Customer Reviews for

December 1941: 31 Days that Changed America and Saved the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended! - You must buy it for a friend or for yourself

So everyone knows what was going on over in Europe between the Axis and Allies, but what was going on in our own country? December 1941 tells a day by day account about what was going on in our country before we entered WWII. If you love Military and World History you w...
So everyone knows what was going on over in Europe between the Axis and Allies, but what was going on in our own country? December 1941 tells a day by day account about what was going on in our country before we entered WWII. If you love Military and World History you will love this book. Every fact in this book is accurate and true and trust me, you will not be able to put this book down once you start reading it.! December 1941: the Month that Changed America is a must buy for everyone.

posted by Abels_Angel on November 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Need advice...

I am a big fan of history books but hate it when authors put their own political views/slants in historical books (ala Bill O'Reilly's rediculous "Lincoln" book). I know Shirley has written several books on Reagan (and has a book coming out on the god-awful Newt Gingric...
I am a big fan of history books but hate it when authors put their own political views/slants in historical books (ala Bill O'Reilly's rediculous "Lincoln" book). I know Shirley has written several books on Reagan (and has a book coming out on the god-awful Newt Gingrich)...has anyone who has read this gotten a sense of a conservative/revisionist telling of the time period? Would like to know before I "Nook" it. Thanks.

posted by TruthSeekerOH on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Pearl Harbor, Infamous Day that Changed America Forever

    Only a skilled writer and researcher could pen so many pages that enthrall readers. With information from hundreds of sources, Craig Shirley relates events of the six days before and the three weeks following Japan¿s unexpected bombing of Pearl Harbor.
    A major question was ¿How did Japan destroy so many ships, airplanes and lives without anyone suspecting in advance the terrible attacks?¿ Mr. Shirley tells of every day lives, political and historical events, and world leaders¿ actions.
    Pearl Harbor galvanized intense patriotism among Americans. So many men and women volunteered to fight that military recruiters could barely process the applications. Thousands of women volunteered to fight or supported military personnel. Many women took over men¿s jobs manufacturing war materials or in political offices.
    For months Japan whipped Allied forces and relentlessly advanced throughout the Pacific area. Americans quickly produced battle equipment and few doubted we¿d defeat the enemy. But no one realized how long and disastrous the fighting would be.
    American culture changed forever as a result of Pearl Harbor. This attack and the war resulted in the USA becoming a super power in the world. Our politics also changed. This book tells younger readers about life in 1941. Older people will remember those days. December 1941 is well worth the hours of reading.
    A decorated former contact agent for the CIA, Mr. Shirley has written best-sellers. A sought-after speaker and commentator, he writes for major newspapers and magazines.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Great Read

    This well written account by Craig Shirley takes the reader as close as one can come to experiencing this historic month.The book is broken up into chapters, with each chapter retelling the story of one day of the month. What I found to be fascinating is the way that the book not only tells the stories of what is happening in the war, and overseas, but it tells so much of what the mindset of the American people at home was. I enjoyed this book so much that I gave it to a WW2 veteran friend of mine and he is enjoying it as well.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Well Worth Reading...but....

    This is a fascinating book in many ways. The details of life in America at the transition from the Great Depression into World War II are well written and it's an easy read. There are things about the time that will be new insights to many 21st Century readers. Should the attack on Pearl Harbor have been such a surprise? No. Could it have been prevented? Probably not. The stories of the "America First" people who sought to keep the U.S. out of the war in Europe may be new to some. The descriptions of people, habits and customs, and events of these critical days help set the context of America's entry into World War II.

    The "but..." in the review title has to do with two things. At least the e-book version is in need of re-editing; typographical errors abound, and many sentences are repeated verbatim or slightly altered throughout the book. The other caution is that as fascinating and insightful as this book is, the author's personal political perspectives sometimes cloud the objectivity of an otherwise great read.

    Despite the caveats, it's well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Essential Reading for WWII Buffs

    Craig Shirley's "December 1941: 31 Days That Changed America and Saved the World" is a powerful account of the days leading up to, and the days immediately after, the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbor and subsequent entry of the United States into World War II.

