Customer Reviews for

Death's Angel (Lost Angels Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Those of us familiar with this author all wait with baited breat

Those of us familiar with this author all wait with baited breath the next installment of one of HKW's on-going sagas. As always, she's delivered this with a deliciousness all her own... and left us wanting more. The singular thing I can think her works could use are mo...
Those of us familiar with this author all wait with baited breath the next installment of one of HKW's on-going sagas. As always, she's delivered this with a deliciousness all her own... and left us wanting more. The singular thing I can think her works could use are more fans. I've praised her to family, I've praised her to friends. Now, I praise her to amazon. You can not go wrong adding this author to your list of anticipatory releases.

posted by PrettiestThorn on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

There were many things I really liked about Death¿s Angel

Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

There were many things I really liked about Death’s Angel but unfortunately there were some aspects of it that had me pulling my hair out. ~ Under the Covers

Azreal, the once fearsome Archangel of Death, ...
Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

There were many things I really liked about Death’s Angel but unfortunately there were some aspects of it that had me pulling my hair out. ~ Under the Covers

Azreal, the once fearsome Archangel of Death, and now vampire has been looking for his archess for over 2000 years. His brothers Uriel and Gabriel found their archesses’ in quick succession and now only Az and their leader Michael remain without theirs. But when Az see’s Sophie Bryce for the first time he knows he has found the other half of his soul, he just needs to persuade her of that and gain her trust. But, it seems that suddenly it isn’t just archesses being revealed, but many paranormal creatures are coming out of hiding and back into the mortal round, but for what purpose, and what new enemy is now stalking the favoured four archangels?

Gah! I found this book so hard to write a review for and even harder to give an accurate rating. There were many things I really liked about Death’s Angel but unfortunately there were some aspects of it that had me pulling my hair out.

But lets start on a positive note, when I first started reading it completely captivated me, although I haven’t read the previous books in this series it was easy to follow the main story arc. I did think Az had his little oh-woe-is-me-i-am-lord-of-the-night goth teenage girl moments but I liked him and I loved seeing him trying to court Sophie and gain her trust rather then just pouncing.

What started to eat away at my enjoyment was how long it seemed, there was a lot of internal monologuing and not enough romancing and it made it seem like the book went on forever, by the end I sighed with relieve as it was finally over. I don’t think it was over long, I think it was a combination of the writing style which reminded me of Christine Feehan, which means it was a little over blown, wordsy and melodramatic which slowed down the pace of the story.

But, I am still contemplating reading the next one in the series as it ended on such a good cliffhanger, and I may even read the previous books…just not for a while.

*ARC provided by publisher

posted by Under_The_Covers_BookBlog on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Those of us familiar with this author all wait with baited breat

    Those of us familiar with this author all wait with baited breath the next installment of one of HKW's on-going sagas. As always, she's delivered this with a deliciousness all her own... and left us wanting more. The singular thing I can think her works could use are more fans. I've praised her to family, I've praised her to friends. Now, I praise her to amazon. You can not go wrong adding this author to your list of anticipatory releases.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Death's Angel is riveting and attention grabbing from the get go

    Death's Angel is riveting and attention grabbing from the get go. Azreal is the Angel of Death and finally after 2000 years has found his Archess, Sophie. Their love story is, as always with Heather's writing, fast paced and suspenseful at once. I highly recommend this book to any reader looking for a new author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    The THIRD (technically, fourth) book in The Lost Angels Series l

    The THIRD (technically, fourth) book in The Lost Angels Series left me wanting more! I need to know what happens in the next book!! Talk about a cliffhanger! I was waiting for Azrael's story the most, because as the former Angel of Death, he was changed like no other angel. He became the world's first vampire. Who doesn't love a good vampire story? His Archess, Sophie, and her life story left me heartbroken. As a child I was in foster homes, and could relate to the feeling of loneliness. I am BEYOND grateful that I didn't have to endur all the horrible things that she did. As Sophie and Azrael learn to battle their inner demons, we're introduced to more mystical creatures. Dragons and Phantoms and Incubi (Nightmares), I was really thrown for a loop. But it was a good, fast moving upside down and spiraly kind of loop. :) I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read... but highly recommend that you read the other books in this series first. Warrior's Angel needs to hurry up and get here!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Definitely worth waiting for! I haven't even gotten through the

