Customer Reviews for

Deceptively Delicious: Simple Secrets to Get Your Kids Eating Good Food

Average Rating 3.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, but not perfect

First, I want to address those people who think 1/2 cup per recipe of pureed vegetables is not doing any good: You're plain wrong. When vegetables are pureed it breaks down the plant cell walls, which helps release MORE vitamins than you could injest if you ate them ra...
First, I want to address those people who think 1/2 cup per recipe of pureed vegetables is not doing any good: You're plain wrong. When vegetables are pureed it breaks down the plant cell walls, which helps release MORE vitamins than you could injest if you ate them raw. Second, pureed vegetables are CONCENTRATED, so you get much more nutritional bang for your buck--have you ever seen how much fresh spinach it takes to make a 1/2 cup of pureed spinach? Third, isn't something better than nothing? The more vitamins you get your kids--and self--to eat, the better. Next, to all of the self-righteous you're-a-bad-parent-if-your-kids-won't-eat-fresh-veggies-people out there: You're also plain wrong. First, I DO always have fresh or lighlty cooked veggies at every meal. I am not--nor do I think anyone else is--using these recipes as a substitute for general healthy eating. Second, we're all just doing the best we can as parents to raise healthy children, and I think we should each do what works for us and our children. Last, I think the majority of the recipes are DELICIOUS! I have tried over a dozen of the recipes, and the only minor complaint I have is that some of the cake-type baked goods are more dense than their traditional counterparts. With that said, I absolutely LOOOOOVE the chicken nuggets--I think they're best with the broccoli puree. The blueberry oatmeal bars are also divine. As a final note, I can always get my kids to eat the desserts, but I haven't been as lucky with the entrees. Still, if my kids are eating desserts that are healthful, instead of the usual nutrient-void fare out there, then I don't have much to complain about.

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

disappointing recipes...

i love to cook and usually take recipes and doctor them to my family's liking. i don't think it's a big deal to toss in some 'special' ingredients into foods. the concept behind this book makes sense but it's certainly not new. my problem with it however, is that the...
i love to cook and usually take recipes and doctor them to my family's liking. i don't think it's a big deal to toss in some 'special' ingredients into foods. the concept behind this book makes sense but it's certainly not new. my problem with it however, is that the recipes are terrible. nothing about tossing in a few healthy ingerdients says that it also has to taste bad. i've returned the book but have done some reseach and found that the 'sneaky chef' is a much better book with better and more favorful recipes. i have to admit the only reason i bought deceptively delicious was because so many people were talking about it. the ideas and concepts are good tips to have, the recipes are not.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    It has a lot of creative ways to get different kinds of fruits a

    It has a lot of creative ways to get different kinds of fruits and vegetable into your kids meals. I only know of a few kids who actually eat plain vegetables the way adults do, the rest of us have to try our best to get them to eat them. I've made and tried quite a few recipes in this book and was surprised on how tasty they were. Some recipes take a little too long to prepare, but you have to look at the long term effect ... your children. I really like the chocolate chip cookies ... who would of thought they were made w/chick peas!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Sample

    The sample doesnt give you much to go on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    Isn't there a similar book out there that was published before this one?

    This book does well if you are a parent trying to give your children a healthier diet.'without them knowing!'. OR if you are trying to improve yours. Interestingly enough, this reminds me alot of 'The Sneaky Chef' by Missy Lapine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Nutritious but pretty tasteless

    My 3yr old eats veggies but I thought this would be a good way to enrich his favorite foods with even more. Unfortunately, after 5 dinner dishes, the consenus is they are tasteless. Recipes are easy but I end up eating all the leftovers myself just so I wont waste food. If you find ways to spice them up, that would be ideal -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Great Book, awesome recipes. However there are very little recipes to play with. The chicken fingers are great and easy to make the banana bread, pancakes, stew, etc.. I love preparing the puree's I do them about once a month and freeze the rest for storage. It is time consuming but once you work out a routine it kind of helps out in the long run..I usaully prepare my dishes on Sunday then freeze for the week. My life is crazy with my childrens schedules my husband and as a family we are constantly on the go so dishes prepared earlier during the week seems to work best for me. Casaroles, Lasanga, even seasoning meats are great for storing for later meals. No problems with the kids eating the dishes just as long as they don't see me preparing them. See no evil hear no evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Deceptive is right!

    Why should average suberban moms take a culinary clue from a Celeb wife? Because she has an army full of nannies and chefs helping her cook, clean, chop and puree? Just another example of Celebs trying to become a household name...buy if you dare.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Seriously just skim through it

    The only thing that makes her recipies different is that she adds a puree to everything. Just add one of the folowing: coliflower/ carrot/ sweet potatoe/ broccli/ or spinch puree to everything you make and you too can trick your kids and your hubby.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Picky eaters

    I am the mother of three children ages 12, 10, and 7. My girls, 12, and 10, are pretty good eaters and eat veggies without a problem, and with little coaxing by me. My son, on the other hand, is the most difficult child to feed. He eats nothing, and you may as well forget veggies. If he sees the veggies hidden in his food, he will not eat. I never thought to puree them, which, now seems so obvious. I can't even get him to eat meat, but that is another story. I tried the mac and chese recipe on him because mac and cheese is one thing he will eat, and it was a complete failure. He will not eat homemade mac and cheese. I should have remembered that. So, I thought I pureed the butternut squash, and sweet potatoes for nothing, but the next day, I made him boxed mac and cheese for dinner, and decided to try again. I put pureed sweet potatoes in it because the butternut squash was frozen. Well, to my surprise, he ate the whole bowl. So, my suggestion is if you have extremely picky eaters, some recipes may not fly with your kids, but you can hide the same veggies in your own recipes that your kids are used to. The book gives great ideas, but I know they won't work on all kids. I am not brave enough though to try the green veggies. He would spot them in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    Not great

    I tried several of her recipes and I thought they were ok at best. My kids didn't think much of them of either. The chicken nuggets recipe uses the puree like an egg wash to coat the breadcrumbs! Also , I don't think eating junkfood is the way to get a child to eat their veggies. You wouldn't give a child carrot cake so they can get some carrots. Also the book The Sneaky Chef has the same concept, published much earlier and has similar recipes, my kids actually preferred them better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2