Customer Reviews for

Deenie (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

This Book Gave Me Courage!!!

I read this book in the mid 80's when I was diagnosed with Scoliosis. This book gave me the courage and the understanding on how to deal with wearing a brace and the surgery; and now I am giving this book to my young cousin who was just diagnosed with Scoliosis. I am ...
I read this book in the mid 80's when I was diagnosed with Scoliosis. This book gave me the courage and the understanding on how to deal with wearing a brace and the surgery; and now I am giving this book to my young cousin who was just diagnosed with Scoliosis. I am positive she would feel better once she reads the book.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book. I loved it and so did my friends!

I chose the book in my school library b/c im obsessed with the 80s and i saw it was a childrens book of the 80s so i got it. read it. loved it. it was myl uck that i came across such a awesome book ! i totally recommend it!

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2004

    This Book Gave Me Courage!!!

    I read this book in the mid 80's when I was diagnosed with Scoliosis. This book gave me the courage and the understanding on how to deal with wearing a brace and the surgery; and now I am giving this book to my young cousin who was just diagnosed with Scoliosis. I am positive she would feel better once she reads the book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Deenie

    Deenie Fenner`s high hopes of being a model come crashing down when she realizes she has scoliosis and has to get a Milwaukee Brace. When she goes back to school, everyone is in her face. ¿Were you in an accident?¿ ¿Are you okay?¿ ¿What happened?¿ But even worse than annoying people, she can¿t model until she¿s seventeen. Deenie¿s best friends stick with her, even though she has a brace. With her friends, Deenie realizes that she isn¿t beautiful just because she has a pretty face. I am like Deenie because I am a very sensible person, just like her. I have to deal with some health problems too. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes realistic books. Can Deenie get through this rough spot? Will Deenie realize her brace isn¿t so bad? Read Deenie by Judy Blume and find out!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Deenie is just like me

    I read Deenie a few months ago because my mom told me I should. She thought I could relate to Deenie because I have scoliosis as well and I could be a model. People tell me I'm beautiful and tall. However when I got scoliosis in 7th grade and had to wear a brace, most everything in my life was changed and my dreams were put on hold. Even though it's not a barrier to my friendships, my goals, or my schoolwork, I still feel very different from everyone else. I don't consider myself to be disabled at all. I can do anything. I may have a brace but I also have a life, friends, a family, and my goals. Deenie feels this way also. I would recommend this book to anyone who has trouble accepting themselves or who just would like to read a good book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book for Tweens & Parents

    This story is about a young teenage girl (Deenie) that finds out that she has Scoliosis (curvature of the spine) and that she has to wear a brace to help correct it. As a person that has gone through this same experience, I can say that the book is exactly on target with the story line and that the character went through the same things I did. While I was going through this, I was given this book to read, and it helped me recognize that just because someone looks different, they are the same as everyone else. More tweens should be exposed to the differences of others and learn to embrace and accept those differences.

    If you or someone you know has Scoliosis, I would recommend visiting the site http://www.iscoliosis.com/ to learn more.

    I thank Judy Blume for helping me get through my childhood with all her wonderful books. As a child I was an avid reader and read all of the Judy Blume books. As a parent, I recommend all her kids books to other parents. And as an adult, I am still an avid reader because I was encouraged to read as a child.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    This Book Is Deep!!!

    I can relate to this book alot. I have scolosis too,I think that's how you spell.I found out when I was 10 years old. Every now and then my back hurts but then I pick up this book to help me get through then I know I'll be alright.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Great read for middle schoolers

    I read this book when I was about 13 and had scoliosis. I looked up every book I could find when I learned I had to wear a brace. Although all the medical and self help books made me very informed, this one helped me see the personal side of it and realize it was ok to hate it and helped me relate when I had no one who got it. I definitely think it really is good for middle schoolers, as it shows everyone has some reason to feel different or scared and that such feelings are normal and will pass.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    LOVE IT

    I love any thing by Judy Blum. And I especally love this onen
    :) :) ;)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Should be longer

    I liked this book but thought it should be longer. I feel like I needed to get to know deenie a little better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Deenie

    I love this book because since i have a back brace too ( boston brace) it makes me feel thet i am not alone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Not alone

    This book helps you realise your not alone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Good

    This book is amazing i thought it would never relate to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I also have scoliosis and i was scared and didnt know what o thi

    I also have scoliosis and i was scared and didnt know what o think when i found out now i have COURAGE because i read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    A great read!

