Customer Reviews for

Death's Mistress (Dorina Basarab Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Exciting!

As a Karen Chance fan and follower of her Cassandra Palmer series, I absolutely loved this book. Dorina is definitely a heroine worthy of the title. Karen Chance has given us a strong willed heroine to fall in love with. This series is so much fun to read. It will m...
As a Karen Chance fan and follower of her Cassandra Palmer series, I absolutely loved this book. Dorina is definitely a heroine worthy of the title. Karen Chance has given us a strong willed heroine to fall in love with. This series is so much fun to read. It will make you laugh, make you hot, make you love, and thrill your pants off.

Karen Chance knows how to work a mystery and take you on a wild ride while solving it.

If you follow her Cassandra Palmer series, this book gives you lots of wonderful insight into a major player in the Cassie series. You don't want to miss reading this one.

posted by Charis_Elpis on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Death's Mistress Alternately Fizzles and Flares (literally, in some cases)

Dorina Basarab is dhamphir, half-vampire, half-human, a berserker who polices/executes misbegotten vampires (while she may consider that all of them, it's actually only revenants, vampires who didn't make it through the change correctly). Karen Chance is known for great...
Dorina Basarab is dhamphir, half-vampire, half-human, a berserker who polices/executes misbegotten vampires (while she may consider that all of them, it's actually only revenants, vampires who didn't make it through the change correctly). Karen Chance is known for great action scenes. This book has a couple of over-the-top action scenes that, while original and humorous become, frankly, exhausting.

Louis-Cesare, her aristocratic French vampire love interest, returns here accused of murdering the vampire who is holding his former mistress Christine. Also appearing is Radu, Louis-Cesare's maker and Dorina's uncle. Radu is always amusing. Christine is an interesting plot device with a twist. Dorina's sidekick-in-a-bag is an absolute joy...whoever said that tertiary characters couldn't be fun? Louis-Cesare, in my mind, comes across as rather flat in this installment, though he was well-developed in the first book. Dorina, while still fun, is also a bit flat. Perhaps it is the lack of madness that's a problem (or perhaps it's the unexplored explanation for why her fits are gone). Or perhaps it's that I was looking forward to a bit more of the passionate, creative romance scenes that Ms. Chance does so very well.

Dorina's father, vampire Senator Mircea, has been given many, many pages in the Cassie Palmer novels, but in Death's Mistress, the passages regarding his attempts to build a better relationship with his daughter are well executed and quite touching.

I was slightly disappointed by this book, but then I adored Midnight's Daughter, the first installment. Still, it's an entertaining romp, and I look forward to the next one.

posted by HillaryJ on February 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Death's Mistress Alternately Fizzles and Flares (literally, in some cases)

    Dorina Basarab is dhamphir, half-vampire, half-human, a berserker who polices/executes misbegotten vampires (while she may consider that all of them, it's actually only revenants, vampires who didn't make it through the change correctly). Karen Chance is known for great action scenes. This book has a couple of over-the-top action scenes that, while original and humorous become, frankly, exhausting.

    Louis-Cesare, her aristocratic French vampire love interest, returns here accused of murdering the vampire who is holding his former mistress Christine. Also appearing is Radu, Louis-Cesare's maker and Dorina's uncle. Radu is always amusing. Christine is an interesting plot device with a twist. Dorina's sidekick-in-a-bag is an absolute joy...whoever said that tertiary characters couldn't be fun? Louis-Cesare, in my mind, comes across as rather flat in this installment, though he was well-developed in the first book. Dorina, while still fun, is also a bit flat. Perhaps it is the lack of madness that's a problem (or perhaps it's the unexplored explanation for why her fits are gone). Or perhaps it's that I was looking forward to a bit more of the passionate, creative romance scenes that Ms. Chance does so very well.

    Dorina's father, vampire Senator Mircea, has been given many, many pages in the Cassie Palmer novels, but in Death's Mistress, the passages regarding his attempts to build a better relationship with his daughter are well executed and quite touching.

