Customer Reviews for

Death's Daughter (Calliope Reaper-Jones Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What a hoot!

I confess, I only picked up this book because of the author and her Buffy the Vampire Slayer fame. Hey, not much monetarily to try a new author right? Boy was I surprised. This book was so well written, so hilarious and so enjoyable I have already reccommended it to ...
I confess, I only picked up this book because of the author and her Buffy the Vampire Slayer fame. Hey, not much monetarily to try a new author right? Boy was I surprised. This book was so well written, so hilarious and so enjoyable I have already reccommended it to several other people. My roommate is on the couch right now reading it and I keep hearing bursts of hysterical laughter drifting back to me. It was nice that so many Gods and Goddesses from various religions were mentioned but not harped upon. It was left open for possible sequels and I am definately keeping my fingers crossed that Ms. Benson decides to continue this character as a series. Not since Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich series) or Betsy Taylor-Sinclair (Mary Janice Davidson series) have I enjoyed a character based humor/human adventure story so much!

posted by AZTorey on March 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was really hoping to like this but...

I was really hoping to like this but I didn't. I really admire Amber Benson. She is a talented actress and seems to be a great a person. (I know people who have seen her at various conventions and they say she is very friendly to fans.) I have not read her comic books o...
I was really hoping to like this but I didn't. I really admire Amber Benson. She is a talented actress and seems to be a great a person. (I know people who have seen her at various conventions and they say she is very friendly to fans.) I have not read her comic books or other writhing but this series doesn't make me want to.

First the character is one we have seen a lot of in the past few years. I blame "Sex and the City" for that. Second the story kind of wanders around and doesn't really hang together.

Not that this is a bad book -- it is a quick read and I would suggest it for a beach or vacation to pass the time. I just wouldn't put it in my library or expect I would want to read it over again.

posted by 757927 on April 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I was really hoping to like this but...

    I was really hoping to like this but I didn't. I really admire Amber Benson. She is a talented actress and seems to be a great a person. (I know people who have seen her at various conventions and they say she is very friendly to fans.) I have not read her comic books or other writhing but this series doesn't make me want to.

    First the character is one we have seen a lot of in the past few years. I blame "Sex and the City" for that. Second the story kind of wanders around and doesn't really hang together.

    Not that this is a bad book -- it is a quick read and I would suggest it for a beach or vacation to pass the time. I just wouldn't put it in my library or expect I would want to read it over again.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a hoot!

    I confess, I only picked up this book because of the author and her Buffy the Vampire Slayer fame. Hey, not much monetarily to try a new author right? Boy was I surprised. This book was so well written, so hilarious and so enjoyable I have already reccommended it to several other people. My roommate is on the couch right now reading it and I keep hearing bursts of hysterical laughter drifting back to me. It was nice that so many Gods and Goddesses from various religions were mentioned but not harped upon. It was left open for possible sequels and I am definately keeping my fingers crossed that Ms. Benson decides to continue this character as a series. Not since Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich series) or Betsy Taylor-Sinclair (Mary Janice Davidson series) have I enjoyed a character based humor/human adventure story so much!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an amusing action-packed chick lit urban fantasy

    She works in a dead end job because her boss relies on her so much she refuses to promote Calliope Reaper-Jones. She lives in New York, which is in her blood as a fashionista, but has not had a real date in months. One day on her way to work, Calliope sees a dinosaur-dragon who guards her building¿s door. At work, she goes to the bathroom where she meets a faun who breaks the forget-me spell leading to Calliope realizing who she is and what her family heritage is.<BR/><BR/>She is her daddy¿s daughter so handles well the news from her father¿s assistant the faun Jarvis that her sire, her sister Thalia and the rest of Death, Inc has been kidnapped. At her mother¿s request, Calliope returns home to see Sea Verge. She learns her family will be evicted from their home if Callie fails to become the Grim Reaper. To make the conversion to CEO, she must perform three tasks to determine her worthiness. First she must capture one of Cerberus¿ pups. Second she must find the Sea Foam from Indra a Hindu God who wants to kill the demon Vrita and find the Cup of Lamshid. Challenging her is Daniel who wants to be the next Death and Detective Davenport of the Psychic Bureau of Investigation who believes she was part of the kidnapping plot of her dad. If she succeeds and becomes Death, Callie knows this does not guarantee she will be able to rescue her father.<BR/><BR/>Leaving Buffy behind, Amber Benson writes an amusing action-packed chick lit urban fantasy loaded with more twists and curves than a twist-a-whirl. The heroine does not want to be the next Death as that might interfere with her nails and what she seeks on Craig¿s List, but knows her choices are limited to either death or Death. Filled with humor and wit, this is a refreshing original thriller as double, triple, and nth crossings are the norm.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Atypical Urban Fantasy

    The most refreshing thing about this heroine is that she isn't the Tough Independent Chick of almost every other Urban Fantasy book on the shelves. Calliope (aside from having one of the coolest names ever) is definitely whiny, irritating, co-dependent, and oddly sympathetic. Truly someone thrust in over their heads as her father - The Grim Reaper - is kidnapped and finds out she alone is the sole inheritor of his position.

    The catch is if she doesn't take it then someone else does, and her family becomes mortal. Which is exactly what Calliope wouldn't mind happening and exactly what everyone else doesn't want.

    Add in the Devil's protege, a good dose of Indian myth (Kali is an excellent character here), and one of Cerebus' pups and there's a good set of people who are more competent (and possibly determined) than Calliope herself.

    As Calliope attempts to complete the tasks put forth before her to gain her father's mantle, in order to keep her family in the Death Business and hopefully save him in the bargain, she is helped and hindered by a colorful cast. By the end it's hard to decide if I want to slap the girl, or cheer her on.

