Customer Reviews for

Deep Blue (Waterfire Saga Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Donnelly's DEEP BLUE is a totally cool book -- just lik

Jennifer Donnelly's DEEP BLUE is a totally cool book -- just like
the Harry Potter books, full of magic, adventure and a true coming of age story of 6 courageous mairmaids.
The whole family can enjoy this book, just like the Harry Potter books, it is for young and old a...
Jennifer Donnelly's DEEP BLUE is a totally cool book -- just like
the Harry Potter books, full of magic, adventure and a true coming of age story of 6 courageous mairmaids.
The whole family can enjoy this book, just like the Harry Potter books, it is for young and old alike.
Have fun starting this great saga from Disney and Jennifer Donnelly.

posted by annasophie on May 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I want to thank Disney Hyperion and Net Galley for providing me

I want to thank Disney Hyperion and Net Galley for providing me with an early copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my review.




Blurb from Goodreads:
The first in a series of four epic tales set in the...
I want to thank Disney Hyperion and Net Galley for providing me with an early copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my review.




Blurb from Goodreads:
The first in a series of four epic tales set in the depths of the ocean, where six mermaids seek to protect and save their hidden world.
Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe.
When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin's arrow poisons Sera's mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin's master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world's very existence.




I have really been into mermaid books lately. So when I first saw the cover of this book I totally fell in love. Not only are the colors absolutely gorgeous, but the picture is so amazing. I love the depiction of the city burning in the background. The desperation of the mermaid swimming at the front of the picture. So just by looking at the cover I had high expectations. Then I read the blurb and I was really interested. The premise sounded so great.




Serafina is a mermaid, a royal mermaid, set to take the throne when it's her time. She wants so much to be a teenager yet she knows why consequences of such things in the eyes of the people she will soon serve. I like Sera a lot. She's smart and funny at times. I can honestly say she did grow well during this book, but I needed to see more of her. I didn't have enough background to totally understand who she is, how she grew up, and so on. I honestly couldn't connect well with her. There just wasn't enough of her to help me understand who she was a person.




Neela I did love. I really enjoyed her personality. She was sassy and fun. But, again, I have no idea how she and Sera became friends and why they were best friends when they rarely saw each other.




As for the other characters, I can say the same as above. I have no connection with any of them and can't even picture them in my mind. Probably my favorite character was Astrid, and we only get to see her for a very brief time. She's sassy and strong minded and I love that in a female YA character. But, again, like the others, there wasn't much development to her.




The thing that bothered me the most about this book was the lack of development in the characters. Yes, they grow, and they become a bit stronger, but I didn't feel anything for them. I was also totally annoyed about the introduction of two love interests for the main character with no follow through at all. We got a glimpse and then the story was taken far away and never came back to it. It's not that I need romance in a book, I can do without it, but don't introduce it just to rip it away and make as if it is not important to the story. Sera spends a lot of time at the beginning got the book pining over her betrothed, but we never see their relationship other than a quick meeting that they have after two years of being apart. Add to that the total cliffhanger at the end and I was utterly annoyed. I kept tapping my Kindle thinking I was wrong about it being the last page. But there were no more chapters. I wanted to toss the Kindle across the room! There were just so many plot holes, so many things left open, I really had a hard time with that. Add to this the fact that the story starts out very Little Mermaid, and then shoots in a totally different direction.




There is a very large amount of world building in the book. You get much of the backstory and history about the mer world. I liked this a lot. It really set the tone for the book and the alliances and politics between the different factions of mermaids. We also get a good background of the lost city of Atlantis, which I enjoyed. The entire book takes place in the mer world, which was a nice change from the mermaid books I have been reading that also take place on land.




The writing is good. It's third person from Sera and Neela's points of views. But there's no pattern or consistency as to who is narrating the chapters. I didn't understand the need to have Neela's POV. It didn't really add anything to the story and I think the whole thing would have been better if it had been narrated by Sera in first person. Just my opinion though. I know I might have connected better with the character had this been the case. Also, the way it's narrated gave me the feeling it was more of a historical read, but the language the mermaids used was not historical at all. It kind of made a rift for me in the story line.




