Customer Reviews for

Deep Black (Deep Black Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Deep Black

    Once I began reading, it was hard to put it down. Suspenceful and intriguing, made me want to solve the mystery of who was main person that was plotting the conspiracy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Great military read

    The essence of the story is terrific! As Tom Clancy does, Coonts introduces his characters and various story line and then knits them together in a smashing conclusion.
    I am a great fan of military thrillers and this is a good one! Not being a military man/woman some of the technical information was a bit confusing to me but I read on and found I didn't require details of some of the technical info in order to get the plot.
    There are further books in this series and I favor a series with characters who repeat and Deep Black's characters are worth following on...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Nice Change of Pace!

    Wonder if Hank O actually READ the book. I found it a departure from Coonts' normal storytelling but quite exciting never-the-less. It's a book of fiction and fiction frequently takes us 'where no man has gone before' most of the time. While not as far out as Star Trek (not by any stretch) but I think Coonts has taken a lot of reality and peppered it with even more imagination. I read a wide variety of authors and this book only proves that Coonts is very capable of straying from his mainstream of authorship. This is talent in it's best form!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    I haven't read this book but I am a Dyed-in-the-wool Stephen Co

    I haven't read this book but I am a Dyed-in-the-wool Stephen Coonts Fan and I know Deep Black won't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    If you love Vince Flynn check this out.

    Not Vince Flynn but pretty close...I am enjoying the series and reading book #4. Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    OK

    First in series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Confusing

    I read the first 150 pages and gave up. Hard to follow especially with the foreign words and abbreviations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Not the coonts of past

    I've read a 3rd of story and am tired if it. The characters just seem to snipe at one another or the key "leader" bounces from short and meaningless meetings only thinking banal and wishy-washy statements about looks and motivations. Almost no character development I can see or reason to like the characters. Some "technologies" not even remotely believable. I read the other reviews before buying- I have wonder if we are reading the same book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    More Character Development

    Have enjoyed Coonts books for several years because of the great characters. Since this is the first in a new series I would have liked more character development. If Dean is to carry this series, need to know what makes him tick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Great series

    Coontz has an understanding of the processes he writes about. The series is well-written and keeps your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Good starter to a series.

    It was a good read. The characters were easy to follow and the plot had a gripping effect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Stephen Coonts' Deep Black

    DeWayne Day Period 2 April 6, 2006 Mr.Coulter Book Review of Stephen Coonts¿ Deep Black Deep Black, a suspenseful action packed fiction book written by Stephen Coonts, grabs your attention from the first page and keeps it until the last page. Coonts¿ Deep Black illustrates how democracy will and must prevail. The book takes place mostly in Russia and shortly after the Clinton administration. The world is experiencing a time when war is replaced with diplomatic pressure, economical warfare, and espionage. This time, known as the Cold War, finds democracy in an interesting position. Not all countries seek democracy and their position puts them at odds with the United States. Coonts chose the perfect setting for Deep Black as different setting would cause the story to lose its punch. A MiG destroys a United States spy plane that was gathering information on a new Russian weapon. The plane contains vital information that cannot fall into the hands of the Russians. Charlie Dean, an ex-Marine sniper hand picked by the President, works with a National Security Agency (NSA) covert operations team named Deep Black. The team¿s responsibility is to find out the plane¿s location as well as if the plane¿s downing was an accident or intentional. During the investigation, the team discovers an elaborate plan to assassinate the democratic Russian president and overthrow the Russian government. If the assassination were successful, the results would be terrible for Russia as well as the entire world. To deliver his story of intrigue, Coonts uses 3rd person consistently. This is also his writer¿s style. Each chapter discusses different characters that are in different locations performing different tasks during the same timeframe. Events in the book occur in chronologically order. This point of view is extremely important to the book because it enables the reader to have a global view of all the action. The reader would lose this perspective if the point of view changed. Reading Deep Black was similar to riding a high-speed rollercoaster. The twists and turns of the story made it hard to put the book down. I commend Stephen Coonts on allowing the reader to know what everyone in the book was doing. This made me feel as though I was really in the story. If I were to change one detail, I would spend less time discussing the background politics. These discussions were not nearly as exciting as the action sequences and did not add to the story¿s plot. This time would have better been spent providing the reader with the detail plans of how the covert team would execute their tasks. I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys action and suspense. I give Stephen Coonts¿ Deep Black five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Deep Black not what I expected

    This read was not what I ususally get from Coonts. The characters were unbelievable and the story line seemed to go from one contrived action scene to the next without ever really making my pulse race.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3