Customer Reviews for

Deep Autumn Heat

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Ehh.

    Its a good book don't get me wrong. You won't waste your time if you read it. But can I just the two words every romance reader loathes.

    INSTALOVE

    This book has got it, and got it bad. Its the definiton of instalove. Seriously. I mean the writting style is pretty good and I do like the charactor of Seb. But I had to push through the first quarter of the book, instant "I can't love without you" is a romamce turn off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Ehhh...

    The storyline is good, however, I found myself skimming through the parts when they were discussing their occupations. Those specific parts were overly descriptive and didnt do much to advance the plotline. They could've been removed and we would still have the same story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars, I think. The series has definite promise--I've alre

    3 1/2 stars, I think. The series has definite promise--I've already picked up book two because of it--but parts of this one felt a little flat to me. It started out great--Sebastian and Lexie have strong chemistry, and their banter was fun. The food aspect was a neat touch, and it was interesting to see restaurants from the chef/owner's POV. To an extent the suspense portion of the plot didn't really bring it, though--one aspect of it ended up being kind of silly, and the other a little overwrought and forced. In the end, I liked Seb's character far more than I liked Lexie's--she ran too hot and cold, and I didn't really "get" her motivation. Still, I am looking forward to reading about Seb's three brothers--soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Not bad

    It good have been great it was just a bit out of sync but I did like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Deep Autumn Heat is the first book by new author Elisabeth Barre

    Deep Autumn Heat is the first book by new author Elisabeth Barrett. It
    is also the first in the four book series, featuring the Grayson
    brothers of Star Harbor, Massachusetts. Sebastian "Seb" is a
    nationally renowned chef with no formal training and the chef/owner of
    Helena, an upscale New York restaurant. He is also an arrogant jerk,
    who thinks that women should fall at his feet. Lexie Meyers is the
    sweet, polite, caring, passionate chef/owner of LM Kitchen, in Star
    Harbor. She also makes the BEST coconut cake east of the Mississippi.
    I went into reading this book, thinking that it was just your standard
    romance book. You know the ones where the hero and heroine don't like
    each other, but are drawn together by forces they can't control? This
    book is that and more. Nowhere does it mention that there is a stalker
    and a crazed ex-boyfriend involved in the mix. The story starts out
    with the Grayson brothers all being in Star Harbor, Labor Day weekend,
    to pay tribute to their father, who was killed during a hurricane twenty
    years earlier. During Seb's first morning in Star Harbor, he and his
    brothers go to LM Kitchen for breakfast. Being himself, Seb was a jerk
    upon his first meeting with Lexie. Lexie knows Seb's culinary
    background, but she isn't impressed by it at all. This is something
    that Seb finds interesting and charming. It makes him want her more. I
    think that it can be said that upon meeting, Lexie and Sebastian both
    felt an instant attraction to each other. However, with Sebastian's
    reputation and Lexie's past, she has to keep her distance. Through the
    course of the book, you find out more about both Lexie and Sebastian. I
    will say that you will end up loving Sebastian and hoping that he and
    Lexie can and will end up together. I found myself wanting to know what
    was going to happen next. Sadly, I must say that I even dreamed about
    the book. I'm very much looking forward to reading the stories of the
    other three brothers. Hopefully, while I'm at it, I'll be able to catch
    up with Sebastian and Lexie. Oh, one small sad spoiler....There is no
    cake recipe in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    C+ rated...

    My Review:

    I enjoy books with a cooking theme....let's face it, there's nothing sexier than a hot guy in the kitchen cooking. This book features two chefs: the hero, Seb, and heroine, Lexie, and introduces us to a family of four extremely hot brothers who all call this small town of Star Harbor home.

    First let's talk about Sebastion. He's tattooed, he drives a hot motorcycle, he has his own television show, and he owns one of the hottest restaurants in NYC. He's a pretty hot commodity and is plenty aware of that. He's used to women dropping at his feet so when Lexie doesn't, well then it's 'game on' for this bad boy.

    Lexie owns a little restaurant which specializes in breakfast and brunch. Her personal specialty is her coconut cake. She's less than impressed by Seb. She's gotten involved with a bad boy before and that didn't end well for her so she's learned her lesson to stay far, far away.

    Then there are the other three brothers...oh my! Theo, Seb's twin brother and best-selling novelist. Clay, the town sheriff who used to own the title of the town bad boy. Then Val, the quiet DEA agent. *sigh* This series is shaping up for some really fabulous books in the future.

    Overall, this book was an okay read. There were moments when it was really entertaining, but I found myself skimming other sections...never a good sign. It's a fun premise with a bit of a suspense story line thrown in to add some excitement. I admit to being a bit disappointed with the way that the first part of the suspense story line was tied up. Overall, it wasn't the best thing I've read this year, but I am definitely keeping this author on my radar because I do like all these hot brothers!

    I received a free copy of this book from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1