Customer Reviews for

Deep Autumn Heat

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Bramblestar- BriarClan apprentice den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I

    After making myself complete this book, I realized I could write a better one! The language is so stilted. The premise is so unbelievable. The reason for the person who left all the notes is not handeled well and very stupid. After reading the overview for this book, I thought at first that I had found a new author to read and that I would like to read about the other brothers. Boy was I wrong. I will not be reading any more of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    &#9810

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Nikepaw

    Some1 please tell silverstar I am locked

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Loved the series can wait for the 4th book

    Loved the series can wait for the 4th book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Healers Den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I got this book for free, and I'm so glad I gave it a try. I lov

    I got this book for free, and I'm so glad I gave it a try. I love these brothers. I've read the first 3 and I marked my calendar for the release of the 4th one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    A Good REad

    I really enjoyed this book. It had me hooked from the description on the back cover. I started reading it on a Wednesday and I had to finish it the next night even though it was 12 o'clock at night before I finished it and I had to work the next morning. It was a Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Take two talented chefs, combine them lots of lust and passion,

    Take two talented chefs, combine them lots of lust and passion, mix in a bit of mystery and suspense, add a dash of scrumptious food descriptions, and then top off with the hope for love and you have a delicious, mouth-watering read. 


    Deep Autumn Heat is the first in a series about the four Grayson brothers “former resident bad boys” who return to Star Harbor, a small resort town outside of Boston.  The opening scene sets the foundation for this series by describing four brothers who will each be featured in a separate book.  Although the opening wasn’t exciting and didn’t grab my attention, it does work to provide relevant background information about these four brothers, especially Seb Grayson who is featured first. I tend to prefer openings that establish immediate conflict, whereas this first scene is all about character development. 


    This is a story about following your dreams, finding passion in your life, and taking emotional risks, in the ultimate quest for a happily ever after. The book’s central focus is on the tension-laden relationship between Seb Grayson and Lexie Meyers.  If you like an ample amount of seduction and romance in your romantic suspense reads, then this book should meet your expectations.  Rising complications throughout the story revolving around a legendary coconut cake and an abusive ex-boyfriend provide suspenseful moments and keep the plot moving along at an effective pace.  The story takes place during fall and is sprinkled with images of autumn, hence the connection to the book’s title.  I think this season is appropriate to the plot, since the changing color of the leaves symbolizes the growth both Seb and Lexie must undergo to find the fulfillment missing from their lives. 


    Seb is a renowned chef living in New York, who has returned to Star Harbor, his hometown, for an annual get together weekend with his brothers.  He extends his stay after he meets feisty Lexie Meyers, owner of a local diner/bakery, who acts immune to his fame and charm. I really enjoyed their first scene together when she smoothly and efficiently puts the cocky and arrogant Seb in his place.  Although Seb can be considered the book’s hero, I really felt that Lexi was the protagonist. She is featured in more scenes, and her POV provides greater depth to her character. Her emotional growth over the course of the book is also more predominant than Seb’s. 


    Lexie has the characteristics to make her a likeable character. She is a dedicated chef running her own successful restaurant/catering business.  Unlike Seb, whose growing empire has forced him out of the kitchen and into an administrative role, Lexie is a hands-on employer who doesn’t hesitate to step in and do whatever job is needed at the time.  She is industrious, passionate about food, and has a kind and compassionate side that is illustrated when she learns someone in the community has been deceiving and threatening her. She is personable and well-liked in her community. Even Seb finds he can take a few lessons from her kitchen. 


    Yet, no one is perfect, and, although Lexie appears strong and confident in her work environment, inside she has deep-seated fears about love and relationships. Her one and only past relationship was disastrous and terrifying. Understandably, she doesn’t want to experience that pain again. Barrett does a great job of honing in on just how much she has been hurt. Her reluctance to get involved with someone else is realistic and justifiable. 


    Lexie thought she was happy being single and focused on her growing business until the handsome, black-haired, green-eyed Seb Grayson enters her restaurant and shakes up her contented world.  Being around Seb leaves her breathless and flustered as she tries to deny the intense attraction sparking between them. 


    Although Seb is confident about his looks and success, Lexie’s rebuff has both surprised and intrigued him, and she now becomes a challenge.  There is much more to Seth than his first impression.  For example, at first, I thought Seb may be a pompous jerk because of his behavior the first time at the diner, but later he proves that he can be sensitive, caring, and sincere. I think he just became so used to women falling for him that he hasn’t had to put any real effort into getting a woman’s attention.  


