Customer Reviews for

Deep Down Popular

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Deep Down Popular by Phoebe Stone

Exciting, surprising story

Jessie Lou Ferguson thinks she is a "nobody," a tomboy, falling for the cutest, most popular boy in school, Conrad Parker Smith. The soccer star, Conrad, breaks his leg one day while playing at school. Jessie Lou is then told to take Conra...
Exciting, surprising story

Jessie Lou Ferguson thinks she is a "nobody," a tomboy, falling for the cutest, most popular boy in school, Conrad Parker Smith. The soccer star, Conrad, breaks his leg one day while playing at school. Jessie Lou is then told to take Conrad's bicycle to his house. Conrad's old friends forget about him and ignore him. Jessie Lou and Conrad walk home together day after day. But will someone as truly deep down popular as Conrad really fall in love with a "nobody," or will heartbreak and tragedy soon meet with Jessie Lou?

I liked this book because as a pre-teen, lots of the everyday events relate to the ones in Deep Down Popular. After the first chapter, I became attached to this book. Many of the events in this book made put me in awe, and some made me proud, while some confused me. Although, at the end, a big turnaround in the story happened, which made me happy.

I think that many "gossip loving," "social" pre-teens should read this book, because I, for a fact, loved it.

posted by Johnny-Morris on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Well............

Okay, so, this book was good i guess. It was very confusing though i mean, i read half the book thinking it was based in like the 60s. Maybe i was just being stupid, but i mean, that was really annoying. Over all, it was okay. I mean, I'm like the main character. Everyo...
Okay, so, this book was good i guess. It was very confusing though i mean, i read half the book thinking it was based in like the 60s. Maybe i was just being stupid, but i mean, that was really annoying. Over all, it was okay. I mean, I'm like the main character. Everyone knows who are, but nobody pays any mind.
I thought the characters were brilliant, but parts of the book were just annoying. I would recomend reading it, just don't expect to much.

posted by 4everBrilliant on April 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Deep Down Popular by Phoebe Stone

    Exciting, surprising story

    Jessie Lou Ferguson thinks she is a "nobody," a tomboy, falling for the cutest, most popular boy in school, Conrad Parker Smith. The soccer star, Conrad, breaks his leg one day while playing at school. Jessie Lou is then told to take Conrad's bicycle to his house. Conrad's old friends forget about him and ignore him. Jessie Lou and Conrad walk home together day after day. But will someone as truly deep down popular as Conrad really fall in love with a "nobody," or will heartbreak and tragedy soon meet with Jessie Lou?

    I liked this book because as a pre-teen, lots of the everyday events relate to the ones in Deep Down Popular. After the first chapter, I became attached to this book. Many of the events in this book made put me in awe, and some made me proud, while some confused me. Although, at the end, a big turnaround in the story happened, which made me happy.

    I think that many "gossip loving," "social" pre-teens should read this book, because I, for a fact, loved it.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Story

    This story is about accepting yourself. It teaches a valuable lesson every girl should learn from. I enjoyed this book a lot, it's one of my favorites. I'd recommend this book to read for fun.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Um....i enjoyed it somewhat

    okay i got this book when i was in 5th grade andf didnt like it.It just sat there on my book shelf never thought about twice.In till one day i thought " you dont have antthing else to do might as well finsh the book you started like two years ago.i started reading a and I WAS HOOKED.
    I love the chacters and how they just go together like a puzzle and how this book has hope in some way. Its kinda weried this book is like a remake of me when i was younger a couple things changed (duh) here and there. it's like i don't know , gives me lots of hope tho it toke me along time to finish this book i'm happy i didn't give up on it because i love it now more than ever~(i did before)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    You Must Read This BOOK!

    It is such a great book! I read it at least twice! Jessie Lou is brave to help her crush so she actually starts talking to him because he is injured. Conrad is a lucky boy to be able to talk to someone like Jessie Lou, but will it all lead to heart break? Read it to find out :)
    Great Book. Phoebe Stone is an awesome author, especially for this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    AWESOME

    I just loved it and i wish my life was like jessie lou's soo amazing and i could totally relate to her feelings and thoughts

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    deep down popular

    ROMANTIC! AMAZING! NO OTHER WORDS FOR IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    BEST BOOK I'VE READ!

    This book was truly the best book i have read in my life. i am going into sixth grade and nobody likes me. and this is the same thing jessie lou is going through and she has a huge crush on conrad parker smith. i would reccommend this book to all girls. i laughed cried of sadness and happyness. i hate books and i loved this one though. and that is huge for me!! please read it!! trust me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    awesome book

    I just got this book on friday and it's great. I'm not done yet but i only have a couple pages left. it's tuesday, and during my busy schedule i still find time to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    The Best Book Ever!!!

    This is the best book i have ever read. I finished this book in 1 day. It was that good. I strongly recomend this book. It's about love, popular kids, nonpopular kids, and true friendship. I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Great Book!!!

    This is a great book. I just got it from my school's Book Fair and finished it within the next day. I have a book report to do and this is the book I chose to do it on! Its a MUST READ book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    cece-layne thompson @diqdyed_cuqcake

    Heyyooo
    How's the air up there livin' the high life?
    Great book
    If you even care...
    I got my phone taken awat because I got suspended...
    Why?
    Well, a teacher was talking bad about tumblr & instagram & twitter & all of those other apps
    So I cussed her out...
    And got suspended...
    And got my phone taken away...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Awesome book!

    Love this book! Phoebe Stone is an incredible author and you should read all of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    BakedWeeds

    Have u been lookingfor acute love book abou tromande and young love then get_~this book~_ i liked it and i bet if ur readin gthis good job because i am goodnat catching attention




    Really though its a gjoood book if u buy it it wont be a waste of time or money trust me




    LOVE XOXO




    UR PAL AND THRUTH TELLER,
    Calissa Jessica



    Read more of my baked weed coments on other books tooo
    ENJOY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    SENSATIONAL!!!

    This book was soooooo inspiring and heart-felt! I am eleven and im going through the same thing! This book TOTALY made my day and I thinyour an amazing author! Please right many more books like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great Book

    This is yet another beautifully written book by Phoebe Stone. I felt every emotion of Jessie Lou as it was me. At times I would be reading thinking that my weather was the same as in the book only to look out the window and see the weather is the complete opposite. This book shows what true friendship is about and that popularity means nothing when you have true friends. Phoebe deffinantly captuered the average unpoppular 6th grade girl's life when she is falling for the popular boy. I enjoyed finding a book about kids the same age as me. It makes it so much easier to relate to some of the situations in my point of veiw. It is a fairly easy book to read. I finished it in two days and I am not very good at reading. I would recomend this for ages 10+. I think many girls can relate to Jessie Lou. I hope you will enjoy the book if you decide to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Great

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    WOW

    wow this sounds like my kinmd of book, i cant wait to read it, i have to wait till march

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2