    Definitely worth waiting for! I haven't even gotten through the entire book and already am loving it! It follows the previous books seamlessly as well as stays true to the authors writing style. Anyone looking for a new author will definitely enjoy any of Heather's books, especially this original plot line story! Will be back to review more once I finish! Thanks Heather for another great one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Five stars is merely NOT enough to rate this book! I have been w

    Five stars is merely NOT enough to rate this book!
    I have been waiting and anticipating Death's Angel for months and words fail me to describe how delicious this book is. Attention grabbing, loaded suspense, creative storyline & plotting, unforgettable & darkly & dangerously delicious characters are but a few of the description I could conjure up. Heather is a brilliant author that never seizes to deliver! Death's Angel is a riveting and passionate love story. A love so strong that it crosses the boundaries of everything. Azreal, the Angel of Death has searched for over 2000 years for his beloved Archess, Sophie. But before Azreal can claim his Archess, he must go through the darkness battling the many dangers that threatens their love. I highly recommend Death's Angel. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat and all night up. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Everything you'd want in a romance novel

    This was a great story. Having followed this series from the begining, I was very happy to see this book was as good as the others. There was a lot of introductions to new charactors and creatures in this one, which i assumed was to give some extra plot points to the next installment. While I love the Archangels, I also love the villians and find myself hoping Sam finds a happy ending as well as the new bad guy. I recommend you start at the beginning of the series to get all of the book, but it can easily be read as a stand alone too:) Couldnt put it down:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I really love where Heather Killough-Walden is taking her Lost A

    I really love where Heather Killough-Walden is taking her Lost Angels! I read in 5 hours. She builds her characters up and really makes you want to know what will happen to them. I can't wait to read more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There were many things I really liked about Death¿s Angel

    Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    There were many things I really liked about Death’s Angel but unfortunately there were some aspects of it that had me pulling my hair out. ~ Under the Covers

    Azreal, the once fearsome Archangel of Death, and now vampire has been looking for his archess for over 2000 years. His brothers Uriel and Gabriel found their archesses’ in quick succession and now only Az and their leader Michael remain without theirs. But when Az see’s Sophie Bryce for the first time he knows he has found the other half of his soul, he just needs to persuade her of that and gain her trust. But, it seems that suddenly it isn’t just archesses being revealed, but many paranormal creatures are coming out of hiding and back into the mortal round, but for what purpose, and what new enemy is now stalking the favoured four archangels?

    Gah! I found this book so hard to write a review for and even harder to give an accurate rating. There were many things I really liked about <i>Death’s Angel</i> but unfortunately there were some aspects of it that had me pulling my hair out.

    But lets start on a positive note, when I first started reading it completely captivated me, although I haven’t read the previous books in this series it was easy to follow the main story arc. I did think Az had his little oh-woe-is-me-i-am-lord-of-the-night goth teenage girl moments but I liked him and I loved seeing him trying to court Sophie and gain her trust rather then just pouncing.

    What started to eat away at my enjoyment was how long it seemed, there was a lot of internal monologuing and not enough romancing and it made it seem like the book went on forever, by the end I sighed with relieve as it was finally over. I don’t think it was over long, I think it was a combination of the writing style which reminded me of Christine Feehan, which means it was a little over blown, wordsy and melodramatic which slowed down the pace of the story.

    But, I am still contemplating reading the next one in the series as it ended on such a good cliffhanger, and I may even read the previous books…just not for a while.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Death's Angel, book 3 in The Lost Angels series by Heather Killo

    Death's Angel, book 3 in The Lost Angels series by Heather Killough-Walden is Az's story!

    The book was absolutely fabulous!!!! Emotionally, I feel like I've been put through a wringer but jeez, it was SO worth it!!!

    Heather has outdone herself! I thought hard about what to put in my review but nothing I write is gonna do the book justice!!
    Death's Angel is definitely a 5 star read!!!

