Customer Reviews for

Deception (Haunting Emma Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    A nice change from vampire fiction

    I bought this for an easy, quick read and I was not disappointed. The book is well written and presented a nice change from vampire fantasy. The characters are engaging, the setting helps to draw the reader in and I can't wait to read further books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Just a piece of my mind

    I liked the whole series a lot but I almost didn't make it passed the begining of the first book. Having Emma leave with Bennett to go to the east coast because she has a crush on him just seemed unbelievable and wrong to but in a YA book. Especially with everthing she knew that stacked up that this guy most likley is not safe. I know about the bond in the past life you learn about at the end of the first book but still I think the writer could have found a different reason for her to go with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    I have to admit this book didn't make much of a blip on my radar. I liked the cover, but the description didn't do much to make me want to add it to my to-read list. But, I was intrigued enough to enter a contest for an ARC. I was shocked that I won, but more than happy to read the book.

    I was extremely surprised by this one. After the rocky start where I had no idea what was going, Emma moves to New England. While, I still don't understand anything, and neither does Emma, I thoroughly enjoyed how the book developed. I thought Emma's visions were down right creepy, especially in light of what she learns they're really about. It gives the book a slight feel of a horror novel and manages to pull it off nicely. The setting just adds to the mystery.

    I thought what's truly happening to Emma was interesting. I liked how Bennett was able to gradually explain things to her, even though she demanded answers every time she saw him. It seemed like something would be revealed, but something else major would happen. I'm not sure I liked the ending, but I'm not sure any other outcome would have worked. I did feel sorry for Emma at the end because it looked like she was finally going to be able to have it all.

    So, I really enjoyed this book and will be looking forward to the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Interesting read.

    if you like mystery, and romance you will enjoy this Novel. you should deffinetly read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deceptively addictive, fascinating tale

    As part of a June Blog Tour, I won a copy of the book, Deception, by Lee Nichols. It's the first in a new paranormal adventure romance series, with a teen heroine trying to combine her "new-girl" struggle for acceptance in a New England prep school with the fact that she keeps seeing people who aren't there. Emma has an unfortunate tendency to faint at inappropriate moments too. And her parents and brother have gone missing.

    I should warn you, Deception is deceptively addictive, and definitely not a re-run of all the other paranormal teen romances out there. I was slightly disappointed by how the final chapter sets the reader up for a sequel, but the story itself is complete and enjoyable. The characters, living, dead and otherwise, are fascinating. The writing is smooth with an enjoyable first person narrative. The relationships play out well, even the slightly odd one between Emma and her new guardian. And the mythology of ghosts and ghostkeepers interacting with the every-day world of shopping and prep school is very nicely drawn. Revelations slip into the story with perfect timing, turning suspicion to delighted acceptance to guessing the future again.

    Meanwhile there's a murderer on the loose, and Emma just might be in his sights. It all combines to make an exciting adventure, grounded with pleasant characters and fun relationships, plausible lives and dialogs, and that longing to be accepted which isn't only experienced by teens. I really enjoyed the read, a haunting story and a heroine worth watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Ghosts and Love

    I can't recall reading any paranormal book that was focused on ghosts but now Lee has me wanting more. This is Lee's first YA novel, she does have a several adult novels published as well.
    In this book Emma his haunted by visions, visions that scare her. Her parents are out of town and unreachable and she ends up living with her guardian who is also the guy she loves, Bennett. She starts a new school, has to make new friends, and deal with her visions at the same time she has caught the eye of the quarterback, Coby.
    The first fifty pages are so really threw me for a loop. What teenager would agree to move across the US with a guy who claims to be her guardian, a guardian her parents never told her she had, without asking more questions or demanding answers? I know she loves the guy but that part really bothered me. If my parents were on a business trip I would definitely get a hold of them before moving and attending a new school, I don't care what the circumstances were. In the end her decision to go with Bennett was expected and made for a great story. I hate that I have to wait till March 2011 for the sequel, the ending was a cliffhanger and I have several unanswered questions.
    In the end I really enjoyed this book. It was full of mystery, just the right amount of romance, and ghosts. I think Lee really hit the mark with this YA series. Kudos!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    A Haunting YA tale

    My thoughts...Deception was a great read for YA fans of all ages. The plot moved at a rapid pace and it was really creepy during some parts of the book. As a ghostkeeper, Emma encounters all types of beings, good and evil, that leave her in some unpredictable situations. The mystery of her ability, her new home (as well as her old one), and her new friends kept me guessing and turning pages.

    I thought Lee Nichols did a great job of writing the characters in deception. Their voices, especially Emma's, were very believable. Emma is a very strong heroine who is thrown into this mysterious world while dealing with a missing family. Bennett, her new guardian, is very secretive and full of mystery. Even after finishing the book, I am still not sure if he is trustworthy. There are also some unexpected characters that add a element of fun to the story- the ghosts. Several of them have great personalities that readers will become fond of. Overall, MOST of the characters were fun to read and very likeable.

    Deception is a wonderful story. But, hold on to your bookmarks because it ends with a huge cliffhanger. Nichols has build a wonderful world of mystery that cannot be fully explored in one book. Book two in this trilogy, Betrayal, is due in March of 2011. It is expected to wrap up with Possession due in late 2011. Great books to look forward to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Deception

    I am a fan of ghost stories, so I was excited to read DECEPTION. I was pleasantly surprised to see how different this one was. The whole new idea of "ghost keepers" was very exciting and suspenseful. The beginning was a little slow, but once the scene moved to New England, I was completely engrossed.

    Emma was a realistic and likable character. With her parent's disappearance and her best friend abandoning her, I found it easy to feel for her and wish for a better outcome from her. I loved the fact that she had a mysterious past with ghosts. I got excited every time I learned a little more. Ooh, Bennett. He was a great character. I don't blame Emma, I found myself falling for him. It was one of those things that you kept waiting to see if or when these two would get together.

    I absolutely love the described scenes in this book. The New England setting was beautiful and haunting. It really made the story come to life for me. The idea of ghost keepers and how the "power" worked was awesome. Nichols has a likable writing style that is captivating, but easy to read at the same time. The best part for me by far was the plot. It kept twisting and changing where you had to keep reading to find out what happens. I am a sucker for that kind of suspense.

    The ending was a surprise to me. A cliffhanger that made me really wish the next book was out already! I can't wait to continue this series and find out the rest of Emma's story, because it is for sure not over yet. DECEPTION was a gripping supernatural story. An awesome start to a very promising series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1