    I was slightly disappointed by this book, but then I adored Midnight's Daughter, the first installment. Still, it's an entertaining romp, and I look forward to the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dhampir for Hire..

    Since this book has already been thoroughly reviewed, my review will be brief. I strongly recommend you read the previous book Midnight's Daughter before reading this book.

    Dorina Basarab is back and to be honest, because of the big time gap from the previous book to this release, I had forgotten how much I enjoyed Midnight's Daughter. My love for Dory has been rekindled.

    However, I do have a few complaints. In this installment, Dory's strength seems as weak as a babe and her power seems to be nonexistent. Judging her reaction to some of the situations she lands in, most of the times I wondered what happened to the kick-butt heroine from Midnight's Daughter. She exhibited a lot of cowering with fear and terror, made countless stupid tactical errors and rarely seemed to understand the big picture of the happenings around herself, until the last minute.

    Even though this book supposedly centers around Dory, to be honest, if she was never in her own book, the story would've continued just fine without her. She just really seemed to be given purpose by being pushed, led astray or following the problem others. She hardly ever seemed to have her own agenda, but kinda just stumbled upon or got dragged into someone else's mess. Although she has matured a bit from her character in the previous installment and is less reckless; I found myself wondering why Dory was in this installment at all.

    Besides the negatives in my review, I really did enjoy this book. I found it to be highly entertaining, action-packed with nail biting suspense and danger. Dory's chemistry with the supporting characters was flawless and the world building imaginative. This book had many sections that were so interesting and intense, I could hardly put it down. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I have now added Karen Chance's Cassandra Palmer Series to my reading list.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to book 3.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Exciting!

    As a Karen Chance fan and follower of her Cassandra Palmer series, I absolutely loved this book. Dorina is definitely a heroine worthy of the title. Karen Chance has given us a strong willed heroine to fall in love with. This series is so much fun to read. It will make you laugh, make you hot, make you love, and thrill your pants off.

    Karen Chance knows how to work a mystery and take you on a wild ride while solving it.

    If you follow her Cassandra Palmer series, this book gives you lots of wonderful insight into a major player in the Cassie series. You don't want to miss reading this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Stuck between 3 and 4 stars on this one. Really good character development with Dory, Mircea, and Louis-Caesar. Again, I felt like there was a lot going on. Both the books in this series have a had a heavy fey component involving Dory's friend and sometime roommate Claire... which is OK. However, with as much as the plot being dependent on this I find it odd that Claire basically pops up at the beginning and the end and is absent throughout the entire middle of the book. Same for Louis-Caesar who pops up throughout the book but not nearly as often as I would like, since their dynamic is one of my favorite components. The majority of the book is basically Dory running around questioning 'people', trying to put clues together, and going a little overboard with the descriptions. (Case-in-point: That whole scene/chapter where we learned about ley-line racing. Not really relevant to the story, and I don't really care that much. Get to the point) So to summarize: I enjoyed reading it, I would recommend it to fans of the Cassie Palmer series, but some of my complaints regarding writing style with the Cassie Palmer series are consistently carried out in this series as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the Chance

    The first time I ran across Karen Chance, I had just finished the latest in books in 3 popular vampire series: Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Mysteries (TrueBlood/Sookie); PC & Kristen Cast's House of Night, and of course Stephenie Meyer's Twilight. I was looking for something to fill the void while waiting for the newest installments of the series and I was looking for something that I hadn't heard of before since what I had been reading had been so mainstream and decided to take the chance (no pun intended). I first read from her Cassie Palmer series, it seemed a little slow but quickly I devoured all that were out and hungry for more. This book follows her same understated pattern. But with a little more bite. Its filled with so much detail that it seems like all that's going on is background and scenery but all too quickly you are left thirsty for more. I love that she uses shady characters that actually existed and gives a background that seems like these could be the lives they may have chosen for themselves. Also, the two series (Cassie Palmer & Dorina Basarab) intertwining so delicately so far makes me excited to see how they will fill grow and bump into eachother in the future. I am anxiously awaiting the next installments in both series!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sucker for the ending

    Call me a sucker. but I was really happy with the ending of this book. So much of the book was Dory being confused about her father and Louie-Cesare that I was glad something actually worked out for her. I cannot wait for the next book. I really want Cassie and Dory to meet (watching Mircea squirm around the women in his life will be very amusing).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Pretty entertaining

    I like this series: fun, lots of action

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Great Read!!!

