Customer Reviews for

The Deed

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lynsay's debut into Romance was a knockout!!

When this book came out, I was running a bookstore that found 75% of its monthly income came from romance readers. I received the poster about three month before it's release and put it up on the wall - and sold dozens and dozens on preorder because of the poster. This ...
When this book came out, I was running a bookstore that found 75% of its monthly income came from romance readers. I received the poster about three month before it's release and put it up on the wall - and sold dozens and dozens on preorder because of the poster. This was unusual since most of my regulars bought by authors they knew. I feared there would be a mass groan when they did not like this author that was totally unknown. Well, it was completely the opposite. They bought because of the cover, but everyone one of them came back and demanded to buy everything she had written. We had a lot of snarls, when they were told this was her first book, so we would have to wait until she wrote more. And she has been writing SUPER books ever since!! She gives you lovely, tender romances...but also, laughter so hard it brings tears to your eyes. Very few writers can move me to laugh out loud and Lynsay always does!! There is no writer like her today in the romance field, though I now see many trying to copy her. But her Emmaline and Amaury are gems. Her characters are engaging, charming and intelligent, but that does not mean they cannot find them in wildly humourous situations. I shall not spoil the fun about 'the deed'....but leave the sheer pleasure for you to discover!!

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay read, not my favorite...

Not my favorite Lynsay Sands book, although I have read all of her vampire stores from the beginning. I picked this up because of the k.i.s.s. and teal sticker on the book and I'm happy with the read.

posted by 2728294 on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Lynsay's debut into Romance was a knockout!!

    When this book came out, I was running a bookstore that found 75% of its monthly income came from romance readers. I received the poster about three month before it's release and put it up on the wall - and sold dozens and dozens on preorder because of the poster. This was unusual since most of my regulars bought by authors they knew. I feared there would be a mass groan when they did not like this author that was totally unknown. Well, it was completely the opposite. They bought because of the cover, but everyone one of them came back and demanded to buy everything she had written. We had a lot of snarls, when they were told this was her first book, so we would have to wait until she wrote more. And she has been writing SUPER books ever since!! She gives you lovely, tender romances...but also, laughter so hard it brings tears to your eyes. Very few writers can move me to laugh out loud and Lynsay always does!! There is no writer like her today in the romance field, though I now see many trying to copy her. But her Emmaline and Amaury are gems. Her characters are engaging, charming and intelligent, but that does not mean they cannot find them in wildly humourous situations. I shall not spoil the fun about 'the deed'....but leave the sheer pleasure for you to discover!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a reprint of the humorous first Lynsay Sands romance

    In 1395 England, her cousin regal favorite Duke Rolfe arranges for Lady Emmalene Eberhart to meet with King Richard II as she wants to be a good wife to Lord Fulk her husband of two years. Though she hesitates she blurts out that her spouse has not bed her and she wants a royal decree ordering him to consummate their vows as she wants children. Fate intervenes as her husband dies on his way home to do The Deed, leaving her still a virgin but with a large dowry and estate.

    The monarch rewards loyal landless knight Amaury de Aneford with marriage to Lady Emmalene. However, others want control of her vast estate and are willing to kill her betrothed and take her virginity. As she remains ignorant of the boudoir and he ignorant of anything unrelated to war, this couple needs a primer if they fail to allow love to train them in a marital relationship.

    This is a reprint of the humorous first Lynsay Sands romance. The story line employs hyperbole as the faults and ignorance of both protagonists are amusingly exaggerated. Though an external threat adds suspense, this subplot detracts from the virgin bedding as the crowd asking whether the Deed is done is the medieval equivalent of the movie Are We There Yet

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This had an interesting premise on the flyer and I wanted to try the author. Had an interesting twist at the start and just kept going. It is a great read for someone that enjoys Mideveal settings. I liked her writing style so much, I got more of her work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Funny but nice romance

    Good story and characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Okay read, not my favorite...

    Not my favorite Lynsay Sands book, although I have read all of her vampire stores from the beginning. I picked this up because of the k.i.s.s. and teal sticker on the book and I'm happy with the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Deed. Another must read from Lynsay Sands.

    The deed is one of the funniest, romantic, steamy books from lynsay that I have read and I have read almost all of her books. She is a brilliant writer. Historical romances or the Argeneau series ( which are my fovorites) they are wonderful books. I dont have to know what the book is about. As long as it is written by her I will read it. So definately read The Deed. You will not be dissapointed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    THE DEED

    this one funny, and romantic ect.... Love emma and amaury

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    :)

    Its been almost a year since i read this book, but i still remember everything that happened. Yes the book was that memorbale for me hahaha
    I can just honestly that i completely enjoyed this book and that you will too, if you just give it a chance!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    To Changing Seasons

    Oh! I'm exciteed for the next part!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Funny

    Very light and funny with a strong female character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Her first book in a set of three! Great stand alone but!,,

    Follow with THE KEY! then read THE CHASE!! I wish she would put a fourth one out in this series because there is one more set of characters she can write about. You will love her humor, and plot. ENJOY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    So funny

    I love books with humor and Sands does a great job at delivering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good

    This ws a good read with humor addded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Simplistic but unique

    Wonderful story weaved perfectly. I hated putting it down and laughed out load plenty. Its the perfect romantic tale for those who are romantic at heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A pure laugh riot

    I've read all of Ms. Sands vampire tales so I picked up The Deed. Also for the KISS and Teal label. So glad I did. Lady Emma and Amaury de Aneford are a great couple and had me laughing every page of the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Entertaining

    I found this book to be very entertaining and quite funny. This was my first Lynsay Sands book, but I will be reding more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    Poor example of literature for today's standards. Humor is over done and characters are overly naive. Nothing you cant predict or have never heard before. Boring read. If you want real humor try Julia Quinn.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4