Customer Reviews for

The Debt: What America Owes to Blacks

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This book changed my life! Robinson speaks with grace and passion. Finally, the truth. Please read this book and pass it along. Mr. Robinson, I salute you. Your book is a breath of fresh air.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Prejudice

I have never heard or read such biased writing in my life. Robinson says that he is merely defending the black population, but in the mean-time credits himself for the civili rights movement. He plays the victim when he was never a slave and never even faught for civi...
I have never heard or read such biased writing in my life. Robinson says that he is merely defending the black population, but in the mean-time credits himself for the civili rights movement. He plays the victim when he was never a slave and never even faught for civil rights. He also says that he himself should recieve some kind of compensation and used Jews as an example. However, what he failed to notice is that the Jews that lived through the Holocuast got compensation. Not their ancesters. Why should my children have to pay him for what their ancesters did to his ancesters? And as if affimative action hasn't already granted his people, in modern society, privaleges over whites. Modern society is what counts, too because it is where he lives and what counts. And whether he spells it out or not, he definately accuses all white people of wrong-doing. He is trying to make everything that is wrong with him into prejudice. I am surprised that in our society today someone could prejudice against others the way Robinson has. How much more can he ask for??

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    A Compelling Argument

    Randall Robinson's "The Debt: What America Owes To Blacks" lays out a very cogent and compelling argument in defense of some form of reparations to its Black citizens. Beginning with an overview of African culture pre-slavery, Robinson contends that the issues Black Americans face even in the present can be traced directly to the evil brutality of the slave trade, thus making the 246 years of slavery and subsequent 100 years of Jim Crow, segregation, lynching, and disenfranchisement an anomaly in the course of human affairs. While I am not 100% convinced of the efficacy of any kind of reparations, this book has brought me closer to being an advocate for it than I ever would have imagined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Wow!

    This book changed my life! Robinson speaks with grace and passion. Finally, the truth. Please read this book and pass it along. Mr. Robinson, I salute you. Your book is a breath of fresh air.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    THANK YOU Mr. Robinson

    This book is an eye opener for people of the African Diaspora. Mr.Robinson tells it like it is with neither apology, nor radical rethoric.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Prejudice

    I have never heard or read such biased writing in my life. Robinson says that he is merely defending the black population, but in the mean-time credits himself for the civili rights movement. He plays the victim when he was never a slave and never even faught for civil rights. He also says that he himself should recieve some kind of compensation and used Jews as an example. However, what he failed to notice is that the Jews that lived through the Holocuast got compensation. Not their ancesters. Why should my children have to pay him for what their ancesters did to his ancesters? And as if affimative action hasn't already granted his people, in modern society, privaleges over whites. Modern society is what counts, too because it is where he lives and what counts. And whether he spells it out or not, he definately accuses all white people of wrong-doing. He is trying to make everything that is wrong with him into prejudice. I am surprised that in our society today someone could prejudice against others the way Robinson has. How much more can he ask for??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2001

    Join the Rest of the US

    This book although not rhetoric does not talk about the diffrent races involved servitude. How the Cubans, African-Americans, English (somewhat, not all) contributed to their own demise of culture. Retribution like the culture of Jews and American-Indians are partaking being paid for their own situation. Move on and UP. We are either a Union Of States or Individual States. The art of decision making is not taken away as before. We are either a one or divided. Pick you place of comfort, stay or go (all ethnicity).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    Just What America Really Needs!!!!

    This book is long overdue. Mr. Robinson, in this book, explains why reparations and a historical unearthing are so important. The problem with the reparations debate is that too many people stop just at slavery. As Mr. Robinson points out in this book,the 100 years of de jure discrimination that followed slavery also hurt African-Americans tremendously. So the argument that a lot of people use that there is no one alive today that should get reparations today is wrong. Really, reparations should have been awarded right after slavery ended. But in a devilish twist of irony, following slavery there was legislation on the books that would have provided reimbursement for slaveholders who lost slaves and not for those who were exploited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    No Lip Service and Excellent Solutions...

    Due to this country's history, America may never be a place where race is NOT an issue due simply to the fact that there is a lack of true equity and effort to right centuries of inhumane transgression of one people towards another. Although there may be no present-day Caucasian slave-holders in the US, the inheritors of their wealth and privilege ARE here. Although there may be no black people in shackles working for free (besides prison chain gangs), the inheritors of that era of emasculation and dehumanization ARE here. The legacy of slavery is such a pervading part of our culture that we cannot be naive enough to think that almost 3 centuries of history's most brutal form of systemic, physical, and psychological slavery can be remedied overnight (in one-third of the time).The cat that gave Robinson's book a one-star rating ('Prejudice')obviously didn't read it and/or is seriously deluded if he thinks that black people are going to inherit the Earth through affirmative action and welfare; in fact, the statement is rather laughable. And second off, if Robinson's work through his organization TransAfrica does not represent his participation in the Civil Rights movement, I don't know what does; the movement was and is not limited to the 1960's and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Anyway, this book is one to be read and studied for what it truly offers: solutions and a way to truly end racial inequities and injustices in the United States. I don't think that any true American has a problem with that...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Right On!

    I am a 40 year old Black man employed as a Safety Officer in one of America's inner cities. Black folks have paid the highest price of any group, except possibly the Native Americans, as pointed out by Mr. Robinson. Black folks have been brainwashed or should I say whitewashed into believing that we are a people who have not contributed to this society. Black folks have paid the ultimate price in the building of America.Millions of lives were lost and ruined with 300 years of slavery and a 100 years of Jim Crow. Our tongue, our history and our since of identity were taken away.Mr.Robinson does a masterful job of explaining the importance of knowledge of self. I don't know of any group of people who are more worthy of reparations than Black people in America. It's an insult to offer 30 years of affirmative action for 400 years of hell as a way to offset the evil deeds inflicted upon Black folks. I pose this question to you the reader.If you had a business that had 30 years of free labor (let alone 300 passed down from generation to generation)and your business was a success, wouldn't you feel a debt was owed those laborers or their hiers? Thank you Mr. Robinson for such an honest portrait of the journey of Black people in America and how we arrived at the state we now reside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Thank You Mr. Robinson

    This book is long overdue because it brings to the surface a page in American History that has been suppressed and virtually ignored by white Americans especially. The subject of reparations is not new but it needs a modern version and Mr. Robinson gives it to us beautifully and courageously. Thank God for people like Mr. Robinson who walks the talk and is willing to sacrifice the 'perks' of being a well-behaved Negro like the Clarence Thomases and the Alan Keyes of this wicked society. Slavery was a crime committed against the African people and the only remedy is to compensate the victims in one way or another. I would suggest readers to also check out Eric Williams' book: Capitalism and Slavery to begin to understand how much is really owed to us after over three centuries of involuntary servitude. May God bless you, Mr. Robinson. I hope every African gets a hold of this book and reads it so we can begin a global effort to sue the European countries that benefitted from the slave trade: Portugal, Spain, England, Holland, France and yes, the United States of America. No one can request something that they do not deserve. After 300 years of hell on earth, affirmative action is an insult not a corrective measure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    something white kids as well as black kids need to know.

    White are in charge (of U.S. history) and they don't know that blacks people come from such a well developed background. There are some that would hide these fact but, many that would not hide the facts because, it's the complete history of the people of the U.S.. One reason to teach the ones in charge of history is to bring a better understandind of all it people. A fuller history will bring a fuller person and a better life. The Dedt is to big at this time (in terms of money) but the knowledge is there. The combined histories of your people is so great as to make us a much greater people because of it and I thank you for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1