Customer Reviews for

Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Break out your grocery list!

    Summary:


    This cookbook is a companion to the Cedar Cove Series. Charlotte Jefferson Rhodes, Olivia's mother, is the one leading the reader through the book. It is divided into ten sections by breakfast, lunch, dinner, appetizers, dessert, and then holidays. Each of those sections is hosted by a different character whose address has been one of the books in the series. Her introduction of the section introduces the characters at that home and says why that meal or holiday is special to them. Through out her series food is mentioned a lot so when the book was created the developers tried to use the menu item mentioned in the novels as favorites.




    Thoughts:


    I have a shopping list ready and about 10 recipes I want to try. I rarely buy cookbooks, this is only my second one for this year, but this one is beautifully put together and I love how it ties into the characters from the series. It makes them seem even more like old friends! I think this would make an excellent Christmas or other holiday present for someone who likes to read and cook. Maybe with a few books from the series thrown in for a new reader. I'll have to comment once I try a few recipes about how they turned out.

    http://bookbookseverywhere.blogspot.com/

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Comfort Food

    Love the book! It brings the Cedar Cove characters to life through the recipes. I've made the paninis, pumpking bread, and Teri's Mac and Cheese. All were delicious, the mac and cheese awesome.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Beautiful, enticing addition to the Cedar Cove Series!

    What a great way to continue the friendships developed between reader and characters of the Cedar Cove Series! The author makes the characters come alive with her descriptions of each one's contributions to the cookbook, and gives those who have read the series a synopsis and reminder of each character's relationship to others in the books. Those who have not read the series will still enjoy getting to know this charming town and its residents through their favorite foods. The illustrations are absolutely captivating, and seem to invite readers to actually reach out and taste those cinnamon rolls and colorful salads. This is the most intriguing cookbook that I have...and my collection numbers several dozen, including the most popular basic ones, some antique ones inherited from family, souvenirs and regional collections, and homemade ones from families and groups. The uniqueness of Macomber's book lies in the authenticity and creativity of the recipes that were previously woven throughout her books as part of the stories.
    It is not just a cookbook, but also a fascinating read! I'm enjoying Cedar Cove and its residents all over again, while cooking their favorite foods!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Great cookbook

    This is absolutly amazing, the cookbook is based on receipies that are found in her books that are based on people of Cedar Cove (ok, ok) fictional characters that they make for thier families. Debbie has many wonderful and delightful receipies to try that are perfect for making for your own family or to give as gifts. I love the look and design of the cookbook, and the way she adds humor and special bits and pieces of information on the characters behind the reciepies.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    Cedar Cove Cookbook

    My wonderful husband gave it to me for Christmas. I have made the Garlic Shrimp and Scallops for my daughters birthday dinner. She and hubby loved it. I can not wait to have more time to try more

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Cedar Cove cooking with additional morsels from our favorite characters in Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series is a delightful must.

    How many of us actually read our cookbooks cover to cover? We usually find some recipes that intrigue us, find helpful cooking hints that cause us to think "I never knew that", and perhaps an introduction inspires us to try something new.
    Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove Cookbook not only has recipes that will delight, but it includes Charlotte's thoughts about many of our favorite people living in Cedar Cove that read just as the novels do. Plus, Charlotte writes "personal notes" on many of the recipes which are nice tidbits.
    I've made several of the easy-to-follow recipes which have all been quite tasty and wonderful additions to my 'repeat recipe' file.
    I've also given this as a gift to several friends who have absolutely loved reading Charlotte's additions and have been just as delighted with the recipes.
    Enjoy this morsel - a good read with good food!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    what a joy

    Even if you don't read the Lighthouse Road series, this is a wonderful cookbook to own. The recipes are delicious and easy to follow. But reading the series makes the recipes seem like they come from a good friend. This book is a must own!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    Cookbook

    Great book to add to the cedar cove collection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    A great addition to my cookbook collection!

    This cookbook caught my eye before Christmas and I couldn't resist buying it for myself. Tried some of the recipes, as they were creative, didn't have too many ingredients, and were on the medium to easy scale of difficulty. They were great! Decided to give a friend this cookbook for Christmas. Great choice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun for Cabot Cove fans

    Visually, a beautiful book. If nothing else, it just looks great in my kitchen. I havent' tried any of the recipes but have read thru it. None of the recipes seemed very unique and obviouisly oriented toward Pacific Northwest. Who could afford that much crab?? Am still glad I bought it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Cedar Cove Cookbook

    Love the recipes, can't wait to try many of them. I did like the way Debbie laid out the cookbook with each of the characters contributing their favorites. Very clever idea. Keep up the good work!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    A great Cookbook

    Good Recipes and easy to follow. Also enjoyed the way the characters of the books were tied into the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Recommended

    This is a pretty interesting regional cookbook. If you read her books, you'll like sampling some of the foods she talks about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2