Customer Reviews for

Deenie

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This Book Gave Me Courage!!!

I read this book in the mid 80's when I was diagnosed with Scoliosis. This book gave me the courage and the understanding on how to deal with wearing a brace and the surgery; and now I am giving this book to my young cousin who was just diagnosed with Scoliosis. I am ...
I read this book in the mid 80's when I was diagnosed with Scoliosis. This book gave me the courage and the understanding on how to deal with wearing a brace and the surgery; and now I am giving this book to my young cousin who was just diagnosed with Scoliosis. I am positive she would feel better once she reads the book.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book. I loved it and so did my friends!

I chose the book in my school library b/c im obsessed with the 80s and i saw it was a childrens book of the 80s so i got it. read it. loved it. it was myl uck that i came across such a awesome book ! i totally recommend it!

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Should be longer

    I liked this book but thought it should be longer. I feel like I needed to get to know deenie a little better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    Deenie

    The book I read is called Deenie. It is by Judy Blume. This book is about a girl named Wilmadeene, whose nickname is Deenie. Her mother named her after a character in a movie. Deenie¿s mom wants her to me a model, but Deenie isn¿t sure she wants to be. Her mom is beginning to realize that, but she is still submitting photos and bringing Deenie to modeling agencies. Everywhere she goes, people searching for models say she walks differently. Deenie¿s mother thinks that Deenie is slouching or doing something on purpose because she doesn¿t want to be a model, but Deenie isn¿t. One day at school, a teacher asks Deenie if she can bend over then she gives her the name of a doctor to tell her parents. When Deenie goes to the doctor, he says she has scoliosis and will have to wear a brace for four years. For a long time, Deenie is mad and refuses to wear the brace, but when she finally gets it on, she is still depressed. She cuts her hair and barely talks. One day she plans to take it off at a party, but once she gets there, she decides not to and she accepts that she has to wear it. This book was not very exciting to read, but it was not supposed to be that way. Nothing extreme happened in the book, but it wasn¿t boring. I was able to feel like I was in the book because some of the things that happened at Deenie¿s school happen at my school, and how the main character interacts with her friends is similar to how people at my school and people I know interact with their friends. The main conflict was interesting because it was realistic and it could happen to anyone. The main characters¿ actions were a little bit exaggerated, but it made the story better. The characters were realistic because their dialogue and thoughts were believable and realistic. The books¿ ending was satisfying, even though it seemed abrupt. It was clear how the main character was feeling at the end. It doesn¿t seem like a woman is writing this book it seems like a young girl is. Because this story is in first person, it sounds like this young girl is talking to you. Sentences and phrases are written how she would say them. This author has the ability to change the voice of her writing to fit the character she is writing about some authors can¿t do that. It is always clear how the main character feels, how she thinks other characters feel, and how the author wants you to feel. She makes you feel for the characters and want to talk to them. You are wondering how the characters will act and react to other characters¿ words and actions. I would give this book and eight on a scale of one to ten. It has a great story. Many girls would enjoy it. Girls older than eighth grade may not like reading it as much as girls Deenie¿s age (12-13) because it is not very challenging. However, it is still a quick, fun to read book that sends a good message to its¿ readers. In conclusion, this book is fast and you will feel satisfied when you are finished. I enjoyed reading this book, and I think many others would, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Not Terrible

    Deenie was a very good book. However, I thought it was a little to old for my age. This book didn't capture my interest as much as other Blume books, but wasn't terrible either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    the book came true!

    I really liked the book it was really truthful but a week after reading it I found out I had scoliosis myself and it really freaked me out. I had to go through the same things as Deenie but thankfully I didnt need the brace because I'd stopped growing but I do need the operation! now I've been through what deenie has I know how truthful that book really is! I'll never forget this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    Deenies Journey to reaching 4 The Stars

    Deenie, a 14 year old girl, has a career planned for her as a model. But everytime she went to an audition she got turned down because they said something was wrong with her posture. She soon found out that she had scoliosis and couldn't continue with her career until it was taken care of. There are afew ways why I loved and would recommend this book. One reason is because it is more like a romantic story- which I personally enjoy. Also because it was similar to one of my favorite books *A Walk To Remember by: Nicholas Sparks. There really is only one reason why I disliked this book and it is because of the ending. I wish that the book would of had continued on a little longer. But that is really the only reason why i dislike the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    Relating to DEENIE

    Although I really loved the book, I only give four stars for mispublished info. in the book. I wear a full milwaukee brace, and kyphosis IS NOT a hunchback!!! That (in meaning) can be offensive to some people. It kind of deos sound like a real life story that many people in this world, unfortunately, can relate to...;(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    a good, quick read

    Dennie is a book about a tween girl who get diagnosed with scoliosis. It's all about learning to deal with it and get used to her new brace. This a good book, it only had maybe a 150 pages. When it ended I felt like there could have been more, but other than that it was a good book and kept me interested until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was a great book. I reccomend it ! How a girl copes with back ingury. Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Deenie is a great book not very exciting it was just about how she delt with her body cast but it is still a good book and I recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2006

    really good!

    this book is so good once you pick it up you cant drop it!the ending wants judy blume to write the sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    ~GrEaT bOoK~

    to tell you the truth...i strongly dislike reading. but sometimes...once in a while, when i find a book i truly like, i read it and end up liking it.i came to read this book by being assigned a reading project. and as i was reading it. i felt more connection to it and then i liked the book very much and i was glad i found it! i think this is a GREAT book and everyone should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    My Review

    I read this book when I was still in elementary school. I am fifteen now but will turn sixteen in two months. This book is very insightful and it is also how I first learned about scoliosis. I thought, 'I hope don't have it.' A couple of years later, I found out that I did. I reread this book and found that I could seriously relate to it. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    From another Scoliosis patient

    Dear all, Deenie really tells what it's like to have Scoliosis. If you have Scoliosis and have to wear a back brace like I do, then I would highly recommend this book to you to read. It will help you through those tough years of your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1