    This 500+ page book (600 if you count the notes) has a very simple format: it devotes one chapter to each day of the month of December 1941. The chapters describe the events of each day, either directly or indirectly related to the coming war.

    Of all the things I learned, I was especially surprised that, prior to December 7, the mindset of many Americans was not in favor of the United States entering the war. We are used to such things regarding the Vietnam war and the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, but the image we tend to get of 1940's America is that of solidarity. In fact, the national mood changed quite a bit as of December 7, but even then, it wasn't a case of undisputed unity.

    The stories and information in "December 1941" are excellent. I received a copy of this book for free for review purposes, with no obligation to deliver a positive assessment. Still, I highly recommend it for anyone interested in history, especially World War II buffs.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Hyibmb gk jytib .tin .gk

    Y.oyi . Ybjivn yu .rybm yvb .j ymfhbmmbygju ggyi.b y h gbi

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Great read for history buffs

    I was 7 years old on Dec 7, 1941 and wanted to read the book to see how much I could remember and what I missed. With a day by day report, basically from newspapers, it was fascinating to read the daily accounts. Have recommended it to all my friends as a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Engrossing and disappointing. Definitely a different and engagin

    Engrossing and disappointing. Definitely a different and engaging view of this crucial month in out nation's history. While I thought the content first class, the proofreading was decidedly third class at best. The are numerous errors of syntax, punctuation and spelling that detract from a smooth read. Nonetheless, I would recommend it to anyone interested in WWII history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    It takes a month to read it.

    This is an excellent piece of research held together by what are already known outcomes. In some places there is a doubling of information from earlier pages which essentially extends the month by a day or two. One can only wonder, even after more than 70 years, how this could have happened. It is a difficult book to complete though you always want to see what happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    When i was born

    I was born on December 18, 1941. My mother died on December 17, 2011. With my baby scrapbook recently rediscovered, with headlines of the Bismarck Tribune from December 1941 in front of me I began to wonder what it was like for my parents at that time. I,m about 1/3 in the book and astounded that all those events, personalities were happening at the same time that they were expecting their first bundle of joy. I have a new and deeper appreciation of the trials of humankind after reading this book. Ihave read other books on WW2 but the details in this book are highly researched and bring the thoughts of world leaders right into my brain. Thousands endured those days. They were very brave! Read this book and remember their generation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    This generation should read this chronicle!

    Day by day chronicle of December, 1941 as gleaned from newspapers, magazines, radio, gevernment records, etc. Covers politics, sports, fashion, war and American culture. A vignette that should be read by every American born after WWII !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Review on "December 1941" by Craig Shirley

    December 1941: 31 Days That Saved America and Changed the World by Craig Shirley, Thomas Nelson, Inc.: Nashville, 2011. Reviewer: Robert Marx. BookSneeze® provided me with an advance free copy of the book for review purposes.

    The events that brought America into the Second World War unfolded quickly in December 1941 with obviously far reaching consequences. Shirley writes of the major events that occurred each day of that pivotal month but blends the war news with cultural and popular tidbits. The rage in the newspapers are given a fresh viewing of a time distant yet so near that living eye witnesses still abound.

    Shirley¿s book places a fresh view of those years which seem so long ago yet have great meaning to our time. The popular culture of baseball, rationing, blackouts, and the coming of the ¿arsenal of Democracy¿ comes into view with the use of newspaper ads and stories. Conversely, the time saw a great expansion of newspapers as people hungry for war news snapped up copies of the newspaper. The economy actually changed with certain occupations such as automakers and confectioners changed into munitions workers and bakers. Unemployment virtually became erased overnight yet people had to change, if only because most women had to work to fill the spaces left by all the war bound men. The shadow of isolationists¿ and ¿the America First¿ crowd became much reduced but not completely eliminated. Shirley has written a real page turner for readers who enjoy a good story, and it is essential reading for lovers of history who will enjoy the references to common culture throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1