Customer Reviews for

Deception

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must read! But read Deadline and Dominion first. You're hooked and can't put it down

Randy Alcorn always captures the attention, and fast This is actually the second time I read all three books. About 15 years ago they were recommended to me. I couldn't put themdown then.
After all those years they had remained in my mind as books everyone should read...
Randy Alcorn always captures the attention, and fast This is actually the second time I read all three books. About 15 years ago they were recommended to me. I couldn't put themdown then.
After all those years they had remained in my mind as books everyone should read. Not just a great mystery, but a message that will stay long after you have finished the books.
If only Alcorn woul write another triology!

posted by 12303522 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An easygoing whodunit with some corny humor and Christian apologetics

How's that for a combination? This is good for a rainy day or to take on vacation. Reading this on the nook presented a problem: with about 10 suspects in the murders, it was impossible to scan back (573 pages!) to recall details about the individuals. The nook versi...
How's that for a combination? This is good for a rainy day or to take on vacation. Reading this on the nook presented a problem: with about 10 suspects in the murders, it was impossible to scan back (573 pages!) to recall details about the individuals. The nook version is also plagued with numerous odd errors in the text, including every use of the possessive "its" containing an apostrophe. It bugs me to pay $10.00 for the equivalent of reading a printer's first galley. That being said, it is still a page-turner, full of Portland, OR-area references. The main character is a supposedly hardboiled police detective with a troubled personal life. He loves his dog, he loves to eat out, and he wishes his Christian friends would quit trying to evangelize him.

posted by Royalanne on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    A must read! But read Deadline and Dominion first. You're hooked and can't put it down

    Randy Alcorn always captures the attention, and fast This is actually the second time I read all three books. About 15 years ago they were recommended to me. I couldn't put themdown then.
    After all those years they had remained in my mind as books everyone should read. Not just a great mystery, but a message that will stay long after you have finished the books.
    If only Alcorn woul write another triology!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    An easygoing whodunit with some corny humor and Christian apologetics

    How's that for a combination? This is good for a rainy day or to take on vacation. Reading this on the nook presented a problem: with about 10 suspects in the murders, it was impossible to scan back (573 pages!) to recall details about the individuals. The nook version is also plagued with numerous odd errors in the text, including every use of the possessive "its" containing an apostrophe. It bugs me to pay $10.00 for the equivalent of reading a printer's first galley. That being said, it is still a page-turner, full of Portland, OR-area references. The main character is a supposedly hardboiled police detective with a troubled personal life. He loves his dog, he loves to eat out, and he wishes his Christian friends would quit trying to evangelize him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Oliver Justice Chandler, Ollie for short, Portland Oregon detective. A modern day Sherlock Holmes, Mike Hammer, Sam Spade all rolled into one. Even calls his house the old brownstone referring to Sherlock Holmes, wears a trench coat and a fedora hat to match the classics. Someone who goes against the flow rubs people the wrong way but always follows the evidence to solve the crime. Right now he¿s against his toughest. Professor William Palatine a philosopher nut, a reputation with his female students has been found murdered. Chandler and his partner Manny is the up team to take the call. His buddy Clarence Abernathy, a reporter from the Oregon Tribune is assigned to follow him and write about him. Everyone assumes he¿ll screw up and the press will be there. Luckily Clarence is his friend. Strange thing is the evidence at the crime scene points to the murderer as being a cop. All the detectives in his division are suspect even Chandler himself as he¿s not sure where he was at the time of the murder the last thing he remembers is being at one of his favorite hangouts the bar. The Chief wants the investigation stopped as it looks bad on the department. But Chandler must find out who did this even if it was himself. He enlists the help of his buddies Jake Woods and Clarence who are always tag teaming to try to get Chandler saved. But Chandler can¿t believe a good God would allow murders to happen, the death of his wife and two year old son and the torn relationships with his daughters, one of which is missing. But time is running out someone has been attempting to kill Chandler and even goes so far as to poison his best friend and bulldog Mike Hammer, Mulch for short who loves bacon and beer. Chandler rushing against time to solve the crime before the murderer gets him just as he¿s reconnected with one of his daughters, Kendra as they attempt to start a new relationship, who also has a connection to Palatine. Will Mulch survive? Will Chandler solve the murder and find God in the process? What if Chandler is the murderer or even one of his friends on the squad? See what happens as this thriller unfolds with all the twists and turns you¿ll be amazed at the outcome. This book is absolutely amazing! It¿s Sam Spade and C.S. Lewis all rolled into one. Forget Christian fiction this book deserves to be on the best sellers list! It¿s as suspenseful as a John Grisham novel. The author Randy Alcorn who has written twenty five novels does an awesome job with this page turner. You¿ll laugh, you¿ll cry even get mad as you read ¿ you won¿t be able to put this one down! Actually this is the third novel in the line of mysteries Deadline and Dominion being the other two which have also received rave reviews. This reviewer loved the Sherlock Holmes quotes before each chapter and you¿ll see heaven come alive as Chandler¿s friends and family that have passed on discuss Ollie with the Carpenter, Jesus. You¿ll cry as Carly, Jake¿s daughter dies and meets Jesus and really see Hell as Palatine finds himself there after his murder. A must read for any Christian but great for the unsaved as the questions unfold from Chandler as he questions God¿s existence. Even the discussion questions in the back of the book make it great for a book group or reaching the unsaved. So as the saying goes taped on Ollie¿s refrigerator ¿Examine the evidence. Then follow wherever it leads.¿ Don¿t miss this suspense thriller as it is a must, great read and one of the best of 2007 novels - Christian or not.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I love all Randy Alcorn's characters in this series but Ollie just kept me enthralled with his humor and cynicism. I can't wait for the next one if there is one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Ingenious

