Customer Reviews for

Deception (Alex Delaware Series #25)

Average Rating 3.5
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What happened to the 9.99 ebook prices?

All of a sudden, the prices are now 13 and 14 dollars! Too much! Also, too many books on pre-order when they've been on the shelves in stores for weeks and months! Feel like we've been had buying the Nook after waiting several months for delivery!!!!

posted by chs287228 on April 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Rip OFF!

Suddenly books are $13.50 when the big nook hype was $9.99 for best sellers. False advertising at it's finest. Lot's of Nook owners would like to return their Nooks. Me too! How do I return it for credit?

posted by StuSS on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    What happened to the 9.99 ebook prices?

    All of a sudden, the prices are now 13 and 14 dollars! Too much! Also, too many books on pre-order when they've been on the shelves in stores for weeks and months! Feel like we've been had buying the Nook after waiting several months for delivery!!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of the long running series will enjoy Deception

    Windsor Preparatory Academy teacher Elise Freeman is found dead in her apartment in Studio City. The victim is found lying in a tub of dry ice. Los Angeles Police Department Deputy Chief Weinberg assigns the homicide investigation to Lieutenant Milo Sturgis with a stern warning to keep the exclusive Brentwood school out of the inquiry as much as possible though he offers no explanation; veteran cop Milo is used to personal agenda restrictions from superiors..

    Milo is concerned with his boss' admonition because Elise left behind a DVD accusing three of her peers of sexual harassment. He believes the case must start with them. Psychologist Alex Delaware assists Milo on the case and soon the pair find a teacher with plenty of skeletons that those involved with her want to remain interred. However, one of them has killed before and is willing to kill again to keep the bones buried.

    As always in this remarkable police procedural, the lead pair of Milo and Alex make for a fine story line as they debate the merits of the case and much more. The investigation is totally hampered by Chief Weinberg placing a major stipulation on Detective Sturgis; this adds depth and a sense of realism to the whodunit. Fans of the long running series will enjoy Deception as the investigators seek Evidence while walking the tightrope of brass interference.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    EYE STRAIN

    Honest, fellow readers,I really couldn't put this book down and as a result, I received eye strain for my efforts. DECEPTION went with me to 3 doctors offices, my husband's office (waited for him)and even a drag race. The only thing is that I got aggravated at Alex because I wore my brain out trying to figure out what he was thinking... ahead of the vocalization of his theory. Milo is especially thoughtful in this book, in his Milo way, and I liked it.
    The old adage is correct; this is a real page turner. And yes, I'm not ashamed that I am a Milo Sturgis and Alex Delaware groupie.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Welcome back, Alex!

    It's always nice to have a new Alex Delaware novel in my hands. This is the second Delaware novel I've read for the first time on the Nook, and I have to say I am loving the little device! Much easier to carry it on the airplane than carrying a couple of hard-cover novels. "Deception" isn't anything terribly original ... but it feels like sitting down with an old friend. Alex and Milo and Robin: I LOVE these characters, always have and always will. And unlike Patricia Cornwell, Kellerman has managed to keep the proceedings from becoming stale or too unpredictable. I mean, you know what you're getting with a Delaware novel; and that's still a good thing. Not so much with the Scarpetta novels, in my opinion. I highly recommend this book!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nasty Goings-on at Elite Prep School

    Psychologist Alex Delaware and his friend Detective Milo Sturgis try to unravel the reasons behind the murder of a teacher at a prestigious private school near Los Angeles. Elise Freeman would seem to have plenty of enemies, in her professional life as well as in her private one. Her promiscuity and shady financial dealings in recent years don't help matters. Higher-ups at both the exclusive school and in the police department would rather hush the murder up, but Milo isn't having it. In this one, narrator Alex drops a bit into the background, with Milo's impressive interrogative (he prefers to call it "interviewing") skills coming to the fore. A fast, enjoyable read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Delaware Does it Again!

    The latest from Jonathan Kellerman does not disappoint! I could not put this book down and couldn't wait to see what happened next. The story line is tight and the characters and action are vintage Kellerman. This is one of the best Alex Delaware mysteries in a while.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Go Alex

    Good job, Kellerman. Thanks for keeping us up to date on Milo and Alex. Always a pleasure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Where is the depth of story and character?

    I have read all but three of Jonathan Kellerman's books, with the sad realization that the more recent the novel, the more shallow the story. I have found the story to be unimaginative (main character seducing female by page 13) and shallow. I was hoping for an "on the edge of my seat, can't put it down" story-line, but have had no problems putting this one down, and not much interest in picking it back up. Think this might be the end of following Alex Delaware, and all of Jonathan Kellerman's characters. Will have to wait and see :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Boring.

    Nothing much happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Not a good read

    I have read all of Kellerman's books (Delaware series) and this book was his worst. It was very boring and hard to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Another Good One

    Patterson does it again. Another good Delaware and Sturgis story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    A lot going on...

    And I loved every second of the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book

    Anyone who know Alex and Milo will enjoy this book.I would recommend any one who just wnat to read any Jonathan Kellerman's books to start with the first in this series. Then you have 23 books to chose from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    recommended

    The book met my expectations; I enjoyed reading it. However, the process of buying a nook book is lengthy and frustrating. Please email me with a simple step by step procedure for buying nook books and reading on my i-pad easily. Thanks.

    willa27

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    This is a true detective story. I love the writing and the fact that it is a lot of dialogue with people of interest in the case. It seems a bit more realistic than other books or shows on how detective work is supposed to be played out. There is also a so-called twist at the end which I didn't see coming. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Kept me turning the pages

    I love Milo and many times there is too much Alex off on his own. This book had the two working side by side, although I missed frequent scenes with Robin that were missing. Lots of Milo helped. Great story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alex & Milo have done it again...

    I loved this novel so much. It's always great to see that Jonathan Kellerman has not lost his flair. Alex Delaware & Milo Sturgis are my favorite crime-solving partners. They are both so insync together, their dialogs are never boring and witty at times. Their series are always thrilling. I also loved the narration of the audio book. Never get tired of listening to John Rubinstein.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant Mystery!

    As an avid reader of Jonathan Kellerman's "Alex Delaware" novels/mysteries; this was by far, one of his finest! I literally couldn't put the book down and finished it in only a few days. "Milo" (chief detective) was at his finest and really stole the show in this book; with Delaware giving a fine performance. They make good partners and complement one another. The story-line was fast and furious and the characters believable. Just when I thought I knew "who did it" ~~ another suspect surfaced. As always, Kellerman holds your interest from beginning to end. Well done, Jonathan. Can't wait till the next "Alex Delaware" novel. They are always very brilliant mysteries with a psychological twist. Thank you Mr. Kellerman for yet another brilliant novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Average read

    This was a good book but not one of Johnathan Kellerman's best. I thought it moved a little slow and was not one of his best. It was a good read anyway and I will continue to read more books by Mr. Kellerman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 257 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13