Customer Reviews for

Deep Dish

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious and probably more true than you'd want

What struck me first off was the incredible humor and truth in this book. All at the same time, things fall together and apart in a wonderful way. One of the best I've read in a long time

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is i...
First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is it awful? No. Is it terrible? No. It's simply ok. A huge disappointment after enjoying all her other work so much. Never once did I find myself caring about either Regina or Tate. In fact by about page 300, I actually said out loud 'hmm, this book is actually boring'! Do yourself a favor, use the library or wait for paperback. This one simply isn't worth the price of hardcover.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Tedious...

    This is my least favorite Mary Kay Andrews book - Savannah Blues being one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Deep Dish just seemed to drag on and on and on. Picked up some at the end but not enough to salvage the beginning. Not usual for this author. Still, I am looking forward to her next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love the author; not my favorite of her books

    I am a HUGE fan of Mary Kay Andrews. Normally her characters are so unique and quirky and I get swept up in the mystery and fun of the story. With "Deep Dish" I was disappointed. I found the two main characters to be lacking in substance. I found Gina to be whiny and such a whimpy woman. And Tate was predictable throughout the story. There were some interesting moments in the story but overall I was let down by one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Deep Dish Fails To Serve Up the Goods

    I am a very big Mary Kay Andrews fan, let me start with that. I LOVE her quirky characters, great settings and interesting predictaments her characters get in. I also love how readable her writing is - great to get lost in her books at the beach or on a rainy day. That said, this book really failed to deliver for me. The characters were cute, and could have gone a long way. I didn't feel like they were as interesting as her other characters in previous books. Didn't ever get to the emotional connection with them, or deep interest in their outcome. That said, I also wanted an epilogue or something at the end to see what happened in a few months, so you could get a better sense that everything did work out great for the main character. Left readers hanging a bit. I still love MKA and will always read her great books. But this isn't one I'd even recommend to a friend or bother sharing. It was just okay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    A bit disappointed

    I have read other books by Mary Kay Andrews, especially the "Savannah" series and found them funny and enjoyable. This one went on a bit too long with too predictable an ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Other selections make for a better read

    Love reading Mary Kay Andrews' books! Laugh out loud funny with characters you wish were your friends. This selection fell flat for me. The characters were cliche and didn't really grow and learn much from the story. The leading lady leads a painfully routine life until the end of the book when she completely steps out of character and becomes the love of the leading man's life. Expected but in real life, their different personalities wouldn't have made it work. Any of Ms. Andrews' other titles will give you a great read so I recommend you choose one of them and skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Good book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Cute, Really cute

    A light & fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    COMICAL

    This book is a good pick me up book. It is funny, has sass, is an easy read, and different. It involves, good ole southern cooking, romance, a dog (for pet lovers), a cook-off, and even some recipes. It has a little action and some survivor skills if you're every caught in a storm with a good looking guy and have to stay on an island wet and cold. The book setting is in the great southern state of Georgia, where there is a battle for a major national cooking show which gives battle of the sexes a whole new meaning. It has a slew of colorful characters including a wild 19 year old girl and a gay african-american make-up artist. All in all I would say this book is something that I would recommend to my reader friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Appetizer

    While the book was enjoyable it left me wanting more. I am a big Mary Kaye Andrews fan but this one was a little slow too moving for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1