Customer Reviews for

Deep Fathom

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent summer read! Don't miss it!

Without giving anything away, this book likely has something for everyone who enjoys the action/adventure genre. Natural disasters, world chaos, a missing Air Force One and the president, ancient civilizations, romance, name it and you'll find it in this novel - even in...
Without giving anything away, this book likely has something for everyone who enjoys the action/adventure genre. Natural disasters, world chaos, a missing Air Force One and the president, ancient civilizations, romance, name it and you'll find it in this novel - even including a Canadian! This third novel by Rollins has more refined character development than his previous novels while at the same time, keeping the mystery and the adventure on an even keel. If you enjoyed his previous novels, you won't be disappointed with this one. In my opinion, Rollins easily ranks up there with the likes of Preston and Childs, DuBrul and other action/adventure writers. In fact, so far, he's demonstrating consistancy in his writing unlike some of the other writers who seem to lose momentum after their first success and is in fact in the process of surpassing some of the other household name action/adventure authors. Anxiously awaiting the next novel! Monsieur Rollins, you make reading a pleasure as always... ;-)

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Science, Slow Moving Plot

The thing that I really like about James Rollins is the really interesting science that is threaded throughout his books. This book is no exception. The discussion and fictional application of dark matter is really interesting. Also, as always, there is a decent amou...
The thing that I really like about James Rollins is the really interesting science that is threaded throughout his books. This book is no exception. The discussion and fictional application of dark matter is really interesting. Also, as always, there is a decent amount of action at various times throughout the book. However, the plot of this book is SLOW and you will be 150 pages into it before it really gets interesting. Also, there are a couple of subplots that seem to have been included for no other purpose than filling space.

posted by Silas_Dogood on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    Excellent summer read! Don't miss it!

    Without giving anything away, this book likely has something for everyone who enjoys the action/adventure genre. Natural disasters, world chaos, a missing Air Force One and the president, ancient civilizations, romance, name it and you'll find it in this novel - even including a Canadian! This third novel by Rollins has more refined character development than his previous novels while at the same time, keeping the mystery and the adventure on an even keel. If you enjoyed his previous novels, you won't be disappointed with this one. In my opinion, Rollins easily ranks up there with the likes of Preston and Childs, DuBrul and other action/adventure writers. In fact, so far, he's demonstrating consistancy in his writing unlike some of the other writers who seem to lose momentum after their first success and is in fact in the process of surpassing some of the other household name action/adventure authors. Anxiously awaiting the next novel! Monsieur Rollins, you make reading a pleasure as always... ;-)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Great Read!

    Really enjoy the writing of James Rollins and have beceome a collector of his series now. This is a great read and page turner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2001

    AGAIN!!

    Well...ive been waiting for this one....read the prologue about 3 months before....and waited patietly....as soon as i heard it was coming out...i was at the bookstore....mr rolins is an awesome writer....this is THE best one yet....each book he has is incredible....a CANT PUT DOWN....i was so anxious to finsih it i read so fast...i had to reread the end...because i couldnt wait....i tell everyone at bookstores every where...get his books...you wont be disappointed...he is awesome....cant wait for his next one.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Fun read for rainy days

    I love all the James Rollins books. Great characters and crazy bad guys are always fun, but I especially like seeing those strong smart females doing their share to save the day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Very Good Reading

    Lots of action and well researched story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Enjoyed the book.

    Enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    For readers of adventure books, highly recommended

    I always enjoy Rollins books. His characters and story line are very entertaining. Can't wait for his next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    James Rollins does it again. From the time you open the book until you finish it it is none stop action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Rollins did it again just awsome!!!

    Another one of those reads that you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put it down

    Just loved it. I could not put it down. Especially the last 10 chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2001

    It's The End Of The World As We Know It

    My mother and I have the same taste in books-- mysterious, adventurous paperback novels. Being in highschool with a required outside reading minimum, I share my highlighted finds with her. After finding and passionately loving Rollins' 'Excavation,' we tracked backward to see if 'Subterranean' was as good as 'Excavation''s cover boasting promised. Finding that it was indeed, we were positively delighted to find, on a highly adventurous grocery shopping trek, what we assumed was Rollins' latest book, 'Deep Fathom.' The rear cover looked promising and past works gave us reason for optimism with this new novel. My mother read it first; at the time I was caught up in another book. For the first time, her reading pace almost matched mine-- she completed 'Deep Fathom' in three days' time. Encouraged by this enrapturement that she held with it, I picked it up as soon as I had completed my current reading project. Immediately I became as caught up in the adventure as she, and completed it not so quickly as I would have liked, but shortly just the same. The snake idol and its significance brought to mind the large idol in 'Excavation;' whereas the motion-sensitive doors in the underwater Neptune reminded me of old Star Trek episodes. This story required much time and research to construct, and my mother recognized the legend of the sunken continent of Mu as true legend among the Pacific Islanders. Although this book was more realistic than the last two of his, without the fascinating creatures, it was no less exciting or suspenseful; it was almost moreso for the near believability of it. This book was thoroughly enjoyable; I know not how else to phrase it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    perfect for everyone

    this book was great. i loved it. it had every thing in it. romance, histor, adventure, and action. rollins is such a great writer. this is, by far, the best book he has writen so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    Deep Fathom is awesome!

    This is James's best of his 3. His other 2 are very good books (buy them too). Deep Fathom is just an increadable book. A nice smooth seamless read. The characters are great and the story keeps you on the edge of your seat. Would love to see this one in a movie If you have not read Rollins you are missing a tremendous up and coming author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2001

    You can't stop reading - a perfect movie book!

    Seamlessly combines multiple threads of interest such as geology, politics, and of course everyday heroes into a fast-paced, very believeable, and unique thriller with a no-holds-barred ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4