Customer Reviews for

Decision Points

Average Rating 4
( 5371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2389)

4 Star

(1214)

3 Star

(891)

2 Star

(401)

1 Star

(476)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

140 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

Wow, a game changer

Upon leaving office I though I knew everything about Bush. I had my mind made up that he was a mediocre president that made a lot of deicsions that weren't good for America. Upon reading this book, and getting an indepth look at the man and his approach to decision ma...
Upon leaving office I though I knew everything about Bush. I had my mind made up that he was a mediocre president that made a lot of deicsions that weren't good for America. Upon reading this book, and getting an indepth look at the man and his approach to decision making, life and defending our country, I have to say I have a whole new perspective of the man. After reading this, I fully understand that every decision he made was what he honestly felt was best for the country, even keeping Dick Cheney as Veep, and honestly knowing some inside details, I probably would have made all of these decisions just like he did. After reading this, I honestly hope history will take a kinder view of him, because I sure as heck am.

As for mechanics, it was a smooth read. It was researched and written well. The approach was thoroughly original for a presidential account and it wasn't a book where I was left wondering if this guy was really so full of himself. Decision points was classy, he didn't Obama bash, or Clinton bash, or place blame for anyone else. It was inspirational, stimulating, and absorbing; I wanted to read the next page, then just one more page, and on until the book was done.... and then I wanted more. Most of all, it was enlightening, it was a game changer and a book that everyone could and should read, especially those like me who didn't necessarily agree with a lot of the decisions he made.

posted by DarthDregan on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

143 out of 169 people found this review helpful.

WHO ARE YOU PEOPLE????

The book's not available yet? So your Negative reviews are simply...Ignorant. Shouldn't people have to BUY the book from Barnes and Noble to be able to write review's here?? Or is B&N just another place for left sided political Bashing? I logged in to pre-order this boo...
The book's not available yet? So your Negative reviews are simply...Ignorant. Shouldn't people have to BUY the book from Barnes and Noble to be able to write review's here?? Or is B&N just another place for left sided political Bashing? I logged in to pre-order this book. I can't wait to read it! Then and ONLY then will I review it!

posted by lynnmlp on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1214 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 61
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasant surprise!

    I have never been a fan of President George W. Bush, however, after seeing the interviews conducted with him in regards to this book, I was interested enough to make the purchase. It has turned out to be a pleasantly surprising read and I recommend it to everyone. Regardless of your political loyalty, this book sheds a human and intelligent light on President Bush that most of us claimed to have never seen. The book does jump around a bit from topic to topic, but he warns of things not being in any real chronological order, but as he recalls it from his days leading up to, during and post-White House. Did not care for President Bush as the leader of our Country, but he has proven to be a decent, honorable and respectable man in this book that made real efforts to do the right thing even in the face of adversity. I have enjoyed reading it on my new Nook Color also, the pictures show beautifully and with great detail. May be kinda hard to get an autograph if the opportunity ever presents itself!

    51 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Great Counter To All The Spin

    This was my first presidential autobiography to read. With all the vitriol being spewed about this man, I wanted to read for myself what our former president had to say about many of the issues and challenges that he faced, and the reasoning behind the decisions to counter those challenges. President Bush's sense of humor comes through in these pages. His leadership comes through even more so. Never before, at least in recent history, has America faced such challenges, both nationally and internationally. Without a doubt, Bush (43), made the best decisions with the information he had and stuck by his guns. He made the tough calls when they needed to be made. That's leadership. I highly recommend this book. I especially recommend this book to all you folks out there who actually believe what you're being told every night on the nightly news.

    45 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Politics aside this is a man of character.

    This book is not about self aggrandizement. There is very little effort made to rewrite history, as one may suspect. Over the years, Pres. Bush has been accused of being obtuse. This book corrects that perception. It's interesting to see our country from his perspective. Agree or disagree I at least know why. I enjoyed this book.

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Don't let your politics define you - read the book to see how leaders cope, err and correct.

    President Bush openly and honestly lays out what most would find difficult to say - our personal fallings. But without failure we don't always become better. Learning from mistakes creates character. Here in only the first few pages the President shares his character. I was taken by the last paragraph on page 6 where he writes:

    "Robins death made me sad, too, in a seven-year old way. I was sad to lose my sister and future playmate. I was sad because I saw my parents hurting so much. It would be many years before I could understand the difference between my sorrow and the wrenching pain my parents felt from losing their daughter".

    30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    Easy, Interesting

    Was not a fan of Bush but after seeing his interview on Oprah became interested in what he had to say about his life and the "why's" of some of the decisions he made during his term in office. I came away with a new respect for him. He has lived a very privileged life. I still don't think he was one of the most caring Presidents we've had but I do think he tried and wasn't as bad of a person as I thought he was. The right decisions at the right times got him where he wanted to be. He sought extensive council before he made decisions. He is an educated, intelligent man. Not ignorant or stupid as he was portrayed in the media. He appeared to be driven to follow in his father's footsteps his entire life. Little did he know he would be faced with some of the most tragic events in the modern day history of this country. I recommend reading this book because it's a biography of his life, and let's us see how and why he made some of the decisions that are still affecting us today.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very good Read

    POTUS Bush's Memoir is like no other political book I've read, and trust me I read them alot. While I do not agree with every decision (mostly financial) this will certainly help explain why he did some of things he did during his time in office. I highly recommend this book as it brings you his perspective being the CIC not some random Senator or News Commentator just spouting off. I think this will go a long way in judging his legacy.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Excellent read.

