BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Debt of Honor

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

eBook formant not recommended

I found the story "Debt of Honor" excellent. It would have been much better if I were not constantly distracted with typographical errors. Every few pages had an error. Words hyphenated in the middle of the line. Last names split into two words. The most common error is...
I found the story "Debt of Honor" excellent. It would have been much better if I were not constantly distracted with typographical errors. Every few pages had an error. Words hyphenated in the middle of the line. Last names split into two words. The most common error is using the number one "1" in place of the word "I." It appears Barnes and Nobles just scanned a hardcopy book and said, "Okay Nook Readers, here's your book." It seems the text was never proofread. Barnes and Noble makes a considerable profit on selling ebooks over paperbacks when one considers the cost of printing, shipping, etc. The ebook version of "Debt of Honor" sells for ten cents less than the paperback version. I'm almost sorry I bought a Nook. I paid $139 for the Nook to save ten cents on a book and worse of all, the ebook version is full of mistakes. Shame on you Barnes and Nobile, I would have expected better from you.

posted by 4833830 on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

B&N Get with the program

Here' s the facts, B&N customer service is non existant. They overcharge for every thing and don't care about quality. I like the Nook but only buy e-books when I have to because of the over charge and poor quality. Amazon has a larger inventory of e-books and better...
Here' s the facts, B&N customer service is non existant. They overcharge for every thing and don't care about quality. I like the Nook but only buy e-books when I have to because of the over charge and poor quality. Amazon has a larger inventory of e-books and better service. I am saving for a Kindle Fire. So far two of my co-workers have purchased Kindles, and serveral more will choose Kindle over Nook based on my recomendation. B&N if you are reading this...WAKE UP!

posted by 9984904 on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    eBook formant not recommended

    I found the story "Debt of Honor" excellent. It would have been much better if I were not constantly distracted with typographical errors. Every few pages had an error. Words hyphenated in the middle of the line. Last names split into two words. The most common error is using the number one "1" in place of the word "I." It appears Barnes and Nobles just scanned a hardcopy book and said, "Okay Nook Readers, here's your book." It seems the text was never proofread. Barnes and Noble makes a considerable profit on selling ebooks over paperbacks when one considers the cost of printing, shipping, etc. The ebook version of "Debt of Honor" sells for ten cents less than the paperback version. I'm almost sorry I bought a Nook. I paid $139 for the Nook to save ten cents on a book and worse of all, the ebook version is full of mistakes. Shame on you Barnes and Nobile, I would have expected better from you.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2006

    The Creme de la Creme

    In my opinion, this IS Tom Clancy's best novel. From the first page I was drawn into a web of intrigue that was as visually stunning as the best movie Hollywood has to offer with an ending that left my jaw on the floor and me in a state of shock for hours after. This is the book that I would recommend to a stranger or my best friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Couldn't Put It Down

    I first read this book when I was deployed to Qatar in 1995 while in the Air Force. Even with all the work we had, every spare moment I had was spent reading Debt of Honor. I became so glued to Tom Clancy, that I had my wife send me more titles to Qatar to get me through my 120 days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Good but not his best

    Debt of Honor takes place in a post-Cold War era about two years after The Sum of All Fears. In the beginning, Jack Ryan, Clancy's alter-ego, is called back into government service by President Durling as his National Security Advisor. Playing Condaleeza Rice for the vast majority of the novel, Ryan must convince Durling and his other Cabinet members that he is right about ensueing hostilities with Japan. With monotonous information about the world economy, the first 500 pages don't really move, until Raizo Yamata, the Japanese economic mastermind, makes the American Stock Market crash. With that, political corruption, covertly constructed nukes, and tactical naval warfare string the plotline at an amazingly fast speed. But the novel can't end like that...oh no. Durling, without a VP due to a sex scandal, appoints Ryan as Vice-President until the next inauguration day. So, just minutes before he is sworn in before a joint session of Congress, a disgruntled Japan Airlines pilot flies his 747 into the concrete dome of the Capitol building, leaving only the Ryan family and a handful of the security detail alive. Ryan, now sworn in as the new President, must now try to pick up the pieces of a fallen era. Although Clancy, in a remarkably eerie way, predicted September 11 with amazing accuracy, (read the first 100 pages of Executive Orders to get what I mean) you can tell he struggled somewhat to understand Japanese culture and how it would affect their plan of battle. Clancy is a Cold-warrior, and although his previous books were awesome, they dealt directly with the Soviet Union. Although this was an insanely good book, it wasn't his greatest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Debt of Honour

    One of the best Jack Ryan novels, in my opinion. I think that the end of the novel is probably the best thing I've ever read. I made the mistake of reading Executive Orders first, so I knew what was coming and that spoiled it a bit, but it was still brilliant.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Clancey rights another masterpiece!

