Customer Reviews for

Declan's Cross (Sharpe & Donovan Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    If you¿re looking for an escape from the recent crazy weather, a

    If you’re looking for an escape from the recent crazy weather, author Carla Neggers’ DECLAN’S CROSS will transport you to beautiful Ireland.




    Narrator Carol Monda does a terrific job bringing the characters to life. She gives each character their own unique voice with her mannerisms.




    FBI Agents Colin Donovan and Emma Sharpe are enjoying some down time in Ireland. Meanwhile, marine biologist Julianne Maroney has come to Declan’s Cross to heal her broken heart after a split with Colin’s brother, Andy. She didn’t know Colin and Emma were in the Irish seaside village. She was to stay with a friend, Lindsey, but it seemed upon arriving that Lindsey was missing.




    Things change drastically for the trio when Lindsey is found dead. At first it looks like an accident, but then it appears Lindsey was pushed from a cliff to her death.




    A new layer is added when Lindsey’s father arrives in the village. He could possibly have a connection to a decade old art theft that Emma’s grandfather, a renowned art detective, investigated. The stolen art nor the thief have never been found.




    What follows is an intriguing story with a number of subplots all combining for a suspenseful tale. The story moves at a steady pace with twists and turns.




    The characters are realistic and well-developed. They have flaws and concerns readers can relate to. The interaction among family members adds depth to the characters.




    The author’s rich descriptions and eye for detail makes the reader/listener feel transported to Ireland. Her vivid accounts of the area bring it to life.




    DECLAN’S CROSS is the third installment in the Sharpe and Donovan series, but can be read/listened to on its own. There are references to past issues, but new readers/listeners won’t be left in the dark.




    This is a tantalizing tale of murder, art thefts, and mayhem with moments of subtle romance woven throughout. Set in a fascinating Celtic seaside village, this suspenseful tale will hold you spellbound until the end.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For any fan of the Sharpe and Donovan series, you will fall into

    For any fan of the Sharpe and Donovan series, you will fall into the pages of this book as if welcoming home old friends you’ve really missed. If new to the series, the good news is this is most definitely a stand alone story (but it is so good, you will run back and get the other two).




    This tale leaps from Ireland to the United States and back again, telling of an art theft that took place ten years ago. Colin Donovan, an undercover agent with the FBI is coming down from a rather harrowing mission and has gone to Ireland to relax. His girlfriend, Emma Sharpe, who is also an FBI agent, heads along to the Emerald Isle, as well.




    Emma has a background in the art world. She lived in Maine as a child near the Donovan’s hometown. An ‘almost’ nun, Emma left her calling to move to Ireland where she worked for her family’s business in Art Recovery before then working for the FBI art crimes division.




    Julianne Maroney is trying to get over a romance with Andy Donovan and has also gone to Ireland to recover from her lost love. Heading to the village of Declan’s Cross on the Irish coast, she meets the two agents; much to her dismay, seeing that Colin is brother to the man who broke her heart.




    A decade ago an art thief entered a mansion in the town of Declan‘s Cross and Emma Sharpe’s grandfather had investigated the theft, but the stolen art has still not been found and the thief has never been apprehended.




    Add in Lindsey Hargreaves to the cast, a marine biologist who was the person who invited Julianne to come to Ireland but forgot to pick her up at the airport, and soon Colin and Emma’s downtime turns into a full-blown investigation. When a character ends up dead, the hunt begins for a killer.




    This complex, entertaining mystery is beyond interesting (not a shock, considering Neggers is an A+ writer), and all readers will truly enjoy it. The old saying: “You can’t tell the players without a score card,” rings true in this narration, and the thrills never stop.




