Customer Reviews for

Deception Point

Average Rating 4
( 960 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(456)

4 Star

(279)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Best of Dan Brown

This book is simply wonderful, and I would even venture to say it is Brown's best work so far. A thrilling tale that takes the reader on an intellectual adventure.

posted by yoyokro on February 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

It's sad because I loved Dan Brown's Angels & Demons - but o

It's sad because I loved Dan Brown's Angels & Demons - but once you've read one of his books you've read them all. Same story line, just fill in the blank. I really wouldn't waste my money if I could do it over again if you've already read Angels & Demons or The...
It's sad because I loved Dan Brown's Angels & Demons - but once you've read one of his books you've read them all. Same story line, just fill in the blank. I really wouldn't waste my money if I could do it over again if you've already read Angels & Demons or The Da Vinci Code.

Boy meets girl. Uncover conspiracy. Bad guy is the person the book doesn't suspect/ helping the two protagonists. They have sex at the end.

EVERY TIME.

posted by lovingbookslovingnooks on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Cloud

    Goes to waterfall result eight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Saphira

    Blushed."Oh. Heh heh. Oops." She said vanisheing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    NOT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Deception Point. a good book to read to get away.

    I have just started to read books by Dan Brown. I found this book very interesting. It kept my interest and towards the end I couldn't put it down. If you like government and political fiction this book should be on your list to read. Just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely boring..

    I found Deception Point a really boring book. The plot just switches between politics and NASA too much and there's no interest. There is some action however, and suspense at the beginning, but it's certainly not as good as The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons.

    I never connected with the characters and never felt pulled into the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    A real bomb

    After reading all the other Dan Brown books I was looking forward to the only book I hadn't read. What a disappointment. Most of the story was totally unbelievable, not even good scifi. I am not sure I will ever read another Dan Brown book again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Ridiculous!

    I went on vacation to the beach, and knew the book I took, Dan Brown's 'Deception Point', was not great literature, but might be entertaining, like his 'DaVinci Code.' It WAS entertaining, but only as an example of bad, formulaic writing. Brown serves up a lengthy series of over-the-top, improbable events that roll out in such quick succession that soon you are shaking your head at the absurdity. The dialogue is so clumsy it makes one wince. By the end I was laughing and groaning as Dan Brown seemed bent on topping himself with each new chapter. I read the worst parts out loud to my wife. It reminded me of something a 14-year-old boy might write. There are plenty of great writers and real literature out there. Don't waste your time with Dan Brown's work, especially this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Absolutely Awful... Very Unbelieveable

    Suprise, the same plot once again. Random hero struggles to make it through confusing times when, oh suprise! suddenly the hero finds a love interest with the co-star of the book. Near the end it is revealed that the Hero's best friend/mentor is actually the lone person heading the conspiracy. Later ending with cheasy/sappy ending about falling love with the co-star. Dan Brown also seems to have made up the majority of his 'facts'. Everytime something happens that seems impossible to get out of, oh surprise, a new magical technology comes along, or she/he just 'happens' to know that the government is listening to this frequency at this exact time to radio for help... always, same plot, and same poorly researched facts accopanying an unbelieveable and coincidental storyline... save your money and buy the National Enquirer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Deception Point fooled me

    Deception Point fooled me. I thought i was buying a good book. God, this was one of the most tedious and absurd thriller novel attampts i have ever attempted to read. Deception is cut from the most basic, cookie cutter formulas there is..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    What a shame!

    After reading Da Vinci code and digital fortress, both were excellent. I was looking forward to another installment of Dan Brown. Deception point is simply sub-par and a disappointment for such a gifted author; (1.) Too similar to DF, substitute NRO for NSA, and you have the same plotline, same chases, same killer, same heroine, etc. (2.) The buildup for the 'discovery' that would uplift NASA, restore the President's campaign, and shatter the senator's campaign was too hyped with very little substance. Fossils in a meteorite, big deal! (3.) The lame attempt at misdirection of who the villain is Pickering vs. Tench was simply childish. (4.) The same goes for the 'special industry group' trying to buy an election. BORING! I'm very disappointed. MAR

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    Your average mystery.

    The book I read is called Deception Point. It is about a general and his daughter gets caught up in this dangerous mission. These terrorists who want the security codes for the warheads at the Pentagon hunt down the general¿s daughter. This book is to complicated for people younger then 17 years. The concepts are confusing and they jump around for one story to another. When they are talking about the daughter being hunted they will jump to talking about the general at the base. The author didn¿t make the concept of the book easier to appeal to a younger group of readers. The author didn¿t pull me in at the beginning so I wasn¿t interested in the book. After the first five chapters I lost all my interest in the book. The author should have put more action in the beginning to attract the reader in. Also this book seemed a lot like to average government mystery book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2