    Seb isn’t one to be in a committed relationship, and even though he knows Lexie’s not the type to go for a casual fling, he still pursues her. I also initially thought Lexie was just a sexual conquest for him. However, his POV gradually reveals the warring emotions of lust and protectiveness he has toward her. His conflicting feelings cause him to send Lexie mixed signals, and for much of the first part of the book, they simply dance around –trying to find a way to get close, only to end up backing away from each another. 


    I like the creative means Seb uses to get close to Lexie, all of them revolving around food, of course. One of the best scenes in the book is the culinary cook-off where Seb and Lexie compete against each other to see who can prepare the best crab cakes. Bassett is very descriptive in describing Lexie’s thoughts and actions as she works under pressure to create a winning dish. 


    Although their minds try to resist the other, their bodies ultimately betray them and eventually they give in to their insatiable desire for one another.  These scenes are intense, steamy, and explicit.  They seem to need that physical intimacy each time before they can share their vulnerabilities with each other. 


    The book has a unified plot that wraps up nicely in the end even though the outcome of the two major mysteries is fairly predictable. However, I can overlook that since the evolving relationship between Lexie and Seb dominates the book. 


    The main aspect of the book that I found problematic is in the attempt to tie in a fabled story with this plot. As a prelude to the beginning, Bassett features a poem about pirates and their treasure called “The Legend of Lorelei.” I am a pirate junkie, so I was excited to see how the author would integrate this legend into the plot. Toward the end of the book a connection is revealed, but it was not as strong or as developed as I expected. It could have easily been omitted and not affected the storyline.


    This is a great summer read, with a plot that is not overly complicated with lots of sexual tension and romance to keep you engaged. 


    I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Loved it.

    Wonderful book...couldnt put it down..sweet, exciting, and hottt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Landon

    U love running! I run cross country, indoor track and outdoor track!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Ehhh...

    The storyline is good, however, I found myself skimming through the parts when they were discussing their occupations. Those specific parts were overly descriptive and didnt do much to advance the plotline. They could've been removed and we would still have the same story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I truly loved this book . Sebastian and Lexie are a wonderful co

    I truly loved this book . Sebastian and Lexie are a wonderful couple the secondary characters are great and I love Safe Harbor it sounds like the perfect place to live. Highly recommend this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Deep Autumn Heat  With Deep Autumn Heat, Barrett delivers a ric

    Deep Autumn Heat 

    With Deep Autumn Heat, Barrett delivers a rich mix of sizzle, mystery, and heart - See more at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars, I think. The series has definite promise--I've alre

    3 1/2 stars, I think. The series has definite promise--I've already picked up book two because of it--but parts of this one felt a little flat to me. It started out great--Sebastian and Lexie have strong chemistry, and their banter was fun. The food aspect was a neat touch, and it was interesting to see restaurants from the chef/owner's POV. To an extent the suspense portion of the plot didn't really bring it, though--one aspect of it ended up being kind of silly, and the other a little overwrought and forced. In the end, I liked Seb's character far more than I liked Lexie's--she ran too hot and cold, and I didn't really "get" her motivation. Still, I am looking forward to reading about Seb's three brothers--soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved the characters in this book and how they came together. Great story line, flowed nice, not a dull moment. Can't wait until next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The last thing world renowned chef Sebastian Grayson expected co

    The last thing world renowned chef Sebastian Grayson expected coming back to his home town, for the weekend, was to have a run in with the sizzling café owner. He also didn’t expect the effect Lexie Meyers would have on him. He just can’t get the little spit fire out of his head and she also made the most succulent coconut cake he’d ever tasted. But that’s not all he wants to taste.

    Lexie Meyers has set up shop in a small rural town, but she’s got a big secret. She came to this town to escape a violent ex-boyfriend. Leary of men, Lexie is still inexplicably drawn to Seb.

    One explosive kiss, was all it took for Seb to want to stay in his home town a little longer. That same kiss made Lexie want to run for the hills. To keep Lexie from running, Seb challenges her to a chef cook off. Can Seb break down Lexie’s barriers? Even if Seb gets her barriers down will he change his womanizing ways so won’t break her heart?

    What a sexy fun contemporary romance! Deep Autumn Heat is an enjoyable and fun read with lots of heat in the kitchen and out. I really did enjoy the story. I appreciated some of the focus from the male’s perspective. I am very much invested in seeing the other brothers fall. Great, fun read!

    This copy of Deep Autumn Heat was given to me by Random House Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date July 9, 2012.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great story

    Can not wait on next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Must Read!!!

    I loved Sebastian and Lexie! Sebastian is off the charts sexy I mean who wouldn’t go crazy for a super hot guy who can cook amazing meals? Lexie is such a sweet and genuine person who you love from the first page and you are rooting for throughout the book. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Not bad

    It good have been great it was just a bit out of sync but I did like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4