BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Deep End of the Ocean

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Deep end of the ocean book review

Christina Saavedra March 7, 2007 Book Review The Deep End Of The Ocean Book Review This book is about this woman named Beth Cappadora who has three children and there was this younger child who is her favorite of them all named Ben. One day they went to a store ...
Christina Saavedra March 7, 2007 Book Review The Deep End Of The Ocean Book Review This book is about this woman named Beth Cappadora who has three children and there was this younger child who is her favorite of them all named Ben. One day they went to a store and when Beth told Vincent who is Ben¿s older brother to take care of him while she went into a store and then later on when she came out, she asked Vincent where was Ben. Vincent told his mother that Ben didn¿t want him to hold him and so he took him with his aunt Ellen, who is Beth¿s sister. Then when Beth went to her sister Ellen and saw that Ben wasn¿t with her, she asked her if she has Ben and she said that Ben had taken off on his own and that they have to find him before they can do anything like asking other people if they have seen him and so they searched every place that they could think of and there was still no sign of him. Then later on they just gave up finding him and Ellen asked Jimmy what if Ben went outside on his own and he told her that there were these guys that will be looking outside if they see him and he also told her that there weren¿t any accidents reported which meant that Ben wasn¿t in an accident. As days, months, and years have passed Beth still couldn¿t find Ben until one day she met up with this young teenage boy and she was stunned that his face was somehow familiar but didn¿t realize it until she thought of Ben and she went home to tell Candy that she thinks that she has found Ben and she told her that she saw him when he came up to the door of her house. Beth also told Candy that she thinks that whoever took him to live with them are now living in the same neighborhood as she is and Candy said that in order to see if it was really Ben, it was to be by the birthmark that he has and Beth told her that she didn¿t look to see the birthmark. This is one of the best books that I have read so far and I would recommend it to anyone that may be interested in reading this book because its about this 3 year old boy that was probably kidnapped and got separated from his family until years later when Beth had seen him at her door. I have seen the movie before and I was really interested of the things that have happened during the movie and so when I started to read this book, I thought that is also interesting to read it after watching the movie. In my opinion I think that people have got to read this book because its about the mystery of the disappearance of 3 year old Ben.

posted by Anonymous on March 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Your time is too valuable for this one

I cannot even bring myself to take it to the used book store. I don't want to put anyone else through the misery. I kept waiting for it to get better, it didn't. The ending was a complete disappointment. I like the comment about using it for firewood.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    The Deep end of the ocean book review

    Christina Saavedra March 7, 2007 Book Review The Deep End Of The Ocean Book Review This book is about this woman named Beth Cappadora who has three children and there was this younger child who is her favorite of them all named Ben. One day they went to a store and when Beth told Vincent who is Ben¿s older brother to take care of him while she went into a store and then later on when she came out, she asked Vincent where was Ben. Vincent told his mother that Ben didn¿t want him to hold him and so he took him with his aunt Ellen, who is Beth¿s sister. Then when Beth went to her sister Ellen and saw that Ben wasn¿t with her, she asked her if she has Ben and she said that Ben had taken off on his own and that they have to find him before they can do anything like asking other people if they have seen him and so they searched every place that they could think of and there was still no sign of him. Then later on they just gave up finding him and Ellen asked Jimmy what if Ben went outside on his own and he told her that there were these guys that will be looking outside if they see him and he also told her that there weren¿t any accidents reported which meant that Ben wasn¿t in an accident. As days, months, and years have passed Beth still couldn¿t find Ben until one day she met up with this young teenage boy and she was stunned that his face was somehow familiar but didn¿t realize it until she thought of Ben and she went home to tell Candy that she thinks that she has found Ben and she told her that she saw him when he came up to the door of her house. Beth also told Candy that she thinks that whoever took him to live with them are now living in the same neighborhood as she is and Candy said that in order to see if it was really Ben, it was to be by the birthmark that he has and Beth told her that she didn¿t look to see the birthmark. This is one of the best books that I have read so far and I would recommend it to anyone that may be interested in reading this book because its about this 3 year old boy that was probably kidnapped and got separated from his family until years later when Beth had seen him at her door. I have seen the movie before and I was really interested of the things that have happened during the movie and so when I started to read this book, I thought that is also interesting to read it after watching the movie. In my opinion I think that people have got to read this book because its about the mystery of the disappearance of 3 year old Ben.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Whiny Mother

    I detested the mother from the beginning, feeling not pit buy disgust, which is why this book is so difficult to put down. It was a very emotional read, and I found myself wanting to stop and not complete the book due to all the bad choices the mother made. She was truly undeserving of her family. She chose her illness and self-pity over them, and it is amazing her son returned to her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Truth or Fiction

    I've always been confused by whether or not this book is a true story because Lifetime did a movie on a true story that is so very close to this that I honestly thought it was based on this book. Maybe I'm still confused. Regardless, the book still evokes deep emotions and definitely realizes some of our deepest fears. And if it's so good I can't tell the difference between real and fiction - that's some fine writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    The Deep End of the Ocean