    This book is amazing! It is worth the money and worth rereading! I highly recommend this series and can't wait to see if Karen Chance will come out with another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Will there ever be another?

    Karen Chance always produces great stuff. The downside is the lojg wait times between books, especially this one and hee Cassandra series. Still I shouldnt complain. She always delivers a tale worth waiting for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    smashing hit!

    I really love how Karen Chance's mind works. She has a fantastic imagination. This Book was another awesome hit for Karen! Dorinda is a great heroine! I couldn't stop reading it until the end!! Can't wait for her next book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    One of those that pulls you in and doesnt let you go.

    As a fan of Chance's Palmer series I love how this one ties in with the other showing a completely new side to characters I already adore. It grips you tightly and its another one of Chance's books that when I finally put it down I realize that the day is gone and was sad to think that I'd have to wait for the next one to come out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Great Read.

    Another great series by Karen Chance. I really enjoyed this book on the further adventures of Dorina. Very well written. Can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced and funny.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Death's Mistress. The action was fantastic. It was fast paced and even the dialogue was entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great new series

    I really love how this series overlaps somewhat with the Cassandra Palmer series. It just touches on the same characters and it gives a fuller view of that side of the series. The characters draw you in and if you read the other series you are already famaliar with many of the characters but they are now fleshed out. I enjoy this series and eagerly await the next in both series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    This is the second book so make sure you read MIDNIGHTS DAUGHTER first!! The author put in a plot that can keep you guessing with some humor weaved into the stories characters. So if you enjoy a great read with a female character that can kick some serious butt (all kinds) then Dory's story is the one you will enjoy!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Unbelievably Good

    I can only assume that the reviewer "kitkat3ny" either A) read a different book than I did or B) has some kind of vendetta against the author. Because Dory is one kick butt heroine who was definitely the driving force of this book. By cowardly, I can only assume the reviewer is referring to the fact that she has realistic feelings and isn't a comic book type hero who venures in where angels fear to tread (although she does that a lot, actually) and never gives a moment's thought to the consequences. Dory knows some of the things she's doing are crazy dangerous, but she does them anyway because people she loves are counting on her. That's real bravery in my book. As you can tell, I loved the book, loved the heroine and love this series. I can't wait for book 3! Oh, and Ray? Gets my vote for funniest damn sidekick ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Exceptional!

    Loved this book. I think I liked it better than last one. Loved the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Vamps, Fae, and Magic...

    In the second book to the series by Karen Chance, Dorina has to help out her Family and friend Claire. In the past couple months Louis-Cesare has disappeared, Claire hasn't been by and Dory has been taking jobs from the Senate/Mircea. When Claire shows up in a unique form with something on her hip, Dory must find a way to help her friend. Then while she is on a job for her father Dory runs into the one man she can't get off her mind, except Louis-Cesare gets away, but for how long? After some events unfold Dory teams up with Louis-Cesare to find his old Mistress and a rune, but along the way Masters are dying, and all evidence points to Louis-Cesare. Now Dory has to find a way to help, because though Louis-Cesare can be an arrogant pain the the *** she can't let him go.


    GREAT ADDITION, CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK TO COME OUT. ONLY A YEAR OR SO TO GO!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I got into this series when I ran out of Michelle Sagara's Chronicles of Elantra books. I'm glad I found Ms. Chance. This is another of the genre I enjoy - fantasy - strong heroines - action - and vampires and elves. Pure escape. Ms. Chance writes a strong plot, uses her words well so your imagination can go wild. The heroine has enough personal conflict to make her interesting. And her uneasy truce with her father is thought provoking. Definitely recommend the Dorina Basarab series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12