Customer Reviews for

The Deep Blue Good-By (Travis McGee Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Need this as a nook book a.s.a.p. !

Is it possible that I alone would buy this whole series (again) if only the publisher would offer it for the nook?

As far as the books themselves, you either know what you'd have to look forward to--or, if you're new to the series I envy you the first reading. These ...
Is it possible that I alone would buy this whole series (again) if only the publisher would offer it for the nook?

As far as the books themselves, you either know what you'd have to look forward to--or, if you're new to the series I envy you the first reading. These are great books, written by a grand storyteller in his prime. John D. was among the first writers to mention the environment in more than a casual way. His true concerns though center on "the human condition." He wrote hard-boiled prose, but his heart was kind. He was like his invention, Travis McGee, a knight in shining armor--but with less tarnish.

Please join me in requesting the publisher to release these wonderful novels for the nook. Thanks and I only hope you enjoy them as much as I have and hope to again.

posted by Edgar_Alan_Poet on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dobie Gillis

Lead character??? More like Dobie Gillis than Clint Eastwood. Too soft of a character. Not believable.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Need this as a nook book a.s.a.p. !

    Is it possible that I alone would buy this whole series (again) if only the publisher would offer it for the nook?

    As far as the books themselves, you either know what you'd have to look forward to--or, if you're new to the series I envy you the first reading. These are great books, written by a grand storyteller in his prime. John D. was among the first writers to mention the environment in more than a casual way. His true concerns though center on "the human condition." He wrote hard-boiled prose, but his heart was kind. He was like his invention, Travis McGee, a knight in shining armor--but with less tarnish.

    Please join me in requesting the publisher to release these wonderful novels for the nook. Thanks and I only hope you enjoy them as much as I have and hope to again.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Deep Blue Good-by

    This is the first in the highly-regarded Travis McGee saga by John D. MacDonald. A while ago I started it but I wasn't in the mood for this kind of book so I stopped but don't let that stop you. Once I started it again, I couldn't stop. McGee is a great character and I can see why he is almost a cult figure in a way. He's like a philosopher, not just an Eastwood-like tough guy which is still awesome and entertaining (I actually prefer Stark's Parker series to this) but it made McGee a much more unique male character. Wonderful prose, a great mystery, an amazing lead character and a surprisingly good supporting cast, McGee's first adventure invites readers to continue his long trek through Florida life.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Do yourself a favor, read these books!

    If you love suspense, murder and wonderful characters, then read any of the Travis McGee books. I read them all 15 years ago and I'm re-reading them again now. I had forgotten how enjoyable these books are.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    I LOVE BOOKS ABOUT FLORIDA

    Another great book that gives you the feel of Florida. Mr. MacDonald is always fun to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Reader1

    Read all the Travis McGee books years ago. One of the best detective series ever written. I am starting back through with this book. This book is one you can't put down and one of my favorites.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Travis coming out of retirement

    The baseline as a comparative for all mystery novels. The details from the Marantz stereo to the ills of Florida. The concept of being a salvage expert with just enough money to enjoy retirement a little bit at a time. Staying in shape and environmental concerns long before it was cool. It was a line in a jimmy buffet song that got me interested. Thank you jimmy. "Travis McGee sailed on to Cedar Key. Thats what old John MacDonald said" and if you just pay close enough attention to some of the philosophy, you will be better for it. True that!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I enjoy all of the Trais McGee books. I have read them all many

    I enjoy all of the Trais McGee books. I have read them all many times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Genius writer, brilliant character

    MacDonald tells a highly entertaining story, but it's the insights into human nature and various aspects of life that make his books truly exceptional.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Many people know where they were when Kennedy was assinated, but

    Many people know where they were when Kennedy was assinated, but I know the sadness I felt the day I heard JDM died during heart surgery. I have read this series many several times, in order, and would recommend it to any fan of mystery,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    ? 1st time reader of Travis? I so envy, and am so happy for you!!

    This is easily among the top realm of detective fiction; actually, Travis calls it "just helping a friend out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Sailor Sal Sailor Sal

    Many yearsago, in my former life, as a librarian, I discovered Travis McGee- Now, to have him living in my Nook- Heaven! Any girl who reads MacDonald's books without falling in love is not a real woman-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Frostystar

    This is now Ghastclan!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Travis McGee rocks

    My daddy and I read all of these novels he finishing one and passing it on to me. Aside from the richness of that exchange, I throighy enjoy John D. MacDonald.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2