    The downside is the that it takes nearly half the book for things to really pick up and grab the reader. The first half plods along, I found myself following less with a sense of wonder and more with a sense of wondering how Calliope is going to screw up next or what she'll find to whine about this time. By the second half the book finally grabbed me by the collar and dragged me in a headlong rush to the conclusion. Overall, it's worth the wait to get to, and I do so like our protagonist by the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I really wanted to like this one, but I just couldn't. I didn't

    I really wanted to like this one, but I just couldn't. I didn't like the main character Calliope Reaper-Jones. I didn't like how she treated her family, her attitude toward the current crisis, her apparent lust over every male character, her persistent use of the word &quot;like&quot; and the constant wining.

    I also found her complete lack of knowledge regarding the pantheon of gods to be unrealistic. She grew up in Death's house, around other supernaturals. Even with a disinterest in her heritage, she would have absorbed some knowledge.

    It's sad, because the plot itself was pretty well thought out, with unexpected twists. The main character just ruined it for me. I will not be reading the next one.

    **Originally posted on goodreads

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    I think the book amazing I love how I can't put it down and whe

    I think the book amazing I love how I can't put it down and when I look at the clock its like 12 then all of sudden it 4 . now that a great book .. and I'm one that don't like reading .but amber Benson books are so amazing and she makes it easy in a way to read them they way she puts it in first and third person view I just feels like she there with you tell you the story thanks amber 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    A fun read

    Thoroughly enjoyed Death's Daughter. I loved getting to know the characters and look forward to seeing what happens in the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Confusing plot and whiney character

    not very good

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Highly entertaining

    Three years ago Calliope Reaper-Jones put herself under a nice and comforting forgetting spell. Gone were the days of dealing with the craziness of the family business, Death, Inc. All Callie had to worry about now was finding the perfect man on Craig's List and finding organic dim sum for her boss.

    One bite of an organic cupcake later and Callie is right back in the middle of the family drama. Her father's right hand man, Jarvis, has come to notify Callie that her father and older sister have been kidnapped. Callie being next in line must assume the role of Death or her family losses their immortality. But it's not as simple as being the second oldest, Callie has to complete three tasks in order to take the reins and she has a competitor for the job... the devil's incredibly "hot" and irresistible prot&#233;g&#233;.

    I got a total kick out of this book. It's very different from the usual fantasy/paranormal story lines and it was funny to boot. Among the characters Callie had to face off against were, a psychical detective, an evil sea monster, a bitter Goddess and the devil himself.

    This was the first of a new series featuring Callie. It was a faced paced read and I look forward to many more books in this series. Highly recommended for urban fantasy or supernatural fiction lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    different

    I have been reading alot of series and while waiting this looked interesting..starts off good-drags a little and too many characters but I will read the next if it is written..not too explicent but for those of us that like heavy books (think Black Dagger Brotherhood) this is very lite reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    I'm not going to lie, I read this because I loved Amber Benson o

    I'm not going to lie, I read this because I loved Amber Benson on Buffy as Tara. I balled on her last episode.

    I finished this because she's hilarious. The story was good and fast-paced and the characters were very likable. The writing is so funny. You're in the main character's head and she is awesome. 

    A couple quotes: 

    “Clio had said that doing magic was like baking a cake. I could bake a cake-at least, the kind that came out of a box-so I could do magic, right?” pg 141

    “As I stepped outside the pavilion, something strange happened…I lost control of Indra’s body-ending my one and only chance to discover what the heck was so great about owning a penis.” pg 157

    Mr. Sex on a Stick. The end. lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Piers Anthony- Incarnation of Immortality

    Incarnation of Immortality series. If you liked that series thirty years ago, you will probobly like these. Light, fun, one sitting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Angel

    *smiles back*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Bad characters

    Disliked the main character

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Meh

    I read all of these books because the story line was so interesting. I found the heroine, however, to be pretty annoying "like, Jimmy Choo, like gross, like chanel perfume, like gotta go designer shopping, like going to hell always ruins my shoes." Once you look past the annoying way Calliope speaks and thinks the story is really pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Horrible

    If I could give this less than 1star I would. Total waste of my money, and more importantly, my time. Characters were characteriatures and the plot, which I figured out the second or third chapter didn't hang together. I don't normally write bad reviews but felt I had to balance the record here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent characters & world, but an okay story

    When a Forgetting Charm is needed to have a normal life, obviously Calliope should know better than to believe "normal" would last forever. Family always keep track of their own - and when Death gets kidnapped and you happen to be the daughter of Death, be sure that the higher beings will come to fetch Calliope to take over the business until her dad is found. But taking over is no easy matter - Calliope must complete three tasks to prove her worth, or else forfeit to the Devil's protégé who may not have Death's best interest.

    I enjoyed death's daughter, but I didn't totally fall in love with it. I could not quite grasp Callie as a person - what made her tick, why she insisted on a "normal" life, what motivates her to exist, anything beyond the here and now of her predicament. That said, I loved the world that Amber Benson built for Calliope to discover. There is a richness that leads to many possibilities and quirks that I cannot wait to see what is in store for Calliope! The quest-like nature of death's daughter sometimes feels slow, but it does pull every random thread together into one big finale where all the wolves in sheeps' clothing finally get unmasked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    a good read

    enjiyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Give This Series A Chance And It Will Hook You

    I loved both Death's Daughter and Cat's Claw by Amber Benson. She has created a very engaging and very human protagonist whom she has thrust into a detailed and well thought out fantasy adventure series. I eagerly look forward to reading the next book when it comes out on e-books so I can read on my Nook (as I have foresworn buying anymore paper books to clutter up my limited shelf-space).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Death's daughter

    I really enjoyed this book. It was funny and entertaining and the plot was good. I would recoomend this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3