Customer Reviews for

A Deep Dark Secret

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Emotionally Gripping and Timely

Kim Roby tells a poignant story of Jillian Matthews, a young girl struggling to survive sexual abuse at the hands of her stepfather. The character is at the heart of this novel, and the intensity of her emotions drives the story. Readers will weep with Jillian and bear...
Kim Roby tells a poignant story of Jillian Matthews, a young girl struggling to survive sexual abuse at the hands of her stepfather. The character is at the heart of this novel, and the intensity of her emotions drives the story. Readers will weep with Jillian and bear the burden of the pain right along with her.

Roby does an excellent job focusing on all the areas of this problem including the development of shame, guilt and depression; the loss of self-esteem. Through subplots we learn how sexual abuse leads to domestic violence, promiscuity, and other psycho-social behavioral issues.

A Deep Dark Secret is an insightful, timely and necessary look at a growing problem that hides under the veil of manipulation and secrecy. I hope women and teens everywhere will read this story and begin discussions that will uncover the darkness.

Review by Rhonda McKnight

See more of my reviews at www.urbanchristianfictiontoday.com

posted by RhondaMcKnight on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read

This is a short novella about a terrible secret a young girl must keep about molestation. A terrible problem in today's world and it takes you on a journey through her young life and problems. I believe all young adult women should read this book and hopefully will he...
This is a short novella about a terrible secret a young girl must keep about molestation. A terrible problem in today's world and it takes you on a journey through her young life and problems. I believe all young adult women should read this book and hopefully will help some dealing with the same infliction. The author voiced this story in a very intelligent way insuring the reader would be very interested in the outcome rather than focusing on the twisted villian.

posted by katieoscarlet on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Emotionally Gripping and Timely

    Kim Roby tells a poignant story of Jillian Matthews, a young girl struggling to survive sexual abuse at the hands of her stepfather. The character is at the heart of this novel, and the intensity of her emotions drives the story. Readers will weep with Jillian and bear the burden of the pain right along with her.

    Roby does an excellent job focusing on all the areas of this problem including the development of shame, guilt and depression; the loss of self-esteem. Through subplots we learn how sexual abuse leads to domestic violence, promiscuity, and other psycho-social behavioral issues.

    A Deep Dark Secret is an insightful, timely and necessary look at a growing problem that hides under the veil of manipulation and secrecy. I hope women and teens everywhere will read this story and begin discussions that will uncover the darkness.

    Review by Rhonda McKnight

    See more of my reviews at www.urbanchristianfictiontoday.com

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LIVING A NIGHTMARE

    THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE READ THIS YEAR. IT IS SO WELL WRITTEN. IT CATCHES YOUR ATTENTION FROM THE FIRST PAGE, AND KEEPS DRAWING YOU IN UNTIL THE BOOK IS FINISH. TWO THUMBS UP TO MRS. ROBY FOR A JOB WELL DONE. HOW MANY YOUNG GIRLS COULD THIS BE HAPPENING TO RIGHT NOW WAS ALL I KEPT THINKING ABOUT. COULD IT BE HAPPENING TO SOMEONE IN MY FAMILY???? I KNOW THE NUMBERS ARE FRIGHTENING, BUT WE HAVE TO KEEP LETTING OUR BABIES KNOW THAT IT IS NOT THEIR FAULT, AND THAT THEY MUST SPEAK OUT IN ORDER TO STOP THE ABUSE AND GET HELP. THIS IS ONE SECRET THAT MUST BE TOLD EVERY TIME.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book

    This book takes at look at a problem that is often heard about but details it from the point of view of the victim. It is so sad but written beautifully. I could barely put the book down and read it in a couple of hours. It is definitely a collection keeper if your a Roby fan like me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Excellent Read

    Excellent book. I read it in one day. This was one of her best books I have read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    I sat down and finished this book last night. When I first started reading the book, I found parts of it difficult. I'm glad I forced myself to stay with the story. Was well worth it. The author tackles a difficult and sensitive topic by telling a compelling story from the child's point of view. This book makes you think about the people you allow into your children's lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    FAST READ, GOOD BOOK, PAGE TURNER..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kimberla Lawson Roby's "A Deep Dark Secret" is about J

    Kimberla Lawson Roby's "A Deep Dark Secret" is about Jillian Maxwell, a young girl who is excited as she's finally getting a (step)father and a baby sister. Jillian's life changes. Her smile and happiness are all a facade as she's forced to keep this deep dark secret for fear that no one will believe her.

    Sadly, "A Deep Dark Secret" is a reality that too many children are living. This story made me both sad and angry. Despite the turmoil, I couldn't wait to turn the pages to see if Jillian would finally reveal her secret.

    "A Deep Dark Secret," while very heart-wrenching, should be mandatory reading. More children need to understand what should and shouldn't be kept private.

    Reviewed by: Lauren
    4.5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Awesome!

    I read all Kimberlys books, I feel like Im apart of her bloodline. She keeps it real with whats going on this world today. Thats why she is one my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    good read

    This is a good book that unfortunenately tells a true story of some people. A startling look into abuse.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Read

    This is a short novella about a terrible secret a young girl must keep about molestation. A terrible problem in today's world and it takes you on a journey through her young life and problems. I believe all young adult women should read this book and hopefully will help some dealing with the same infliction. The author voiced this story in a very intelligent way insuring the reader would be very interested in the outcome rather than focusing on the twisted villian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    This was my very first time reading one of her books and I must say it will not be my last!! Very good read!! Very emotional topic! I believe everyone should read!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Had me in tears

    This is one of her best books. It's sad to think that so many young children are going through the same thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    highly recommended

    i found this to be a very good reader. The author did a great job with this book. I couldn't put it down once I started reading it. i read the entire in a couple of days. The book is very easy to read and it kept me interested. It's a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    wow

    very good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    I just completed reading this book and I felt like it was well w

    I just completed reading this book and I felt like it was well written. The author does an exceptional job at helping us to see the feelings
    and emotions of a young person who is dealing with childhood sexual abuse. I definitely recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Awesome

    I really enjoyed this book...my heart ached for this child but in the end she was my hero....love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!!! I hated what this little girl had to endure.  And

    Great book!!! I hated what this little girl had to endure.  And to think this is going on in our world today is so sad. More people need to speak up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Totally awesome

    I thought the book was great. It delt with an issue that's going on all over america today, so in my opinion this book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5