The pacing was good in this story. Definitely fast and flowed well. But there is too much crammed into the story. The book really could have been quite a bit longer. The whole time I was thinking of when Sera would be found again by her enemy. It was getting annoying. And if your expecting any kind of wrap up in the story arc, you will be sorely mistaken because it's just not there. The book just stops and there is no resolution at all from any of the events introduced throughout the book.




All in all, I didn't really love this book. As a matter of fact, I was more disappointed than anything else. I really had high hopes for this one.. If you're a fan of mermaid books, I'm not sure you'll really love this one. If you like tons of world building, but not much character development, go ahead and give it a try.

posted by Brooke-The-Cover-Contessa on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    Jennifer Donnelly's DEEP BLUE is a totally cool book -- just lik

    Jennifer Donnelly's DEEP BLUE is a totally cool book -- just like
    the Harry Potter books, full of magic, adventure and a true coming of age story of 6 courageous mairmaids.
    The whole family can enjoy this book, just like the Harry Potter books, it is for young and old alike.
    Have fun starting this great saga from Disney and Jennifer Donnelly.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2014

    This is an entertaining underwater tale about a young mermaid an

    This is an entertaining underwater tale about a young mermaid and her quest to save her kingdom from destruction. The buildup was pretty slow, and not much seemed to happen in the story other than historical explanations and lots of swimming away from the bad guys. It ended rather abruptly, but it's the first in a series of four books.

    That being said, I really liked the book. It was well written with a unique setting. While the story didn't bring anything new to the table (it was your typical coming of age story) it was engaging. I enjoyed reading it and especially liked the way it was light on the romance. It was pretty clean, with only a few instances of violence. It's clean enough to be enjoyed by all YA readers, not just the older ones.

    I would recommend this book to someone looking for a story about sisterhood, friendship, and self-discovery.

    Content: Some violence and made up curse words, but I consider this a clean book.

    Source: I received an ARC of this book from the Cuddlebuggery blogger review program in exchange for an honest review.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    simply incredible. it kept me on the edge of my seat the entire

    simply incredible. it kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time! i can't wait for the next one to come out. im DYING to know what happens!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    A CLASSICAL FAIRY TALE FOR ALL AGES --- six mermaids, each with

    A CLASSICAL FAIRY TALE FOR ALL AGES
    --- six mermaids, each with


    special magical powers are forming a sisterhood to confront an unspeakable evil threatening their world. Their courage and smarts are tested over and over again as we follow them on their perilous journey. A great book for all ages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Disney Hyperion and Net Galley for providing me

    I want to thank Disney Hyperion and Net Galley for providing me with an early copy of this book to read and give an honest review. Receiving this book for free has in no way altered my review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    The first in a series of four epic tales set in the depths of the ocean, where six mermaids seek to protect and save their hidden world.
    Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe.
    When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin's arrow poisons Sera's mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin's master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world's very existence.




    I have really been into mermaid books lately. So when I first saw the cover of this book I totally fell in love. Not only are the colors absolutely gorgeous, but the picture is so amazing. I love the depiction of the city burning in the background. The desperation of the mermaid swimming at the front of the picture. So just by looking at the cover I had high expectations. Then I read the blurb and I was really interested. The premise sounded so great.




    Serafina is a mermaid, a royal mermaid, set to take the throne when it's her time. She wants so much to be a teenager yet she knows why consequences of such things in the eyes of the people she will soon serve. I like Sera a lot. She's smart and funny at times. I can honestly say she did grow well during this book, but I needed to see more of her. I didn't have enough background to totally understand who she is, how she grew up, and so on. I honestly couldn't connect well with her. There just wasn't enough of her to help me understand who she was a person.




    Neela I did love. I really enjoyed her personality. She was sassy and fun. But, again, I have no idea how she and Sera became friends and why they were best friends when they rarely saw each other.




    As for the other characters, I can say the same as above. I have no connection with any of them and can't even picture them in my mind. Probably my favorite character was Astrid, and we only get to see her for a very brief time. She's sassy and strong minded and I love that in a female YA character. But, again, like the others, there wasn't much development to her.




