Customer Reviews for

The Debutante Divorcee

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't put it down!

I thought this book was great. Bergdorf Blondes was better but this held my attention and kept me wanting more.

posted by Anonymous on May 3, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

don't bother

could not finish the first chapter it was so bad.

posted by 1610705 on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    don't bother

    could not finish the first chapter it was so bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Disappointing...

    I really enjoyed Bergdorf Blondes, even though it was really shallow it was still a fun read. Plum's 2nd book was just awful. Totally, totally, totally unrealistic and actually very boring. Save your money and time and don't buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Her novel is empty, shallow and undeserving of your time.

    I find Plum Sykes to be intriguing, how could you not be, with someone who's first name is PLUM. I read BB a year and so ago, and even though I found it to be utterly superficial, I must confess there was a couple of illustrative sentences that made me laugh. But her second attempt as novelist is right down appalling. It shows Miss Sykes has no real empathy for what's happening in the world today and her characters besided obviously predictable are so so shallow. I wouldn't recommend this book even to Paris Hilton. It's pure garabage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    'LIGHTER THAN A SOUFFLE'? IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE

    Early on in her follow-up to ¿Bergdorf Blondes,¿ Plum Sykes has one of her characters describe their conversation topics as ¿lighter than a souffle.¿ That¿s also a good description of ¿The Debutante Divorcee¿ - it reads easily, is very fluffy, and has no substance. But, for chick-litophiles it will be the Taj Mahal. A contributing editor for Vogue, London born Sykes knows her territory and its inhabitants well, and she plays both for all they¿re worth. Designers, hot spots, and romantic peccadillos are inserted almost as often as punctuation marks. In Sykes¿s world the characters may be authentic but for the real world they come off as selfish, pretentious stick figures. It¿s a bit hard to relate to one (Lauren) who is determined to make out with five men before Memorial Day, and another (Sylvie) who had hoped that ¿matrimony would be like the Eternity ad: a very gorgeous you, a hot him, and oodles of vanilla-colored cashmere sweaters.¿ When she feels her dream has not come true she copes as only Sylvia can - with late night TV which she feels puts things into perspective. Now, these young women may be beautiful and wealthy but they¿re also some of the most vacuous females to ever appear on page. The plot is a bit of a meandering one, which could be accurately described in a few lines: Sylvie thinks she¿s losing her husband to a ¿husband huntress,¿ Sophia. Lauren takes Sylvie under her authentic Chanel wing. Mix-ups ensue, but all¿s well in the end. Unfortunately, ¿The Debutante Divorcee¿ is ¿The Group¿ sans satire or ¿Sex and the City¿ without affecting characters. Sykes is a good writer with an eagle eye for detail and excellent comic timing. We understand there¿s a third book in the offing and hope the third time is a charm. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    I couldn't put it down!

    I thought this book was great. Bergdorf Blondes was better but this held my attention and kept me wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Not Worth the Time

    I found Plum Sykes' first book intriguing. Her second book, however, leaves a lot to be desired. The plot is weak and characters are flat. A bit of a disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I actually enjoy Plum Sykes superficial novels- they are meant t

    I actually enjoy Plum Sykes superficial novels- they are meant to be funny, not entirely true. This novel shows the funnier side of rich divorcees. These women simply wont sit and cry for months and years when they become divorced, instead, they spend their riches going on divorce honeymoons to tropical places and buying super expensive fur coats and jewelry. This book is laugh out loud funny! I highly recommend it. After all, there is a love story within it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Love it

    I loved this book. The superficial characters are hilarious. A great beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Light and amusing, a very fun read.

    Light and amusing, a very fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A Funny Look at Upper East Side Rich Girls and Their Friends

    This book pokes fun at women's upper East side friends and dating rituals after they get divorced and before they got there and their funny attempts to try to snag the men they want for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Second Novel for Fans of Plum Sykes First One

    If you love Plum Sykes first novel you will love this one. It is funny, offbeat, romantic and a great way to spend some off time reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    just okay.......

    This book is nothing like the Candace Bushnell or Lauren Weisberger books. It was a bit too PG rated for my tastes. Quick beach read, but nothing exciting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Plum is my favorite, you people are nuts!

    This book and BB are so fun and lighthearted people, not meant to be a historical novel. It is all in fun and I absolutely adore this book and plum Sykes, I cannot wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Summer fun

    While this book may not give any deep insights into the meaning of life, or reveal the secrets to the world, it does allow one to escape reality for a bit and just indulge in some reading that's pure fun. This book is filled with fashion, humor, and a trendy romp through New York City, and is not meant to be taken completely seriously. So, if you're looking for a fun read at the beach, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Oh, well

    Not as engaging as the PR leading up to the book - the PR was better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    PR

    Oh, I was really looking forward to this book, as one aaumed Sykes would hone her craft. At least make up names and characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Dedicated to the Cosmopolitan Fashionista

    I loved this book! Its was the most refreshing book I've read all year. Plum Sykes has proved herself as a solid performing author. I fully recommend this book if you're in need of some much needed glamorous fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Great Summer Read!!

    I've been waiting for this book to come out for months, after I read 'Bergdorf Blondes'. However, it wasn't as fascinating as Bergdorf, but it was catchy and interesting and fun enough to read for sure!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Fun, fun, fun!

    If you liked Plum Sykes debut novel then I would highly recommend picking up DD. It is every bit as sharp and witty and glamorous as BERDORF BLONDES. Plum keeps the story moving with great dialog and a face pace. You will not be able to put it down, especially when you get to the scene in Chapter 8.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Still Outside Looking In

    'Plum' Sykes (nee Victoria) stated in an interview she felt growing up like she was always on the outside looking in- clearly still applies. 'Debuatante Divorcee' lacks any insight or wit, it's merely catalogs a world she views. Yes, we know The Bristol is one of the better sort of Paris hotels, but fo rthose who don't show us, by describing , not tell us. Skiing isn't that tough, but good heavens evoke the feeling of a great ski area and the food and all! By merely listing what she sees, without having experienced much of that world, the book fall flat. The current issue of Vogue Magazine has an interview where she says in the past year, she married, decorated an apartment, and wrote a novel. Oh well, two out of three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3