    Randy Alcorns 'Deception' is remarkably written. The ingenuity of some lines are astonishing.I loved the twist&turns all the way to the final chapters,weaved with so much criminal intelligence and provoking scenarios.It is enjoyable,funny and intriguing. Ilove Randy's sense of humor through his detective Olie. The use of old songs and cliches and 'food for thought'are priceless.How easily we are decieved by things that are not what they seem Randy cleverly portrays.Another enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Page turner

    Deception is great read! There are many twists and turns and it kept me guessing. I especially liked the developing friendship of the lead characters and the practical, persuasive arguments for Christ. You won't want to put this one down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    Great Detective Story!

    Nothing is more important in a book than the characters, and Ollie Chandler became so real to me as I read this book that I wished he was my next door neighbor. He made me laugh out loud, even while the mystery he was enmeshed in kept me guessing to the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    A Good Read Deception is a well-written novel, with the classic

    A Good Read
    Deception is a well-written novel, with the classic mystery novel style. Randy Alcorn has done a great job of incorporating something so tragic as a murder with Christian teachings to help the lead detective solve a deeper mystery hidden within himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great read

    What a great book. I love all of Randy Alcorn's books. After reading this book you will come away with more than a great story but a life lesson. Please read the other books in this series. This is the last one. Highly reccommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Another great novel from Randy Alcorn. Ollie's character is very believable and I agree w/a previous reviewer, I wish he were a neighbor. Mr. Alcorn's humor is evident throughout-- I laughed out loud 'many times' while reading this on the beach this summer. Good plot and great story telling. As ever, Randy Alcorn makes you think of heaven. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Awesome!

    I love yet another of Alcorn's novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Loved this book!!

    Believable characters, an exciting plot that kept me guessing to the very end, and the perfect mixture of sobriety and comic relief. Entertaining, absolutely. But best of all it was thought provoking, and has the potential to be life-changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Deception: A great 'who done it' - with a very significant message

    Randy Alcorn¿s latest novel, Deception, is a masterfully written story. The detailed and meticulous plot takes several very interesting and surprising turns as we watch homicide detective Ollie Chandler untwist the lies, deceit and arrogant attitudes of the characters around him. Simultaneously, Alcorn forces Ollie to face and ultimately deal with his own pain and relational failures. As in his past novels, Alcorn also effectively weaves significant spiritual truth throughout the chapters as he inches Detective Chandler from cynic to skeptic to¿well, I won¿t give it away. I would highly recommend Deception to any murder mystery fan, but its potential spiritual impact is the reason I will be buying several copies for friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Randy Alcorn's best fiction book so far!

    I think Randy Alcorn's book Deception is his best fiction book yet. I couldn't put the book down. I love all the twists and turns he takes us on, and the funny one liners were priceless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Deception avoids Christian fiction pitfalls

    Today¿s Christian fiction is often in danger of falling prey to overdone themes and excessively sappy endings, or in some cases, lack of creativity and originality. Not so with Alcorn¿s newest novel. With Deception being almost 500 pages, I initially feared that the plot might soon become monotonous, but the plot twists and the question of ¿who done it¿ kept me hooked until the very end. I especially appreciated that Alcorn chose to write in the first person - his writing finds a fresh voice in the words and thoughts of the gruff yet likeable Detective Ollie Chandler. Alcorn¿s writing style in Deception is similar to that of its predecessor Deadline, but I found the characters more believable and the plot more intriguingly complicated. Those who enjoyed Deadline and Dominion will certainly not want to miss Deception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well written police procedural

    Thirty year police officer Ollie Chandler is irate that Portland Police Department Chief Lennox cuts a deal with the Oregon Tribune that enables a reporter to join him when he and his partner Manny Dumast work a homicide investigation. Ollie has not forgotten that fifteen years ago, the Tribune with no real facts or attempt to hear his side ruined his reputation by accusing him of racially motivated police brutality though he was exonerated for his use of force having saved lives, people still think of him as a racist pig. --- Reporter Clarence Abernathy is to be Ollie¿s shadow though they are friends or as close to that as a journalist and a cop can be. The case turns out to be the murder of Portland State University Professor William Paletine. As the clues mount, Ollie begins to believe a cop is the killer and that this peer knows him as some clues are to set him up to take the eventual fall, and that his previous too perfectly resolved arrest of Lincoln Caldwell on a homicide might also have been a cop frame. When another detective is murdered, Ollie feels even stronger that a cop is behind all three murders, but who that person is and proving it seems impossible as the evidence initially targets a detective with iron clad alibs and himself. --- DECEPTION is a well written police procedural starring a crusty alcoholic cop who pays homage to Rex Stout and others. The religious elements are brought forth during breakfast between Ollie, Clarence (see DOMINION) and Jake Woods (see DEADLINE), but are handled deftly to allow insight into the lead character still mourning the death of his beloved ¿Saint¿ Sharon and the estrangement with his two daughters though there are some heavenly scenes that feel intrusive to this earthbound mystery. Still this is a delightful whodunit as Ollie chewing his black juicy gum investigates a complex homicide with the media watching his every move. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2