    The thing that bothered me the most about this book was the lack of development in the characters. Yes, they grow, and they become a bit stronger, but I didn't feel anything for them. I was also totally annoyed about the introduction of two love interests for the main character with no follow through at all. We got a glimpse and then the story was taken far away and never came back to it. It's not that I need romance in a book, I can do without it, but don't introduce it just to rip it away and make as if it is not important to the story. Sera spends a lot of time at the beginning got the book pining over her betrothed, but we never see their relationship other than a quick meeting that they have after two years of being apart. Add to that the total cliffhanger at the end and I was utterly annoyed. I kept tapping my Kindle thinking I was wrong about it being the last page. But there were no more chapters. I wanted to toss the Kindle across the room! There were just so many plot holes, so many things left open, I really had a hard time with that. Add to this the fact that the story starts out very Little Mermaid, and then shoots in a totally different direction.




    There is a very large amount of world building in the book. You get much of the backstory and history about the mer world. I liked this a lot. It really set the tone for the book and the alliances and politics between the different factions of mermaids. We also get a good background of the lost city of Atlantis, which I enjoyed. The entire book takes place in the mer world, which was a nice change from the mermaid books I have been reading that also take place on land.




    The writing is good. It's third person from Sera and Neela's points of views. But there's no pattern or consistency as to who is narrating the chapters. I didn't understand the need to have Neela's POV. It didn't really add anything to the story and I think the whole thing would have been better if it had been narrated by Sera in first person. Just my opinion though. I know I might have connected better with the character had this been the case. Also, the way it's narrated gave me the feeling it was more of a historical read, but the language the mermaids used was not historical at all. It kind of made a rift for me in the story line.




    The pacing was good in this story. Definitely fast and flowed well. But there is too much crammed into the story. The book really could have been quite a bit longer. The whole time I was thinking of when Sera would be found again by her enemy. It was getting annoying. And if your expecting any kind of wrap up in the story arc, you will be sorely mistaken because it's just not there. The book just stops and there is no resolution at all from any of the events introduced throughout the book.




    All in all, I didn't really love this book. As a matter of fact, I was more disappointed than anything else. I really had high hopes for this one.. If you're a fan of mermaid books, I'm not sure you'll really love this one. If you like tons of world building, but not much character development, go ahead and give it a try.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Carlie to jennifer donelly

    I love this book it is my fave book i got it at my schools book fair and fell in love with it and i just have one thing it has weard words i didnt know and im 10 i wish there would be a movie cant wait for the next season

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Amazing!

    Amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    I.LUV.THIS.BOOK.

    Its amazing i luv mermaid books like emily windsnap and deep blue it has a mix of every type of book u can imagine -dingygrl245 ;) <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book with AWESOME magic and mythology, adventure, danger

    Awesome book with AWESOME magic and mythology, adventure, danger, romance and friendship (mostly friendship) and themes both classic and contemporary and that's all I'm gonna say about Deep Blue! Cuz I am so freaking MAD that I have to wait a WHOLE FREAKING YEAR FOR THE SECOND BOOK!!!!!!!!!   This book was to cool!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    I love this book sooo much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book for all ages. This book has adventure writen all over it! But I recamend not to read it until the next book comes out I cried because the cliff hanger was so bad ) : does anyone know when the second book is comeing out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    This book was sooo good. I can't wait for the next one to come o

    This book was sooo good. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I love this book and I have read it twice already just to make sure I got every detail that I could! Im going to pre order the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Deep Blue by

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly
    Book One of the Waterfire series
    Publisher: Disney Hyperion
    Publication Date: May 6, 2014
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: ARC sent by the publisher




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    The first in a series of four epic tales set in the depths of the ocean, where six mermaids seek to protect and save their hidden world.




    Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe.




    When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin's arrow poisons Sera's mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin's master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world's very existence.