    All I can urge you to do is read it, it's the best book of the series so far....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    I really liked Death¿s Angel. I give it 4.5 stars instead of 5

    I really liked Death’s Angel. I give it 4.5 stars instead of 5 only because of all the Lost Angels books; this one wasn’t quite as captivating as the rest to me. I fell for Azrael during the first two books in the series. So I was excited when I learned that he would finally get his own story in book 3. Death’s Angel did not disappoint. Who knew that not only was he a charismatic vampire but a softy too. While reading I felt like I was in his head, experiencing his conflicting emotions. Fighting the monster the vampire side wanted him to be while still showing Sophie compassion and love. I also loved all the new characters and supernatural beings introduced in Death’s Angel. It gives the Lost Angels series so many possibilities for future books. I also really enjoyed how Death’s Angel ends. I loved how it leaves me wanting more, but that also means that I have to wait for Michael’s story in Warrior’s Angel. Hopefully the wait won’t be too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Can not wait for next book.Not even a hint of when to look!

    Really have enjoyed this series of books. I now look for and read all books by this great aurthor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Sexy and exciting!

    Az's story at last, and well worth the wait! My favorite of the Angel series so far. Tense and sexy from the first page to the last. Very well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Fantastic

    Loved this book. Enjoyed the added new struggle for the heros and heroines. Look forward to the next book. Hope the wait is not too long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heather You have DONE IT AGAIN. This to Heather's Fans com

    Heather You have DONE IT AGAIN. This to Heather's Fans comes as no surprise Death's Angel (Azreal&quot;s Story) Was kick ass. So many things going on and there's a love story with plenty of problems. Not to mention all the side drama. This is the fastest pace and most revealing books about the Angels I think. Great job and I wanted to add more stars because they only have five * * * * * * * * * * *. Maryanne Harris

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Awesome!

    I couldn't have asked for such a riviting book in a series. The plot continues to thicken and gives us a wonderful look into the next one. I dont want to give spoilers so please just start the series and you won't regret it. Thank you Heather for another wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Love, Love, Loved it!

    I have been a Lost Angels fan from the beginning and this is the best one of the series so far! At no point did the story lag or lose my interest. It wasn't too short or too long. The twists and turns were excellently executed, and as always with Heather Killough-Walden, leave you wanting more. Would highly recommend this series (as well as the Big Bad Wolf and The Kings series) and especially this book. Cheers to Killough-Walden!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Incredible!

    I finished this book in about 2 days...it took me so long because I have a job and family! This one was the best so far! I absolutely love the dynamics between the light and dark that Heather incorparates within Az and then between Az and Sophie. I also love how the drama is building, leading to something that is ultimately going to be a fantastic finale! Heather is amazing at releasing bits and pieces of the puzzle, just enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Can not wait until Michael's story comes out!!
    Absolute must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Death's Angel is the third in HKW's Lost Angels series. The seri

    Death's Angel is the third in HKW's Lost Angels series. The series tells the stories of the 4 favored archangels as they begin to find the archesses that had been promised to them thousands of years ago. Each couple goes through their own troubles and tribulations as they find their own way to true love with their soul mates. Death's Angel is Azrael's and Sophie's story. The beginning of the book is a build-up to the ending which had me riveted to my seat. For some, the beginning can seem a bit slow as HKW does what she is known for and provides all of the details and builds the relationship of the two main characters, but believe me, it is well worth the time to learn about all of the players and their impact on the future of this couple. Az is the angel of death and the first vampire, and in this book we are introduced to some of his vampires. It helps to show Az as a &quot;person&quot;, his caring side. We also get to see the struggle with Sophie as she deals with jealousy and the feelings of inadequacy and the fears of being left behind.

    After reading this book, I am anxiously awaiting the 4th book in the series. If you haven't read the first two books, make sure to pick them up along with Death's Angel, because you aren't going to want to miss a moment of this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Cannot wait until the next one.

    Cannot wait until the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    A must read series for everyone.

    A must read series for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3