Customer Reviews for

Deep Dish

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious and probably more true than you'd want

What struck me first off was the incredible humor and truth in this book. All at the same time, things fall together and apart in a wonderful way. One of the best I've read in a long time

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is i...
First let me say that I've read all of Mary Kay ANdrews previous books and found them very good. I recommend her all the time and have been anxiously waiting for Deep Dish. I am SOOOO glad I got it from the library and didn't fork out nearly $30 for this hardback. Is it awful? No. Is it terrible? No. It's simply ok. A huge disappointment after enjoying all her other work so much. Never once did I find myself caring about either Regina or Tate. In fact by about page 300, I actually said out loud 'hmm, this book is actually boring'! Do yourself a favor, use the library or wait for paperback. This one simply isn't worth the price of hardcover.

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was a fun and easy read. Very now with the book being based on cooking wars and a cooking channel style theme. Really enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Deep Dish by Mary Kay Andrews

    A good "beach" read. Predictable, but still enjoyable. In these hard economic times it's a great escape!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing kitchen war

    Thirty years old Chef Gina Foxton is an expert on Southern style cooking, but with a healthy approach. She is highly regarded with her own cooking show Fresh Start on Georgia Public Television. However while filming her latest show, she notices a new crew who provide substitute products like Cheez-Ease. She goes berserk claiming it is ¿artificial cheese made out of recycled dry-cleaning bags¿ her anger is because her reputation is built on healthy recipes. However her show becomes history when the CEO of the prime sponsor Tastee-Town Foods Wiley Bickerstaff III pulled out. Gina is stunned because Wiley has been her biggest supporter, but learns the truth that her producer and boyfriend E. Scott Zaleski was caught sleeping with Wiley¿s wife. Gina knows the Cooking Channel is seeking a new show. They are undecided between Gina¿s Fresh Start and Tate Moody¿s Vittles. To choose the brass decides a reality show cook-off contest between Gina and Tate will bring in viewers. However, under the TV lights, the two cooking spectrum opposites begin to simmer with an attraction that boils into love. --- Although the romance comes in the latter half of the tale, readers will adore this amusing kitchen war. The story line is fast-paced as Tate and Gina compete through food fights and other embarrassing scenarios the humorous plot stews between healthy and grill it. Readers will agree with Gina¿s sister that this pair has chemistry, but there is only room for one in the kitchen even if Tate wants to take Gina on the table. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    A fun, easy read!  

    A fun, easy read!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    What a great read!

    What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Food Fight

    This is a fun beach read. It is funny, descriptive and takes you completely out of your normal realm and into a fun fantasy, which is what we want from these books. The main characters are well drawn and likable and easy to relate to. The cooking segments were funny and it is fun to think this is probably not too far off on what really cooking show stars have to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Story!

    Andrews is a great author that I recently just discovered. Have started going back and reading some of her older books. This was a very creative, cute story about two chefs vying for one TV show. The narrator on the audio book was perfect - created great voices for each character. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Loved it!

    If u like cooking shows and Southern humor, you will LOVE this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    PART SAVVY, SOUTHERN CHARM AND SPICE

    You don't have to be a foodie to enjoy this lightly romantic, often laughable look behind the scenes at a television cooking show. Couldn't be more contemporary although, of course, fictionalized by the busy pen of Mary Kay Andrews (Blue Christmas, Hissy Fit, Little Bitty Lies, etc). Fans know that she delivers on-target often tongue-in-cheek looks at her characters and situations - fun listening and reading!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Isabel Keating's narration of "Hissy Fit" and wrote, "...is a fun, thoroughly enjoyable listening experience." My response to Deep Dish is the same. Keating is an experienced stage actress and a Tony nominee for her role as Judy Garland in The Boy From Oz. Perfectly voicing aces chef Gina Foxton, she imbues her with equal parts southern charm, savvy, and spice.

    Gina is an important chef, a prime preparer of southern foods, and has her own cooking show, "Fresh Start" on Georgia Public Television. She means the word "Fresh" literally, and is more than upset when someone provides what she calls a fake cheese for one of her filmings.

    However, she soon has a great deal more to be upset about - her very popular show is canceled when the prime backer backs out (pun intended). Why? Because her boyfriend and the producer has been sleeping with the backer's wife. But Gina's not going to stew forever. She knows that the Cooking Channel is looking for a new face and a new star. She sets her chef's cap for that job and finds that the Channel can't decide between Gina and Tate Moody, a handsome hunk who hunts, fishes and has a show of his own - what else but "Vittles"? The Channel proposes a cook-off to choose the winner.

    It will come as no surprise to Andrews's listeners/readers that more than spaghetti sauce begins to simmer in the kitchen and soon comes to a rolling boil with lots of merry mishaps and love among the ladles. Nonetheless, as is said, "Too many cooks spoil the broth," so who will be the winner?

    Enjoy!

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Good light reading

    Lots of fun and a good quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Great Book

    This book was great. I loved the story line and the book was written well. The ending felt a little forced, which is why I gave four stars instead of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary Kay Andrews does it again

    I have previously read all of Mary Kay Andrews' books and enjoyed them thoroughly. I was even looking forward to the release of Deep Dish. Personally I like the storylines of her earlier books better than Deep Dish, but it was still worth the read for amusement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A FUN READ!

    Enjoyed this book very much. Knowing the locale they were working made this an enjoyable read from that angle. And I felt like I was a "fly on the wall" in all of the plot twists and turns. Can't wait until the next book come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2