    I think Deenie is very relatable, and the fact that the mother pushed the daughter to do what she wanted truly shows what I see every day with some mothers and daughters. This is definitely one of Blume¿s books for middle grade girls. Fantastic as all of Blume¿s books are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    my favorite book and hero!

    this is the book that helps ME get through scoliosis, having to wear a brace can make you feel like a freak, but this book tells you how normal it is....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Deenie

    The book I read is called Deenie. It is by Judy Blume. This book is about a girl named Wilmadeene, whose nickname is Deenie. Her mother named her after a character in a movie. Deenie¿s mom wants her to me a model, but Deenie isn¿t sure she wants to be. Her mom is beginning to realize that, but she is still submitting photos and bringing Deenie to modeling agencies. Everywhere she goes, people searching for models say she walks differently. Deenie¿s mother thinks that Deenie is slouching or doing something on purpose because she doesn¿t want to be a model, but Deenie isn¿t. One day at school, a teacher asks Deenie if she can bend over then she gives her the name of a doctor to tell her parents. When Deenie goes to the doctor, he says she has scoliosis and will have to wear a brace for four years. For a long time, Deenie is mad and refuses to wear the brace, but when she finally gets it on, she is still depressed. She cuts her hair and barely talks. One day she plans to take it off at a party, but once she gets there, she decides not to and she accepts that she has to wear it. This book was not very exciting to read, but it was not supposed to be that way. Nothing extreme happened in the book, but it wasn¿t boring. I was able to feel like I was in the book because some of the things that happened at Deenie¿s school happen at my school, and how the main character interacts with her friends is similar to how people at my school and people I know interact with their friends. The main conflict was interesting because it was realistic and it could happen to anyone. The main characters¿ actions were a little bit exaggerated, but it made the story better. The characters were realistic because their dialogue and thoughts were believable and realistic. The books¿ ending was satisfying, even though it seemed abrupt. It was clear how the main character was feeling at the end. It doesn¿t seem like a woman is writing this book it seems like a young girl is. Because this story is in first person, it sounds like this young girl is talking to you. Sentences and phrases are written how she would say them. This author has the ability to change the voice of her writing to fit the character she is writing about some authors can¿t do that. It is always clear how the main character feels, how she thinks other characters feel, and how the author wants you to feel. She makes you feel for the characters and want to talk to them. You are wondering how the characters will act and react to other characters¿ words and actions. I would give this book and eight on a scale of one to ten. It has a great story. Many girls would enjoy it. Girls older than eighth grade may not like reading it as much as girls Deenie¿s age (12-13) because it is not very challenging. However, it is still a quick, fun to read book that sends a good message to its¿ readers. In conclusion, this book is fast and you will feel satisfied when you are finished. I enjoyed reading this book, and I think many others would, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Not Terrible

    Deenie was a very good book. However, I thought it was a little to old for my age. This book didn't capture my interest as much as other Blume books, but wasn't terrible either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    the book came true!

    I really liked the book it was really truthful but a week after reading it I found out I had scoliosis myself and it really freaked me out. I had to go through the same things as Deenie but thankfully I didnt need the brace because I'd stopped growing but I do need the operation! now I've been through what deenie has I know how truthful that book really is! I'll never forget this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    Awesome book. I loved it and so did my friends!

    I chose the book in my school library b/c im obsessed with the 80s and i saw it was a childrens book of the 80s so i got it. read it. loved it. it was myl uck that i came across such a awesome book ! i totally recommend it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    Wonderful!!Superb!!!!Brilliant!!!Great!!!

    The book was wonderful. I read the book in a day. I was intoduced tothe book by my teacher because he knew my nickname was Deanie. That is a great book. It teaches you alot. That is a must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2003

    LOVED IT

    This is one of the best books i have ever read and i can relate very much because I too have a back brace and will have it for about 5 yrs. The way Judy Blume describes the struggle is so real and it is one of the best books about scoliosis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6