, the Body Farm's celebrated founder; a history of some of the most interesting forensic cases that were the driving force or the raison d'être behind the directions in which Bill Bass's professional life evolved; a celebration of the development of his students and professional colleagues; and, of course, a history of the science of forensic anthropology which, even today, might be considered to be in its infancy and barely out of the nursery.

    As a reader from Southern Ontario, I found it particularly fascinating (and, if I do say so, rewarding) to read of the contribution that Bill Bass and his research made in the pursuit and conviction of Paul Bernardo - the notorious serial rapist and killer of the young St Catharines teenagers, Leslie Mahaffey and Kristen French.

    "Death's Acre" is a compelling story that capably blends science, history, personal accomplishment, poignancy and a hope for the future of the development of forensic pathology. Highly recommended. I've no doubt I'll be looking to read further titles in his "Body Farm" series.

    Paul Weiss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Tyler Morton, p20014215

    In the narrative story, Death's Acre, told by Dr. Bass. Is a book literally about life and death. Though it is a book of humor, suspence, and crime, Dr. Bass gets on a more personnel level, talking about losing what is most important in life. Dr. Bass will capture the hearts of many who read this book. Dr. Bass talked about how to be persistant, and that hard work and perseverence will take you were ever you want to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    wow

    Wow. Realizing that i want to further my career in some criminal history this book definatly set an eye opener out for me. Everything Dr. Bass talks about is so real and all the murders that happen he talks as if they were just committed. This book was such a great book. I enjoyed learning more from what he had to tell us. He has made so much progress and has so many appreciations in people's lives. This book not only made me want a career in criminal justice because i would be dealing with bodies but also living in the same state, and town as he does makes me even prouder to have read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Living near the Body Farm

    I drive by the Body Farm every day. Although you can't see it from the road, you can see the woods in which it lies. Surrounded by only water and a hospital, having a knowledge of it's location may help with the suspense of the book. This book is very interesting and graphic, although funny at times. I think anyone could enjoy this book because it pulls you in with its erie and graphic text by Dr. Bass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    So intriguing

    Dr. Bass has done so many amazing things and trained so many people to do even more. This is one of my favorite books on this field because his writing is so human. Not only Death's Acre a fun read, but truely informative. I read it the first time just after it was published in hard cover and am now reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Interesting Look at the Development of Forensic Science

    This one is on an issue that I love to read about forensic science. Dr. Bass is a forensic anthropologist who started the Body Farm in TN. The Body Farm is how modern law enforcement are able to judge time of death based on all sorts of factors, such as humidity, temperature, bugs, etc., in order to be more scientific. This book tells the story of how he decided to become a forensic anthropologist and how he came up with the idea of the body farm (quite a funny story, look up Colonel Shy (Civil War)). It is amazing to see how so much knowledge can come from such a small spark that burns in the back of someone¿s brain and then stoked to full flame after one experiment. I have previously read a book by one of his students, Kentucky Forensic Anthropologist, Dr. Emily Craig, that was equally as thought provoking and it was nice to see her get a mention in here for the course of study she chose to take (bone differences among the races). Also, Patricia Cornwall was mentioned and did the foreward, due to the research they did for her book named ¿Body Farm¿.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Great book very interesting as well as informational

    This book keeps you interested and glued to the pages from cover to back. I enjoy forensics and anthropology but dont really enjoy reading too much, this book changed that. I found myself unable to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Absolutely Amazing and Informative--Bill Bass is a Genius!

    As a student planning on majoring in Forensic Science when I go to college next fall, this book provided an unusual insider's look into the world of forensic anthropology! Dr. Bass's descriptions of his experiences and cases are so vivid, you would think you were reading a work of fiction. This book confirmed my decision to pursue forensic science, and made me especially fond of forensic anthropology! It is a must-read for all those that might want to pursue a career in this field-highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    I couldn't put it down!

    Dr Bass's life is fascinating and a genius! It's amazing to learn how far we have come in order to break cases that were thought to be unbreakable and/or so bizzare! This is a great book! It's better than 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    Playing With Bones...

    I got this book as a Christmas gift from a friend and I loved it. I am about to head to Mortuary school and this was right up my alley. I loved the details, pictures and the stories that Dr. Bill Bass tells. He is truely a master at what he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    Great book

    Im a Forensic psychologist and this is one of the best non fiction books i have ever read (on this topic).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4