Customer Reviews for

Death's Excellent Vacation

Average Rating 3.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

This is a fun thirteen short story fantasy collection

This is a fun thirteen fantasy collection in which the paranormal go on vacations and have holidays that make the Griswold family and Monsieur Hulot seem tame. "Two Blondes" (by Charlaine Harris) Pam and Sookie go to a not so gentleman's club in Mississippi for the wee...
This is a fun thirteen fantasy collection in which the paranormal go on vacations and have holidays that make the Griswold family and Monsieur Hulot seem tame. "Two Blondes" (by Charlaine Harris) Pam and Sookie go to a not so gentleman's club in Mississippi for the weekend. Jim the demon (see Aisling Gray) heads to Paris for a good time but runs into "The Perils of Effrijim" by Katie MacAlister. The eight immortals get together as "The Boys Go Fishing" by Sarah Smith, but conclude drinking tea is easier. In "One for the Money" by Jeaniene Frost, hitmen Cat and Bones find their vacation interrupted protecting an heiress when the former's mom arrives. You can't go home if you want time out as affirmed by Toni L.P. Kelner in "Pirate Dave's Haunted Amusement Park", "The Demon in the Dunes" by Chris Grabenstein and "Home From America" by Sharan Newman. Readers will enjoy the amusing vacations of the supernatural as whether it is Bermuda (Lilith Saintcrow's "The Heart Is Always Right") or Port Arthur ("Seeing is Believing" by L.A. Banks), fans will want to accompany the paranormal when they go on Death's Excellent Vacation tours.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing...I should have known

Ok I read the reviews before I started this book so I knew that some didnt like it. I am a big Jeaniene Frost and Charlaine Harris fan so I figured I couldnt go wrong. Well it did, in fact if I could get my money back I would have. The ONLY good one in this book was ...
Ok I read the reviews before I started this book so I knew that some didnt like it. I am a big Jeaniene Frost and Charlaine Harris fan so I figured I couldnt go wrong. Well it did, in fact if I could get my money back I would have. The ONLY good one in this book was the Cat and Bones story the rest were all very boring. There was a story on fish people I also found humorous but nothing to write home about. My recommendation on this is to walk into the bookstore read the Jeaniene Frost story then go about you business and save yourself the money and time.

posted by Cris_Thinks on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fun thirteen short story fantasy collection

    This is a fun thirteen fantasy collection in which the paranormal go on vacations and have holidays that make the Griswold family and Monsieur Hulot seem tame. "Two Blondes" (by Charlaine Harris) Pam and Sookie go to a not so gentleman's club in Mississippi for the weekend. Jim the demon (see Aisling Gray) heads to Paris for a good time but runs into "The Perils of Effrijim" by Katie MacAlister. The eight immortals get together as "The Boys Go Fishing" by Sarah Smith, but conclude drinking tea is easier. In "One for the Money" by Jeaniene Frost, hitmen Cat and Bones find their vacation interrupted protecting an heiress when the former's mom arrives. You can't go home if you want time out as affirmed by Toni L.P. Kelner in "Pirate Dave's Haunted Amusement Park", "The Demon in the Dunes" by Chris Grabenstein and "Home From America" by Sharan Newman. Readers will enjoy the amusing vacations of the supernatural as whether it is Bermuda (Lilith Saintcrow's "The Heart Is Always Right") or Port Arthur ("Seeing is Believing" by L.A. Banks), fans will want to accompany the paranormal when they go on Death's Excellent Vacation tours.

    Harriet Klausner

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing! Only 2 Stories Worth Reading!

    Very Disappointing! Only 2 Stories Worth Reading!

    Death's Excellent Vacation was a major let down. It has 13 short stories in it, but only 2 of the stories where worth reading. I recommend just going into the bookstore and reading the stories you want instead of purchasing this title.

    I am a fan of Jeanniene Frost; with her "Night Huntress Series" and Katie MacAlister; with her "Aisling Grey, Guardian Series". The two stories I enjoyed the most and recommend reading are the Bones & Cat short story "One for the Money" & Katie MacAlister "The Perils of Effrijim". It would be better if thesis author's put their short stories out on there on instead of in this 13 story book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing...I should have known

    Ok I read the reviews before I started this book so I knew that some didnt like it. I am a big Jeaniene Frost and Charlaine Harris fan so I figured I couldnt go wrong. Well it did, in fact if I could get my money back I would have. The ONLY good one in this book was the Cat and Bones story the rest were all very boring. There was a story on fish people I also found humorous but nothing to write home about. My recommendation on this is to walk into the bookstore read the Jeaniene Frost story then go about you business and save yourself the money and time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    I will NOT pay $18.99 for an eBook - especially when many review

    I will NOT pay $18.99 for an eBook - especially when many reviewers liked only of a couple of the stories. I would like to know whether the authors get paid generously or whether the greedy publishers keep most of the profits.
    a senior citizen

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Wow

    I would never pay this much for a book that I could get for half that price. Expecialy for a paper back that sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    Not great

    I have to say that if it wasn't for the Jeaniene Frost story this book would have been a total complete let down. Most of the stories I just skimmed through, some I read a few pages and just gave up and moved on to the next story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Check this out!

    I bought this book for the short stories by Charlaine Harris and Jeaniene Frost, read those really fast and were really good! The other short stories made me want to check out some of the other authors books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Good read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Only 2 stories really stuck out for me

    I'm a huge fan of Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse books. This book of collections wasn't my favorite, as I had a hard time finishing many of the stories, but it did introduce me to a fantastic series by Jeanniene Frost (Night Huntress Series).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Love any thing that has these authors in it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Not the best

    Was ok but not great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13