Customer Reviews for

Deception

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great Read!

    Amanda's books are the best books on the market. She makes me laugh, cry and can't wait to turn the page.

    This one is one of my favorites!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Very enjoyable summer read.

    I have read almost every novel Amanda Quick has ever written. In my opinion, Deception by Amanda is definitely a winner. The story is romantic, and tender, while at the same time exciting. Also, the story is complex, and satisfyingly. I love it when she writes about a strong woman character. Inspiring, and a very enjoyable summer reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Disappointing

    What can I say? The blurb made it sound like a fun, romantic adventure. In reality, it was dull, with bad dialog, very flat characters, and little suspense. I kept waiting for them to go off and find this fabulous treasure, but they never did! The denoument/climax was practically nonexistent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    Boring

    I think I might have enjoyed this book as a teenager, but a teen I am not, and this book fell a bit flat for me. From reading the back cover I expected a pirate-ish treasure hunt kind of story, and it was so not. I kept waiting for them to jump on a ship and go find the treasure that the whole book centered around finding, but they NEVER did! The author even made a point of saying that Olympia had never traveled anywhere, so... why didn't she have her travel? Some things were never explained, leaving loose ends, and the hero and heroine had very little chemistry. I wanted to like this book, but it was pretty disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    this is different from the traditional governess in love with th

    this is different from the traditional governess in love with the lord of the manor. i love that she thinks he is a tutor for her family. this reversal adds a spark of change that was so badly needed. and the authors sense of humor comes thru subtley (no need to be hit over the head, a quiet qwip and dry humor does it for me). thoroughly enjoyable read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    I WISH THAT I WAS IN IT............................

    THIS IS THE ULTIMATE HISTORICAL ROMANCE!! Amanda, if I was a critic, you get two thumbs up! The plot was interesting and captivating- it had my interest from beginning to end. The characters are awesome! Olympia is my kind of Woman, she is so strong and dedicated. The passion she shares with Jared is steamy. LOVE IT! This is the first book I have read by Amanda Quick, and I consider Deception as my favourite book. I hope to read more. Keep up the good work.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    I loved this book

    You have to read this book if you are a fan of Amanda Quick you must read this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3