    Quill says: This book is an excellent combination of romance, suspense and family, making it an unforgettable read for many genres.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book number three in the Sharpe/ Donovan series continues the co

    Book number three in the Sharpe/ Donovan series continues the complicated relationship between FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan. Ever since they met, they have danced around their feelings and what the future holds for them both. Colin is recuperating from an undercover assignment gone horribly wrong by going to Ireland and Emma has flown out to be with him. Added to the mix is another friend, Julianne Maroney, coming to Declan’s Cross to meet with a young woman about working at a marine station and to get away from her failed relationship with Andy Donovan. Everyone ends up in the small village and when there is a murder, all kinds of secrets are laid bare. Emma’s family has a history with the village as important art was stolen 10 years ago and the Sharpe family firm investigated the theft. Local Garda member Sean Murphy helps out as much as he can but he was romantically revolved with the owner of the building where the theft occurred and that theft may or may not be tied to the murder.
    There is a lot going on in this book. There are so many characters and so many subplots that it is hard to see who is doing what but it all comes together in a plausible way. Hovering in the background is Mike Yankowski, the man who recruited Emma into the FBI and who runs the unit that Colin is in. Father Fin also has a role in this book as Declan’s Cross is near the area where he lived in Ireland before he came to the US. The relationship between Emma and Colin is secondary to the murder mystery in the book but still an important part. Ms. Neggers promises us more books in the series and I am looking forward to reading them and seeing how the partnership between Emma and Colin continues to develop.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea Book provided by BookTrib for review Review o

    Reviewed by Andrea
    Book provided by BookTrib for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I am a total sucker for a romantic, suspenseful story and it being set in Ireland…well, it seemed too good to be true. I am so glad that I wasn’t let down.

    Julianne, who is running away to Ireland from a small Maine town, hoping to heal a broken heart. She is surprised when she runs into Colin, who is the brother of her ex-boyfriend, and Emma, who are on their own holiday. Nothing is going like it was supposed to and soon, they all find themselves involved in finding a murderer.

    Carla Neggers is a great story teller. From the very first sentence, I was completely involved. The characters are completely likable and the backdrop is, well, Ireland! She writes with enough detail of the scenery that you can feel the ocean breeze, smell the fresh air and wish you were standing on the cliffs with Julianne, Colin and Emma. Carla writes with enough humor to keep the subject touchable.

    This book is part of a series. The characters seem to run from book to book and while there were things that seemed like I was missing parts of the story, I didn’t feel completely lost. Carla Neggers does a great job of giving us enough information to get us through but not enough that we won’t want to go back and find out the details. She hooked me – I have every intention of reading the rest of the books in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Good read

    Always like Carla Neggers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    This is another book in the Sharpe and Donovan series.  Carla Ne

    This is another book in the Sharpe and Donovan series.  Carla Neggers is an awesome writer.  This story brings the reader lots of twists
     and turns, mystery and suspense, and lots of thrills.  Colin and Emma are in Ireland on a vacation of sorts when a murder draws them in.
      I love the way Carla describes the Irish country, it makes me feel like I am there.  The mystery of in this book kept me up to the wee
     hours of the morning wanting to finish it.  A great book to read.  I give it 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Love this book!!!

    Love this series. Along with all of her books as I have them all. Highly recommend any and all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    This is one of those novels that make you want to go to Ireland.

    This is one of those novels that make you want to go to Ireland.  Neggers’ describes the countryside so vividly and eloquently that you’re just dying to be there.  You can see and feel everything that happens.  Everything flows so well that you are never caught off guard, even if the storyline does take a few twists and turns.  I was quite intrigued by the way that the author played with the story’s pacing to match with the current events.  The pace varied throughout, along with minute changes in the writing style to highlight various emotions and activities.  I also appreciate the fact that this novel, although part of a series, can be read as a standalone without missing a great deal of detail.  There are certain aspects that the author assumes the reader knows from past stories in the series, but it is quite easy to follow along in this one without having read them.  