    What I Liked:




    I have never read any books by Jennifer Donnelly, so this book was an experiment of a sort. Disney-Hyperion surprised me with a copy of this book, and I almost decided not to read it, since it was an unsolicited copy. I have a ton of May review books (especially May 6th releases), and the ones I requested get priority. However, I couldn’t resist the siren’s call of fantasy, even if it isn’t the usual type of fantasy I love (epic fantasy).




    I am pleased to say that overall, I enjoyed this book. It was relatively short, and there was a lot of action and revelations and things occurring. Okay, so I found the plot a little bit generic. The uniqueness of the characters and world-building (for the most part) sort of made up for the cliché plot. 




    The thing I really liked about this book is that it focused more on friendship than romance. At first, it seems like the romance will be more important than anything else. Serafina is preparing herself to be shown as the next heir of Miromara, and to exchange marital vows with the crown prince of the kingdom’s choosing – Prince Mahdi. The prince and Serafina were always arranged to be married, but they fell in love after a visit or two years ago. Years later, Mahdi has changed, and is now a player and a jerk.




    So, you would think that the romance was at the forefront. Serafina is still very much in love with Mahdi, he’s in love with her, and they’re getting married, no matter what. But terrible things have happened, are happening, and will happen to the mer kingdoms. Someone is taking merpeople, and a monster has been unleashed. Sera, her friend Neela, and four other girls must are called via dream to come together to fight and take back the sea.




    Friendship is key in this book. The bond between Sera and Neela is unshakable, and I love that this is an important aspect of the book. I know that we will see more of the six girls together in the next four books – they only come together in one place at the end of this book.




    I love how well-characterized the girls are. Each girl is different, and fits their respective “gifts”. We get to know Sera the most – she is selfless and responsible, cautious and brave. Neela is fiery and hilarious – I LOVED reading the parts of the book that involved her actions and dialogue.




    I’m hoping to see more from the romance in the next few books. It wasn't huge in this book, but it is still important. I have a feeling that someone in actually someone else in disguise… ahhh, I want to say more but that would be spoiling things! I shan't give anything away! Now, onto the plot, and what I didn't like.




    What I Did Not Like:




    As I mentioned before, I found the overall plot of the book and series to be cliche. People are murdered or taken for the greed of another, a giant monster exists and is out for blood. Several teenagers must save the world. It’s very overdone and cliche, but especially in certain types of fantasy. The paranormal type of fantasy (like this book) always seems to follow this plot, to the T. Especially with the monster part. And the fact that each teenager has a unique skill or power. 




    You might say that every book or plot is a bit of a variation of another, but I find that this type of plot is highly power in paranormal and fantasy novels, and one after the other after another isn't always smart. 




    Would I Recommend It:




    I would definitely recommend this book to fans of fantasy novels. It’s not the typical type of fantasy that I read and love, but then, I love most types of fantasy. Mermaid books aren't really my thing – I kind of liked Anna Banks’ series (here’s hoping Of Neptune is really good, to redeem the series), and I wasn't a huge fan of Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown. But this one was pretty great! So fantasy lovers, paranormal lovers, this is one for you! If you have a copy, or were already planning on reading it, definitely do not hesitate to do so!




    Rating:




    3.5 stars -&gt; rounded up to 4 stars. This was a pretty great start to a new series! I will definitely be catching the sequel, and most likely the two books after them. I cannot wait to see what the imprint of Disney-Hyperion will be! This is the first book to be published by the imprint, so that’s exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2015

    GoldenBlaze to archstar

    Nxt res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Theresa

    She shook her head, her eyes pleading. "Come ON!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Katrina

    Soooooooo hooorny....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2015

    Drew

    He slowly lowers himself into her, occasionaly lifts up and coming back down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    Candy

    Thats it. Were done. For good this time. Walks away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Theresa

    I give up. Bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    I have started reading this on my phone and this is an amazing b

    I have started reading this on my phone and this is an amazing book so far. I am in middle school and i recommend it totally! It is about 6 mermaids it is full of magic, fun, mystery, and adventure 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2015

    Amazing

    I couldnt put the book down i finisheit in 2 days!!!!! You have to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2