    The Deep End of the Ocean was a wonderful book filled with both grief and happiness. It gave a glimpse into the life of a family torn apart by the tremendous loss of their youngest son. How they came to terms with grieve and how later they were given their son back. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone I met because the characters were so believable that I as soon as I picked it up I couldn't put it down again until I was done. If you¿re looking for an emotional story this is a good one for you. I couldn't put this book down. Every break I had I was picking up this book. It is very deep about family problems and complications everyday families face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    Deep End of the Ocean

    It was so great, I couldn't put it down. It was a bit suspensful and at the same time heartbreaking. You can't help but feel sympathy for Beth, the mother of the lost child. A fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Really Amazing!!

    Wow! Out of all the books I have read this one was by far my favorite! A page turner for sure! I was so excited to read what would happen next, that I started reading faster than I could take it all in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Very Nice

    I picked this up at my local library as an unabridged book on tape to listen to on a long trip I took a few months ago. This was an excellent story that definitely made the trip go alot faster. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates an emotional read with living breathing characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    It takes your breath away.

    This book is like a real life story. It could happen to anyone. This book is in Oprah¿s book club. Beth, who is the mom in the story, loses her son Ben. In losing her son almost messed up her whole life. She blamed herself for the kidnapp of her son. Beth never gave up hope. But when you read the stunning turn in the story it well give you a shock.This book is not like other books. This has a better meaning through out the story.<p> The book is a life lesson. That is one reason why I liked this book. This book shows you when a family is in a hole and they don¿t seem like they can get out. You figure out that you have to work as a family to get out of the hole. It shows you that not all families are perfect, actually no family is perfect. It helps you learn a big lesson. This is when Vincent (Beth¿s other child) starts to take care of his little sister Kerry.<p> Beth felt like it was the end of her life when she lost her favorite child Ben. Beth even felt like she could not laugh or have any fun, because she did not know how Ben was if he ate or if he was o.k. One of the good points in the book was you have to live, even though you don¿t know how your child is you can¿t let it get to. You can't blame yourself because it teaches you if your just going to be a in a pity no one will want to be around you eventually you will be by yourself or alone. So this teaches you to just try to take one day at a time and to let people into your life to help you get through hard times because most likely you can't get through it by yourself. This book was amazing because I feel it had lessons in life you can learn from.<p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2003

    awesome book!

    i thought that the deep end of the ocean was such a great book, that evoked so many emotions. definitely reccomend it to everyone, especially parents. the story of the cappadoras is memorable and touching. a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    TOO DEEP FOR SOME IT SEEMS

    This book goes deep into the soul of a troubled woman reeling from the loss of her child. We all think we know what it would be like and we would all be wrong. This is a gritty story filled with tears and laughter and explores difficult choices. I see from some of the other reviews that some of these people need action and car wrecks to stay interested. You won't find that here instead you will find an emotional rollercoaster with an amazing ending. Excellent book !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2002

    Simply a great story

    I first saw the movie and then thought I'd get the book to get more insight into the storyline. I liked the development of Vincent especially because it shows how he is neglected by his mother and how he blames himself for the disappearance of little Ben and then later reacts with rejection towards him and his family. He has been neglected by his mother who hasn't realized how much Vincent needed her and still does. It's also interesting how differently Beth and her husband deal with the loss of Ben. Ben (Sam) deals relatively relaxed with his own story, which would probably not be that way in real life. Also it's very improbable that the lost son would reappear ten years later just two blocks away--but even still it's a great story and the Hollywood effect isn't really important because what the story really is about is the family and how it deals with the situation. One last thing: Jonathan Jackson is great in portraying Vincent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    the deep end of this book

    i gave this book 5 stars because the author made me feel as if i were beth loosing ben this book was both brilliant and riviting in some parts parents with three year olds might have to put it down it makes you think not to look away even for a split second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Truly emotional reading.

    I have never read a book this heart wrenching. This author brings the characters to life, so much so that I felt I knew them, that they were real. I couldn't put the book down, but when I had to, it was still on my mind. Powerful reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    The effect of a missing child!! wow

    This novel was very touching,and unbelieveable. It makes a person think before leaving their child even in front of people they may have grown up with. The troubles a missing child may cause to a family are terrible. The ending will keep you on your toes, and you will not want to put the book down. Its amazing how such a book can be written. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    Outstanding book filled with emotions

    wonderful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    One of the best books I read

    It kept me awake all night to read it. Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    The Best Book I've ever read

    I did not particularly like or identify with Beth but throughout the entire book I wan ted to know more about her. This book was not about perfect lives and happy endings - read John Grisham if that's what you want! The themes portrayed were intricate and the language was so outstanding I wanted to savour every line. I have read this book twice and I am so moved every time I read it. Beths withdrawal into herself and Pat's attempts to force Beth to live her life were saddening. Beth remains frozen in time, whilst everyone grows around her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2