Customer Reviews for

Deceptively Delicious: Simple Secrets to Get Your Kids Eating Good Food

Average Rating 3.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Excellent, but not perfect

First, I want to address those people who think 1/2 cup per recipe of pureed vegetables is not doing any good: You're plain wrong. When vegetables are pureed it breaks down the plant cell walls, which helps release MORE vitamins than you could injest if you ate them ra...
First, I want to address those people who think 1/2 cup per recipe of pureed vegetables is not doing any good: You're plain wrong. When vegetables are pureed it breaks down the plant cell walls, which helps release MORE vitamins than you could injest if you ate them raw. Second, pureed vegetables are CONCENTRATED, so you get much more nutritional bang for your buck--have you ever seen how much fresh spinach it takes to make a 1/2 cup of pureed spinach? Third, isn't something better than nothing? The more vitamins you get your kids--and self--to eat, the better. Next, to all of the self-righteous you're-a-bad-parent-if-your-kids-won't-eat-fresh-veggies-people out there: You're also plain wrong. First, I DO always have fresh or lighlty cooked veggies at every meal. I am not--nor do I think anyone else is--using these recipes as a substitute for general healthy eating. Second, we're all just doing the best we can as parents to raise healthy children, and I think we should each do what works for us and our children. Last, I think the majority of the recipes are DELICIOUS! I have tried over a dozen of the recipes, and the only minor complaint I have is that some of the cake-type baked goods are more dense than their traditional counterparts. With that said, I absolutely LOOOOOVE the chicken nuggets--I think they're best with the broccoli puree. The blueberry oatmeal bars are also divine. As a final note, I can always get my kids to eat the desserts, but I haven't been as lucky with the entrees. Still, if my kids are eating desserts that are healthful, instead of the usual nutrient-void fare out there, then I don't have much to complain about.

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

disappointing recipes...

i love to cook and usually take recipes and doctor them to my family's liking. i don't think it's a big deal to toss in some 'special' ingredients into foods. the concept behind this book makes sense but it's certainly not new. my problem with it however, is that the...
i love to cook and usually take recipes and doctor them to my family's liking. i don't think it's a big deal to toss in some 'special' ingredients into foods. the concept behind this book makes sense but it's certainly not new. my problem with it however, is that the recipes are terrible. nothing about tossing in a few healthy ingerdients says that it also has to taste bad. i've returned the book but have done some reseach and found that the 'sneaky chef' is a much better book with better and more favorful recipes. i have to admit the only reason i bought deceptively delicious was because so many people were talking about it. the ideas and concepts are good tips to have, the recipes are not.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    pitty no Dutch translation

    i liked whar i did see on the Oprah Winfrey show. Pitty that there is no Dutch translation avaleble, That reads a lot easyer for me. But I still like the idea a lot.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    It is important to me that my family eats very healthy, and this book has helped me bring my cooking to a whole new level. I have a daughter who loves broccoli and a son who won't even look at it. It is exciting for me to give them foods with the veggies baked right in. I tell everyone I know now to get this book, it has changed the way my family eats. My food is now healthier and tastes SO much better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    EXCELLENT FOR GASTRIC BYPASS PATIENTS

    This cookbook is wonderful for bariatric patients. The entrees are tender, moist, and easy to eat!! Plus the vegetables are good--and fun to try--I never realized that these could be so good--and so versatile. I just thought veggies meant carrot sticks!! Thank you for the education and helping me apply some new healthy foods to my diet! Plus the lay-out of the book is really fun and easy to read!! Well done!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    My friend made a bunch of these...

    and they were great. These muffins with squash were so yummy and moist. I won't make unhealthy food so I can't wait to get this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    reviewer

    Brilliant! My son eats broccoli and will choke down a bite of green beans, but that is about it for veggies. I can't wait to try the chicken nuggets. I don't feel that it is hiding vegetables at all. As Jessica suggested while on Oprah, vegetables are still on the plate so he is used to seeing them, but as I mom I don't have to worry that my son is not eating enough of what he should. He will eat vegetables prepared the traditional way when he's ready. I was in my 30's before I learned to like vegetables so I know first hand that requiring a child to eat something they don't like doesn't work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    IT'LL GET YOUR KIDS EATING ANYTHING!

    It's a great cookbook, I really loved it . My kids ate every thing without knowing that spinach was inside the chocolat cake.It's got good healthy recipies for everyone to eat. Great taste for all the recipies overall a GREAT COOKBOOK! I recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    Glad your children are Perfect and eat all their veggies

    To all you parents griping about hiding veggies in our childrens food. Go fly a kite, and leave the rest of us alone. This book is GREAT! My kids just ate zuccini and mushrooms and did not have a clue. Do I feel guilty? NO! If you dont like the book. FINE! But dont criticize the parenting skills of those of us just doing whatever it takes to raise healthy children.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    This is an excellent, healthy, delicious book!