    I wasn't his biggest fan while he was President but after reading this book his stock has soared with me. A good and decent man but not a perfect one. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in finding out what his presidency was really about and not what you were spoon fed by the media.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read! Added Perspective to 43's Presidency

    Regardless of political point of view, this well written book provides perspective into the decisions made during some very difficult and dramatic events in our history. Certain things he would have liked to have said during his Presidency but didn't (and explained in the book) show a thoughtful, quality man. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    Great Read...answered many questions!

    Really enjoyed this book, it answered many questions I had that were unanswered! I always liked President Bush and give him many kudos for his strength and courage he had and his belief system he had for our country!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    Very informative, even if you didn't like the guy

    I spent more time researching the things he said in this book than actually reading it. When it comes down to it after the first few chapters explaining how he got into politics, the book is simply "this is the issue, this is what i thought about it, this is why i did what i did." I researched a lot of the statistics he uses in the book at they're pretty accurate. This man wasn't the best leader ever but he went where his heart led him. He screwed up a few times and he admits it in his book. Not the best president, but he seems like a good man.

    Like he said in his book (and I researched) Truman, one of our greatest presidents, had an approval rating in the 20 percentile in his last year of presidency. Which I found was even lower than Nixon when he resigned after watergate. But when history looks back on Truman he's never been rated lower then 9th of all our presidents. Maybe the same will be true of Bush, who knows?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    Highly recommended!

    Refreshing reading... admits, in hindsoght, he would do some things differently, but doesn't disparage current or past administrations!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    Recommended

    I liked it!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    It was beneficial to see the events from his perspective. I enj

    It was beneficial to see the events from his perspective. I enjoyed the structure of the book which made it easy reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Excellent Book -- I was surprised

    President Bush's book had changed my view on a couple of his decisions while in office. The book shows a man who is very different from what the stereotype shows. While biographical in nature, the book focuses more on key decisions during his terms (hence the name "Decision Points").

    As he delves into deep detail into the circumstances around why he made some of his decisions, the author display exceptionally clear logic and explanation as to why various things happened during his administration.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    good book

    this book really give insite to the presidency of Bush and the things he had to go through to get stuff done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    a good read about making tough choices

    no matter how you feel about his administration i imagine this read will change somme of your thoughts as it offers valuable insight into a difficult job done by a mman willing to be a leader

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Excellent Insights

    Decision Points is the autobiography of former President George W. Bush. It is an account of some of the big decisions that President Bush had to make throughout his life, mostly while he was serving as the President of the United States. I thought that the book gave insights into what everyone seems to wonder at one point or another in their lives: "What would it be like to be President?" Another thing that I thought the book illustrated well was that it never once portrayed President Bush as being a perfect person. Throughout his presidency it seemed like there were two opinions that were fed to the general public. Either President Bush was a genius, or he was an idiot. The book showed that President Bush, even in his early years, faced trial, and opposition, and even made his fair share of mistakes. I thought that the highlights of the book were the sections that were directly based on the events that happened on September 11, 2001. Obviously this event probably shaped the future of President Bush's presidency more than any other event that happened while he was in office. The thoughts and feelings that he dealt with during this time were fascinating to read and learn more about. Of the attack on America Bush said "My blood was boiling. We were going to find out who did this, and kick their (a--)." The book was really an enjoyable read to me because I feel like President Bush did not keep any of his emotions hidden. President Bush didn't try and hide anything that I have ever heard criticized about him and he faced issues that there may have been head on. I think that we can all learn this lesson from President Bush, and how he approached this book. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants to get a fair assessment of the events during President Bush's presidency. This book has not only helped me to understand President Bush as a person and President, but has also opened my mind to reading other autobiographies of future Presidents, even if I don't agree with their decisions, to gain a fair understanding of the job they have done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    a must read!

    it is easy to judge and criticize, but after reading this book one can really understand the hardships of bush's 8yrs of presidency. i have a new found respect for the guy. there is no doubt that he loves his country, his people and has immense love for his family. the media has portrayed him in the worst light but when history is written, his name will definitely shine. he is probably one of the most honest presidents we have seen so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Didn't think much of him as President.

    Didn't think much of him as President but after reading the book I have changed my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    Insight Into the Office and the Man Decision Points has been in

    Insight Into the Office and the Man

    Decision Points has been in my to-be-read pile, along with several other non-fiction books, for quite some time. I’ve been so caught up in fiction that it took me a while to find the mood for political fare. I wish I hadn’t waited so long to read President Bush’s memoir. It’s a thought-provoking and eye-opening account of his years in office.

    Bush doesn’t give us a rundown of everyday life in the White House. Instead, he focuses on his decision making process and how he reached major decisions during his presidency. It’s written conversationally and leaves no doubt about how he felt personally and professionally about the events he chose to write about.

    As someone who consciously lived through and remembers the issues and events discussed, I can say this book filled in a lot of blanks for me. There is humor, horror, pride and disdain within its pages. It shows the impossible positions that all presidents find themselves, the power politics holds over issues that should have nothing to do with politics and the path one man took in order to stick to his moral and ethical principals.

    Whether you supported President Bush or not, you’ll find something in Decision Points that will make you look again at the events he discusses. It may not change your mind, but it will give you a different perspective. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys political history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1214 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 61