BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Deception of the Emerald Ring (Pink Carnation Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Not as good ....

    Not as good as the first two, but still a fun, quick read. Hope no. 4 is better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    I loved it

    I didnt care for it as much as the 1st 2 but i was totally into the book. I couldnt pull myself away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite of the Series

    This is my favorite book out of the Pink Carnation series, perhaps because the historical heroine, Letty, isn't a madcap adventurer like Amy, or a self-indulgent younger sister of a great English operative... she's a nobody, a younger sister that no one thinks of despite the fact that she makes sure everything is good for everyone else. Finally, we get to see a little about what other people think of this Pink Carnation character, who have no connection with the operative. This romance, despite its hasty beginning, is more organic to me, much more believable, because it seems the characters are actually meant for one another. There are obvious clues that let you think this, whereas the other books...well, the first one was "lust first, love after," and the second was "childhood friends turned lovers."

    As always, an entertaining series, well-written, a good amount of history and other allusions thrown in, something great if you want a bit of fluff in-between your heavier reading.

    * Review originally posted at my blog, Worderella Writes: http://worderella.com/2008/03/book-the-deception-of-the-emerald-ring *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    Sweet, but not quite up to its predecessors

    Though a very pleasant read, Emerald Ring for me did not live up to the first two novels in the series - primarily because Letty Alsworthy (with my apologies, as she is very sweet) just isn't quite glamorous enough to be completely satisfying as the heroine of a historical romance novel. Even the 'good' sister needn't be dowdy (see Elizabeth and Jane Bennet or Elinor and Marianne Dashwood). The nod to Mr. and Mrs. Bennet of P&P via the Alsworthy parents is a little heavy-handed, and their dialogue sometimes too close to Austen to seem original (maybe that's the intent and meant as an inside joke, but it comes across as too derivative). Geoffrey, a true Enlightenment hero with both intellectual prowess and physical courage, needs a sweeter girl than Mary but a more polished one than Letty (although the big love scene is both charming and convincing). And his hand is forced, which seems unfair, even though Letty's intentions are innocent and despite the happy ending. The espionage plot is well done, and Eloise and Colin finally make some welcome progress of their own. Like Lauren herself says, I'd rather 'hang out' with Henrietta and Miles than any of her other couples (so far, at least) - their appearance in Emerald Ring is one of its brightest spots. Give them a sequel of their own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is the third time a charm?

    Well, is the third time a charm? Yes and no. Ms. Willig continues to stick with her formulaic writing. The plot is as predictable as its predecessors but, it is still enjoyable. Once again, I recommend for those who are interested in historical romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the first of these were good. I couldn't even get interested after reading the end

    This is far too predictable. Nice wording, phrasing... but I couldn't get into it. Can't wait to pass it on to someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Delightful

    I love this series of books. I was a bit disappointed in the ending becasue it kind of sets you up for the next book--but she keeps her characters true to who they are and how they behave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    endearing

    The book itself is a quick read and absolutely endearing, but the actual historical correlations are not as strong through-out the book as in the first book. This being the 3rd of a series, I also think it rather important to start with the 1st (Secret History of the Pink Carnation) instead of jumping right in. Although the book stands on its own, there are details and layers to the plot that would just be less lovely (even though there are quick recaps). <BR/>Overall, even though there is a historial thread running through the story, to me this book is primarily a book simply for the joy of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    I've Read Them All

    I just finished the 5th book in this series and they just keep getting better. I'm ready for number 6!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    If only her next book was out!!!

    All of the Carnation books have been excellent. They just keep getting better and I am already on the waiting list for the next in the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Lots of fun!

    This book was a wonderful combination of modern and regency romance with some exciting mystery thrown in. I'd never heard of the author, but took a chance on her first book, The Secret of the Pink Canrnation,and have eagerly snapped up book two, The Masque of the Black Tulip, and this third book of the series. This is the most exciting book of the three in terms of political intrigue and the advancing of the modern heroine's romance. The author is obviously growing in expertise with each book and I eagerly await more in this delightful series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Can't wait for the next installment!

    I couldn't put this book down! I've read all of the Pink Carnation books and enjoyed every one. When I started this book, I was afraid that it would be too similar the the two previous, but Willig does a great job introducing new twists and scenarios for the characters. I loved it! I can't wait to read the fourth book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    When's the next one coming???!!!

    I shared the first book in this series, The Pink Carnation, with 2 teacher friends, who both went out and bought their own copies of it, along with the sequels. Now we're all hooked and enjoying our guilty escapes into romantic, Regency era life. We're eagerly awaiting the next one, as we want to find out what's happening with Eloise and Colin...so, Lauren, please don't let that law firm work you too hard on the partner track, and find time to write for your fans!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    i cannot get enough of these books

    i read the secret history of the pink carnation and i have been hooked on these books. i have loved the second and third in the series. it can get a little confusing trying to remember what happened in the present for the last books but i absolutely love these books. the format is neat, how she switches from past to present so smoothly. the dialogue is great, character development is awesome!! and these books are a fun and interesting read for people who enjoy well written romances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Harvard Ph.D. aspirant Eloise Kelly researches her third potential nineteenth century female spy (see THE SECRET HISTORY OF THE PINK CARNATION and THE MASQUE OF THE BLACK TULIP) as she begins to find information on nineteen years old Letty Alsworthy. Apparently, Letty married Lord Geoffrey Pinchingdale-Snipe, her older sister Mary¿s fiancé. This happened because she, the younger sibling, tried to prevent Mary from making a mistake that ironically ended with Letty making a mistake alas the consequence turned out to be her hurried marriage to Geoffrey.----------------------- The League of the Purple Gentian sends Geoffrey to Ireland to prevent a rebellion. Letty assumes he is fleeing her so she investigates where he may have run off to after they ran off and married. She cleverly traces him to Dublin where she concludes her new spouse is a spymaster. Believing in supporting one¿s husband, Letty is active in his secret vocation though her bumbling amateur ways causes Geoffrey much consternation as she keeps trying to don his black cloak.-------------- This is a terrific amusing historical romance that is at its best when the story line remains in the nineteenth century. When Eloise periodically takes center stage, the plot feels disrupted. Still this is a superb tale filled with warm characters in dangerous situations turned ironically humorous. Now if Eloise can be kept to pre and post game commentary, Lauren Willig¿s colorful female spy series would be perfect.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5