    Clancey's debt of honor is breathetaking. Debt of Honor has great suspense and a shocking ending. You can clearly not put down this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    B&N Get with the program

    Here' s the facts, B&N customer service is non existant. They overcharge for every thing and don't care about quality. I like the Nook but only buy e-books when I have to because of the over charge and poor quality. Amazon has a larger inventory of e-books and better service. I am saving for a Kindle Fire. So far two of my co-workers have purchased Kindles, and serveral more will choose Kindle over Nook based on my recomendation. B&N if you are reading this...WAKE UP!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    I am throwing my Nook away.

    It is getting tiring over-paying for these books. I am going to turn this thing off and go to Sam's club to by the book at aa discount. Screw you B&N.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    A good read but full of errors and typos in the ebook version

    I counted at least 20 misspellings, run together words, incorrect characters, and funny symbols in the ebook version.

    Why is that something I have to pay money for?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    Final 200 pages phenominal. WOW!

    One of the better books I have ever read and September 11th sheds a new light on it. (Finish the book to figure out what I mean). When 5 Americans die in a fiery car accident due to a simple mistake in a Japanese manufacturing, it leads into war. Behind the mastermind of Raizo Yamata, some anti-American members of the Japanese zaibatsu attempt to defeat America both economically and physically. This book keeps you gripped the whole way through and never lets up. The last 8 pages are quite possibly the best in the book. Great lead-in book to Executive Orders which I will read soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    loved

    this is my second fav Clancy! Without Remorse is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good book

    Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Great Book

    I am glad to get it, I now have all of the Jack Ryan series on CD.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    A great book about what a country may have to deal with in the future

    Debt of Honor is a fictional book about a scenario which a leader may have to deal with someday. While being extremely entertaining it is also informative as to what a leader and his government have to deal with. Things ranging from political speeches and foreign relations to a president's, CIA field agent's, National Security Advisor's, and naval admiral's tasks and life are included.

    The main scenario in the story is that a National Security Advisor has to deal with multiple, major issues in the world. He has to fix an economy attacked by the Japanese, somehow manage to take back a chain of islands stolen by the Japanese with little to no army or navy, and help Russia with their problem with China and Japan planning to steal Siberia's vast resources.

    The story gives information as to how our government works indirectly. Some scenes such as where the Secretary of State has to do negotiations with the Japanese ambassador to America about the current control of the Marianas, a chain of islands stolen by the Japanese. That scene specifically shows how not only your choice of words, but your choice of tone and attitude determines the outcome of the negotiation.

    Two characters in the book are CIA field agents deployed to Japan. These men have covers as Russian journalists. The book really shows how significant one or two men can have in an entire war. They had the job of taking down some of Japan's main radar aircraft. If they hadn't done that then the navy and air force wouldn't have been able to infiltrate the Marianas.

    I would recommend this book to anyone above thirteen with an interest in public, foreign, and domestic relations.

    This book should be brought with you to anywhere where you would have any amount of free time. Once you get a decent way into the book you're going to want to keep on going till the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Come On

    I love the Jack Ryan thrillers more than a lot of other thrill series. But, this book was the first of Tom Clancy that I couldn't wait to finish! And, as always, the action doesn't kick in until the last hundred pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    Tom Clancy at his finest

    Debt of Honar is your typical Clancy novel on steriods. The first few chapters are chocked full of techno babble and business talk, but being a Clancy novel this is to be expected. The later half of the book will keep you up at night until the last, heart pounding chapter that will leave you spellbound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Great Book

    This book was the first Clany book that I read, and I just couldn't put the book down when i finished it. After this book i read almost everything that Mr. Clany offers, but this one is my favourite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Long.....

    I liked the book but it was a bit long to read for the first 2-300 pages but then it picked up pace and my interest quickly. A very good book to bring on a long flight overseas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    Long, But Still Awesome.

    This book is a long 767 pages in hardcover. I had to read it as a school assignment. I choose it because i had heard that it was very good. And it is. Very Very Good. I highly recomend it to anyone who like a.)espionage b.)economy c.) war. It's very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9