BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Deep Down: A Jack Reacher Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

As always, Reacher is amazing!

I am so thirsty for another Reacher mystery this short story whetted the appetite for the upcoming Wanted Man book. Nevertheless, this fan of Lee Child was very happy and amazed at Reacher's deduction ability and the story and plot were more than satisfying. Thanks Mr ...
I am so thirsty for another Reacher mystery this short story whetted the appetite for the upcoming Wanted Man book. Nevertheless, this fan of Lee Child was very happy and amazed at Reacher's deduction ability and the story and plot were more than satisfying. Thanks Mr Child for a wonderful story!

posted by JMG53 on July 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

RIPPED OFF - Reacher would kick your butt

My favorite character and author, so I purchased on faith, didn't read the reviews. I should have...only 29 pages of actual story????? Come on man!!! Nice job taking advantage of your loyal fans.

posted by 8276987 on August 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    RIPPED OFF - Reacher would kick your butt

    My favorite character and author, so I purchased on faith, didn't read the reviews. I should have...only 29 pages of actual story????? Come on man!!! Nice job taking advantage of your loyal fans.

    52 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Boring 30 pages.

    I like his books but this is trite. The story is 30 pages, the rest of the 48 pages are publicity for the author. Really disappointing.

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Not worth the price

    $1.99 for a book that is only 29 pages? I know it said short story, but this is over the edge short.

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Derp down

    Not much to this storyi

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Only 48 pages. What a ripoff.

    I love Reacher books but this isn't even a book.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    As always, Reacher is amazing!

    I am so thirsty for another Reacher mystery this short story whetted the appetite for the upcoming Wanted Man book. Nevertheless, this fan of Lee Child was very happy and amazed at Reacher's deduction ability and the story and plot were more than satisfying. Thanks Mr Child for a wonderful story!

    18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Not worth it

    This story was so short and so incomplete that its not worth the money to buy. I am a huge fan o Child's work and the Reacher novels, but this novella sucks.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Are you kidding

    A29 page story.i did not read reviews first . What a screw job

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Terrible

    A big gyp and disappointment! Don't be scammed like i was!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    way too short

    excellent, but way too short even for a short story.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Not Up to Lee Child's Standards

    I realize this is a short story and not a full length Reacher novel. However, the plot and the writing in general were nowhere near Lee Child's standards. The plot was very thin and uninteresting and the writing mnundane and unexciting. It is hard to believe the same guy wrote this "short" who wrote all those spine tingling Reacher novels. This was a big disappointment and in my opinion, not worth the time, even for a Reacher devotee.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Waste of time AND $$!

    Of the measly 48 pages, less than 30 were a supposed story and it was nothing but adjectives. Cheap with no thrill!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    WHAT A GYP

    A stupid book and total waste of time and money. Not even a complete story. Not fit to have Lee Child put his name on it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Big Disapontment

    I have read all of lee childs novels and am disapointed in this type of marketing. One of the problems is putting together the paperbacks i have read with the Barnes and Nobel Nook i now read. I wind up buying and reading old novels. That is all right i just dont like this type of book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    I got fooled and bought a partial book

    What good is a review on 50 pages. What a disapointment- I did not see
    where this was not a complete book when I bought it. I think the way the books are listed should indicate when a book is only a teaser-and not the real deal. Shame on B&N for being underhanded in the book listings.
    Not only that but I could not chose a Pen Name to post this review the system would not let me complete the action.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Short story?

    Should not even be called a short story. I was very disappointed that most of the nook book was not the story but other info. I wouldn't have bought this if I had known it was a short,short, short story. Lee Child is a great writer and I love Reacher but this is beneath Child.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    A total rip-off! Knew it was short but not 29 pages. Child and

    A total rip-off! Knew it was short but not 29 pages. Child and publishers should be ashamed. Ok if it were FREE but not even for $1.99.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Not his best work.

    I like all of the Jack Reacher novels, I understand this is a short story, however, this seemed long on descrpitions and short on story. I look forward to the next real novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Too short to get into. Not up to Reacher standards.

    It might have been good but we wont know. Right when it started getting good... the end. REALLY???? I am not happy with this expense of my time and money. It is not worth your while let alone a penny. If I wanted short stories I'd read magazines. I will check length before buying another e-book. B&N needs to give that info up front. What's up with that???

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I did not finish this short story.

    This was not even a book, was not even a good short story. It was a rip off.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13