Customer Reviews for

December Stillness

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Whoever thinks that this is not a good book, or are leaning towa

    Whoever thinks that this is not a good book, or are leaning toward believing that, please understand that this book is not "still" or "boring" as someone has put, it is just well explained. It is a good book , that I found worth reading. I have read 19 Mary Downing Hahn books. this is not her best, but it still really interesting. You should definitaly give her other books a try (especially the ghost ones, because those are my favorite from her. Although you may not like mysteries as much as me.) anyways, PLEASE, GIVE THIS BOOK A TRY AND READ OTHER MARY DOWNING HAHN BOOKS. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Changed my outlook on life.

    The title of my review might seem a little far-fetched for most, but it's true. I had tears in my eyes when I finished. This book opened my mind a little bit if how selfish I was and always thinking I deserved better. After reading Mr. Weems ordeals, I realized I had to appreciate life for how it was and try my harderst to make the best of it. I also thought of all those people out there who, just because of a little bad luck, had to live their lives homeless and forgotten. I hope you find this book interesting as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    I recommend this book!~!

    This book was a great book. I could feel sympathy on how Mr. Weems felt too. I could really relate to kelly too, i thought this book was a very sad, but some how happy too. You should really read this book. It's very touching..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Great Book!!!!

    This book was so good! I normally hate reading books and this is the second book that i think was good (out of many)! I could actually relate to Kelly with her father daughter problems! I would highly recomend this book to anyone that has a heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    NOT the greatest book

    So its about a girl named Kelly and a homeless person Mr. Weems. I personally didnt like this book. As for the title it says 'Stillness' which i think this book was very. Still. Some parts of the book arent even neccesary on reading. It was ok at times but other parts you kinda drifted off.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Awesome Book!!!

    I am a simple 7th grader, this is the first book I read in my school library. I know it's hard to believe but i swear it's true even ask my mother. I've never been interested in a book before until now, now after I read more books I still think that December Stillness is the best one ever!!! I hope more kids will read this book. I can relate to the main charcter my dad and I don't get along that well but now and again we do. At the end was happy and the middle was just heart-breaking becuse Mr.Weems's death and how Kelly blamed herself of Mr.Weems's death. The start of the book was a great way for a reader to get into the book. I hope more people read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Book Review

    I thought that December Stillness was a very good book. I liked it because I think it shows great courage, and it kind of reminds you to stick up for your beliefs. In the book Kelly is very unique and she's not the typical girl who always worries about her looks, but her uniqueness causes drama with her best friend. Kelly feels hurt but she sticks up for herself and they way she wants to be. The book also shows how difficult it is for Kelly to get along with her father. Throughout the book Kelly is trying to find answers to questions about her father and while she's sticking up for her beliefs and trying to help a homeless Vietnam Vet. I think i can relate with Kelly for several reasons, one reason is the relationship with my father. I'm also not very close with him. Overall, I really liked this book and I would recomend it to anyone who can read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Book Review

    I think December Stillness is an interessting book. It has different emotions, and has many details. It is explained very full out, and makes you feel the way the narrator is feeling. I think that the author made a good decision writing a book like this, because there are some shocking things you don't expect to happen. It is also written very clearly. The book makes you want to hop in the book and help Mr. Weems, but you can't, cause it's not reeeal. So I would give this book 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    book report turned fun

    hey i had to do a book report on decmber stillness ithought it was another boring book report but i really had fun reading it and i can realted to kelly a lot great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    AWESOME ! YET EMOTOINAL .

    This book was awesome ! I very much enjoyed this book , though it had a very emotional ending . I recommend this book to readers of any age . I feel there is no age limit to reading this book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    READER

    This book was one of the best books I have ever read in my 7 years I school. I recommend it to anyone over the age of 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2000

    Great Book- Sad Ending

    We just finished reading this book as part of my eight-grade language arts class. I thought it was well written and the ending was very emotional. I would not recommend this book for anyone under the age of 12.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2000

    An 'on-the-edge-of-your-seat' type novel

    i personally liked this book because it was very emotional and always kept me entertained and alive. it also had a surprising twist ending which i thought was a wonderful way to end the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1