    The characters in this novel are quite intriguing.  You get to know each as an individual, a family member, and as part of a couple, however rocky the road they may be on.  It’s quite an intriguing look at the inside of a close family when things are less than perfect on the outside.  I also enjoyed how Neggers developed the characters.  Everything was laid out so naturally.  As a reader you never feel like she is throwing information at you just so that you have it.  Each character is developed in the manner that you would get to know someone in person.  The supporting cast is developed in the same manner.  You get to know them in the aspects that are relevant to their role in the story.  

    This is an absolutely fantastic romantic suspense.  It sets the bar for the genre.  Each aspect is kept in proportion to the whole while creating a completely unforgettable whole.  As a reader, you find yourself trying to put the puzzle pieces together, right alongside the characters.  I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone.  

    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author/publisher/blog tour company in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    grat read

    good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    highly recommend

    enjoyed the development of Emma's and Colin's characters. Ms. Neggars love of Ireland, its history and people is front and center.
    Great story for those who love Ireland with a bit of mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I finished reading this book and I'm still trying to figure out

    I finished reading this book and I'm still trying to figure out the logic of it. The story seemed very contrived-that the author was trying to make the facts fit with the characters and her story line. I saw no realistic reason to connect Julianne's visit to Declan's Cross with a decade old robbery yet that is immediately where Emma's mind went; after that clues were thrown in to help meet Emma's beliefs. All this was done so that the sly thief from 10 years ago can probably become a story line in this series in subsequent books. I enjoyed the first 2 books in this series but this one, not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Definitely recommend to all Carla Neggers fans.

    Highly recommend to anyone who loves a good murder mystery with a little romance weaved in. Characters are great and love the Sharpe/Donovan connection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    Romantic suspense! I have just finished "Declan's Cross&qu

    Romantic suspense!
    I have just finished "Declan's Cross" written by Carla Neggers
    It's her third book in the Sharpe and Donovan series. This author is new to me and I enjoyed reading her book! She developed a great description of the beauty of Ireland
    It's a thrilling romantic mystery filled with suspense! I loved her character Juliane Maroney, a marine biologist
    also Emma & Colin, FBI agents! Ms. Neggers skillfully blended intrigues details to make it an interesting thriller.
    It's well written, fast paced and filled with action. I recommend her book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    3 STARS Sharpe & Donovan book 3 This is I believe the third

    3 STARS
    Sharpe & Donovan book 3

    This is I believe the third book in the sharpe and Donovan series. I have enjoyed reading all 3 of them. Wish my memory was like it used to be. The story bounces from Ireland to U.S and back & forth. It covers art theft now and ten years ago, missing person/murder? Lots of secrets.
    Their are four Donovan brother's from small town in Maine. Colin works for the FBI deep undercover but he tells everyone he works in office. Colin right now went to Ireland to unwind after his last mission. His girl friend Emma Sharpe followed him over.

    Emma has interesting background. She grew up in Maine about 10 minutes from the Donovan' hometown but they did not meet till the first book Saints Gate. She was almost a nun. She left that and came over to Ireland and worked with her family's business in art recovery. Emma than joined the FBI and works in art crime.
    Julianne Maroney is from the same hometown as the Donovans. She is trying to get over falling for Andy Donovan. So when she met Lindsey and had the chance to come over to Declan's Cross. She jumped at it. It was a fast decision.
    Andy emails Colin that Julianne is headed for Declan's Cross and wants to make sure all is okay with her.
    Julianne was supposed to be met at airport by Lindsey and wasn't. So she decides to rent a car and make her way to Declan's Cross. She is not too happy to be met there by Colin and Emma. But later she is glad that they are their.
    I admit to being lost a few times in this story. With a art theft ten years in the past, With Emma's family working the case still. To Lindsey being missed. I was never right in my guesses where the story was going. Lots of drama, secrets people are keeping. A few love scenes.
    I liked it. But I enjoyed the first two of the series better.
    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
    08/27/2013 PUB Harlequin Imprint Harlequin MIRA 320 pages ISBN:9780778314639

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1