    I've read the reviews posted, and the other info. on the net regarding Jessica and the Sneaky Chef. In this day and age, aren't all recipes about the same? There are about 5 different books out (published in the last few years) that are all similar! As for the recipes, some are difficult at first and require tweaking to your family's taste (just as the book states, if you read it through!). My 2 1/2 year old and 16 month old have been gobbling up this food! The egg puffs recipe was the first we tried, and my family loved them! The cheese sticks didn't go over great, but I think it was an error in how I formed them - they came out a little flat. As for being bland, I don't think they are at all for children. Sure, my husband and I might like a bit more spice to some things, but my kids don't. As for the hiding veggies and not teaching the kids to eat 'seen' veggies - did any of you ever think of serving the meals just as you would any other meal: with a veggie next to it? This way your kids eat the main meal and, maybe, the side veggie. The meals aren't suppose to replace eating veggies entirely, just a way to help sneak them in and make sure they are getting some! After my 2 1/2 year old eats, say the chocolate pudding, I tell her what was in it. She has said, 'I don't like avacado but I like it in this!' Try this book, tweak the recipes if you need to, the system is great! Even my husband and I feel healthier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Finally tested recipes with hidden veggies

    They are not all great, but we all have different taste... My favorite recipes are the brownies, the coffee cake 'which I call pudding cake and omit the nuts' and the banana bread 'which we call banana cake'... even changing what they are called makes my kids want to eat them more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    My wife asked me to read this!

    Our 2 daughters, ages 5 and 9 have traditionally given us a challenge when it came to eating dinner. Breakfast and lunches are ok, but dinner HAD been the toughy. So, my wife heard about this book, and asked me to pick it up. I did, and let me tell you---my wife was away on business so, not only did I get to read the book, but also try it out! BOTH Elisa and Angela (our daughters) have been eating so much better! While this isn't a miracle cure (as I would prefer we didn't have to hide some of the foods), both my wife and I are resting easier knowing that we are getting our daughters a better level of nutrition. Thank you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    Move over Jerry!

    A great book! It's time for American's to become more health conscience and this is a book to get you started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2007

    Lowfat = Heart Healthy

    The point of eating lowfat is not about what your kids weigh. It's about keeping them healthy with low cholesterol. They will not always be thin unless you cook lowfat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    The recipes are amazing

    I love the way this book is organized. The recipes are easy to follow and the pictures are an added bonus. I think every family needs to have this book in its kitchen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Very cute cookbook

    This book is a very cute cookbook and has tons of pictures. The way it lays out all the instructions for the purees and how to cook the veggies was wonderful. I made the applesauce muffins for my husband to take to work and everyone wanted the recipe (even after he told them that there was butternut squash in them). Fun way to cook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    Why didn't I think of that?

    This is one of those books and ideas where I'm sure many of us are saying 'why didn't I think of that?' It is refreshing to know that someone married to a cultural icon can be so down to earth. Makes me wish I lived next door to her so I could borrow a cup of sugar. Hopefully, she would be able to give me a healthier alternative to the sugar! Thank you so much, Jessica Seinfeld.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    Outstanding!

    Deceptively Delicious is an outstanding cookbook that actually offers sound advice on helping the over-weight person shed a few pounds. The recipes are delicious and the advice is helpful! Order your copy today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Working Mom

    Great book! My son loved when I made fresh trout with her recipe! He asked for more 'fish sticks'! I have tried several of the recipes and my family has liked them all. I prepared a bunch of purees in advance so that when I am busy preparing dinner after work it is easy and quick to add something healthy. It is easy to learn to improvise with your own meals as well. Thanks Jessica!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Love this book!!!

    I have made four recipes in this book so far and my kids love the food. Everything is so simple and I have all of the ingredients in my pantry.. No special ingredients...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Not deceptive but a way of life.....

    I must have been the only one not watching the Oprah show! I heard about Jessica's book in the October Parents magazine. She stated in the article 'If you cook this way long enough, they'll get used to the fact that veggies belong in their food.' She also mentions in her book to serve to whole fruit and veggies on the side too. My son is really good about eating vegetables and fruit but I am always looking for new ideas. I like the idea of using purees and giving vegetables on the side. I don't think this is a way to deceive your child but it will teach them this is the way to cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    It's not deception, it's nutrition

    I think Jessica has really touched on something. I am buying this book, not to deceive my kids and husband, but to increase the amount of fiber, and veggies we consume on a daily basis. I think it is a creative way to do just that. And yes, I could just add puree to recipes, but I never would have thought to add puree to cookies, or eggs. Her book gives ideas and suggestions. Jessica still recommends that you put vegetables on the plate so that they will see that they still need to eat them. I don't see this as deception, you are just giving them good nutrition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 59 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3