BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deep Dish

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious and probably more true than you'd want

What struck me first off was the incredible humor and truth in this book. All at the same time, things fall together and apart in a wonderful way. One of the best I've read in a long time

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is i...
First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is it awful? No. Is it terrible? No. It's simply ok. A huge disappointment after enjoying all her other work so much. Never once did I find myself caring about either Regina or Tate. In fact by about page 300, I actually said out loud 'hmm, this book is actually boring'! Do yourself a favor, use the library or wait for paperback. This one simply isn't worth the price of hardcover.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Hilarious and probably more true than you'd want

    What struck me first off was the incredible humor and truth in this book. All at the same time, things fall together and apart in a wonderful way. One of the best I've read in a long time

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was a fun and easy read. Very now with the book being based on cooking wars and a cooking channel style theme. Really enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Tedious...

    This is my least favorite Mary Kay Andrews book - Savannah Blues being one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Deep Dish just seemed to drag on and on and on. Picked up some at the end but not enough to salvage the beginning. Not usual for this author. Still, I am looking forward to her next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love the author; not my favorite of her books

    I am a HUGE fan of Mary Kay Andrews. Normally her characters are so unique and quirky and I get swept up in the mystery and fun of the story. With "Deep Dish" I was disappointed. I found the two main characters to be lacking in substance. I found Gina to be whiny and such a whimpy woman. And Tate was predictable throughout the story. There were some interesting moments in the story but overall I was let down by one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Deep Dish by Mary Kay Andrews

    A good "beach" read. Predictable, but still enjoyable. In these hard economic times it's a great escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Deep Dish Fails To Serve Up the Goods

    I am a very big Mary Kay Andrews fan, let me start with that. I LOVE her quirky characters, great settings and interesting predictaments her characters get in. I also love how readable her writing is - great to get lost in her books at the beach or on a rainy day. That said, this book really failed to deliver for me. The characters were cute, and could have gone a long way. I didn't feel like they were as interesting as her other characters in previous books. Didn't ever get to the emotional connection with them, or deep interest in their outcome. That said, I also wanted an epilogue or something at the end to see what happened in a few months, so you could get a better sense that everything did work out great for the main character. Left readers hanging a bit. I still love MKA and will always read her great books. But this isn't one I'd even recommend to a friend or bother sharing. It was just okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    A bit disappointed

    I have read other books by Mary Kay Andrews, especially the "Savannah" series and found them funny and enjoyable. This one went on a bit too long with too predictable an ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    What a Disappointment!

    The idea of two battling southern chefs was a good idea that just didn't jell (food metaphor, ha). I think the main problem is that there's just no sizzle (ha, again) between the main characters. What's really ironic is I kept getting the sense that the actual romance was happening 'off camera' because I kept thinking why in the world do these two people even like each other, much less love. As it turned out, that's kind of what happens, but it sure did spoil the novel for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Great Little Read

    I don't normally read books like 'Deep Dish,' but I loved it! It was a bit predictable, but it was nice to have the ending to look forward to. Mary Kay Andrews is so very descriptive you are taken away to Southern Georgia immediately! There is witty banter and an adorable love story. I couldn't put it down and I can't wait to read more from Andrews! If you are looking for an easy read with a great story, this is the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    What a disappointment

    First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is it awful? No. Is it terrible? No. It's simply ok. A huge disappointment after enjoying all her other work so much. Never once did I find myself caring about either Regina or Tate. In fact by about page 300, I actually said out loud 'hmm, this book is actually boring'! Do yourself a favor, use the library or wait for paperback. This one simply isn't worth the price of hardcover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    deeply funny

    I thought this was a comic relief. The characters were honest and human. I actually found myself laughing out loud, which isn't a common occurence. The romance was something that made it hard to breath and made me cry. It was a very emotional page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Deep Dish - Seconds Please

    Looking for a relaxing, fun read? This is it. I snuggled down on a grey, windy day and read it cover to cover. Love the characters, and the mishaps. I'm ready for the next serving --- what's next for Tate and Regina? Thanks for another fun, southern read, Mary Kay!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing kitchen war

    Thirty years old Chef Gina Foxton is an expert on Southern style cooking, but with a healthy approach. She is highly regarded with her own cooking show Fresh Start on Georgia Public Television. However while filming her latest show, she notices a new crew who provide substitute products like Cheez-Ease. She goes berserk claiming it is ¿artificial cheese made out of recycled dry-cleaning bags¿ her anger is because her reputation is built on healthy recipes. However her show becomes history when the CEO of the prime sponsor Tastee-Town Foods Wiley Bickerstaff III pulled out. Gina is stunned because Wiley has been her biggest supporter, but learns the truth that her producer and boyfriend E. Scott Zaleski was caught sleeping with Wiley¿s wife. Gina knows the Cooking Channel is seeking a new show. They are undecided between Gina¿s Fresh Start and Tate Moody¿s Vittles. To choose the brass decides a reality show cook-off contest between Gina and Tate will bring in viewers. However, under the TV lights, the two cooking spectrum opposites begin to simmer with an attraction that boils into love. --- Although the romance comes in the latter half of the tale, readers will adore this amusing kitchen war. The story line is fast-paced as Tate and Gina compete through food fights and other embarrassing scenarios the humorous plot stews between healthy and grill it. Readers will agree with Gina¿s sister that this pair has chemistry, but there is only room for one in the kitchen even if Tate wants to take Gina on the table. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Loved!

    Great loveable characters! Good storyline and kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    A fun, easy read!  

    A fun, easy read!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    From reading the reviews, how is a 30 year old woman with a care

    From reading the reviews, how is a 30 year old woman with a career and cheating boyfriend a children's book? I am looking for books for a child. Thanks for the reviews so I did not waste my money or time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Southern Humor

    I have all of Mary Kay Andrews’ books; however, I missed this one along the way. Listened to the audio version which the narrator did a good job. Gina is the host of a local cooking show in Atlanta and her sponsor drops her and finds out her producer (boyfriend) is sleeping with the sponsor’s wife.

    If you enjoy southern women, some heavy competition, food fights, cooking and some romance with some wit and charm you will enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    So funny

    Truly a book you will laugh out loud while reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    You people....

    I have not read this book but I plan to and its probably going to be good nomater what you say, so thare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Other selections make for a better read

    Love reading Mary Kay Andrews' books! Laugh out loud funny with characters you wish were your friends. This selection fell flat for me. The characters were cliche and didn't really grow and learn much from the story. The leading lady leads a painfully routine life until the end of the book when she completely steps out of character and becomes the love of the leading man's life. Expected but in real life, their different personalities wouldn't have made it work. Any of Ms. Andrews' other titles will give you a great read so I recommend you choose one of them and skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6